Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun
My Little Monster
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Tonari no Kaibutsukun, The Monster Next Door, My Neighbor Monster-kun
Japanese: となりの怪物くん
English: My Little Monster
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 13
Chapters: 55
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 23, 2008 to Nov 22, 2013
Genres: Comedy Comedy, Romance Romance
Theme: School School
Demographic: Shoujo Shoujo
Serialization: Dessert
Authors: Robico (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.161 (scored by 4130341,303 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4332
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #99
Members: 94,451
Favorites: 3,352

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 3, 2012
lilymul (All reviews)
Preliminary
I LOVE this manga! One of the best and non-stereotype shojo I've read. The art, the story and most of all the characters are very appealing to me.

Characters
I gotta admit that the characters in this story are the strongest point of this manga. Shizuku, Haru, Natsume, Sasayan, Yamaken and his trio gang, Ooshima, Micchan, Yuuzan and their familis; They’re all awesome and special in their own ways well… except for few ones but they’re still lovable and adorable XD Every each of them especially the main characters get great character development, something that hardly exists in typical shojo manga ( I don’t read that read more
Feb 28, 2014
minechin (All reviews)
I finished the whole series in just a shorter amount of time than I had expected it to. Yes, this is that good, and I feel that I had to write a review when I am done reading it.

First off, Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is absolutely one of the most beautiful mangas I have ever read! This is one of those mangas that is so heart warming and relateable. You can feel as though you can understand the thoughts and feelings of the characters. I liked how the story was not only focused on the love story between the two main leads. This series is so read more
Jan 7, 2012
arichan20 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I strongly believe that Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is a great manga and one of the few manga which mix comedy and romance very well and avoids becoming dull and annoying.

Well, first, I'm delighted with the drawing of the author. The drawing is very nice and the characters are drawed very atractive and some of them cool and others, very cute. Even though is a shoujo, doesn't have that flashy and awfully cute, the characters don't have those annoying shiny eyes (Usually shoujo manga has them) and the females characters don't have those puppy dog eyes that I'm tired to see. The scenes of this manga read more
Dec 30, 2014
snipsnip (All reviews)
Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is probably a manga I won't forget. Despite it having a simple premise and characters that have stereotypical archetypes (Shizuku being a study bug, Haru being an eccentric softie, etc) I still enjoyed this so much because it was executed nicely and, true to the description provided by MAL, a fresh take on your typical tsundere girl x dere boy romance.

The characters are definitely the best part of this manga. Though they aren't groundbreaking, their interactions with each other and how each of them influenced the other characters (directly or indirectly, knowingly or unknowingly) felt so honest and true to read more
Jul 28, 2014
KunoYuna (All reviews)
Before I begin this review, I would like to say that I literally just binge read the whole series, even chapter 52 which updated TODAY. I saw on mangahere that this series was going to end soon, which is did in chapter 48, but I waited it out till now so I can have a fresh perspective on it. I shall avoid major spoilers of course, but I am planning on writing a very lengthy 'rant' blog on this (once I find more time) because I'm not exactly too happy with the story (even though I enjoyed it). So... let's begin.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

= Story =
- Love at read more
Jul 24, 2015
juubabs (All reviews)
Tonari no Kaibutsu kun was a sleeve that impressed me a lot, especially because I had only seen the anime I've ever liked but ended endless so for me it was a very good surprise.

The thing I liked most in him was the characters, the Haru however violent it to be he found a love, Shizuku like her for not being a cliche character and which has developed a lot during the story, but I have to talk about and Yamaken of Oshima I think they were great '' antagonists '' they never intruded both Haru relationship and Shizuku kind of already knew that would read more
Dec 12, 2020
lunarsparkle9 (All reviews)
After dropping this manga halfway the first time, I read it from the start for the second time. I actually didn't like the anime at all but since usually mangas have a better storyline, I thought I'd give it a shot. Yoshida is a violent character who doesn't have basic communication skills so he has problems in school. He also confesses the second someone showes him kindness. Shizuku is a weird character too who doesn't want social interaction and only wants to focus in her studies. The pacing is fast since the characters confess on a whim. I really didn't like any of the characters, read more
Jul 10, 2021
shutcardboard (All reviews)
Disclaimer: some scenes differ from the anime and make the manga an overall worse feeling experience. I will elaborate on that part mainly.


The biggest problem for me I consider a personal one but I am sure it is one for many readers, and that is FL(Shizuku) having strong feelings for another character while with ML(Haru) already. It makes little sense, too. Only to be seen in the manga, it might leave the reader feeling irritated and sour. It was a shock since I first watched the anime and it made little sense to me suddenly having Shizuku transform into this meek Shoujo girl with strong read more
May 11, 2015
sadpandamisaki (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've never, ever been a Shoujo Girl. To me, it was all the same; unrealistic, over-the-top and generally ridiculous. But, being a bit of a hopeless romantic, I dip my toes in genre every now and again. I've found a lot of gems, and even more garbage. When searching for something new to watch or read, it is always so great to find something that is EXACTLY what you were looking for. Tonari no Kaibutsu-Kun is everything I've ever wanted from a shoujo manga.

-Story- 10
In the cookie-cutter world of shoujo, Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is refreshingly different. The super-nerdy girl and the violent but kind-hearted read more
Aug 11, 2014
bluephire (All reviews)
Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is a very character driven story, and though I sometimes find this kind of stories boring, TnK did a fantastic job at making me love every single chapter. I needed to read the first few chapters to get hooked, but still, they were all outstanding. I'm probably a little biased about this manga, but I really do think it deserves the score 10. In the end it's just my opinion and my taste, of course.

I loved the characters of Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun the most. There's a bunch of them, and they're all interesting and relatable, every single one. Through all their school, read more
Jul 28, 2014
ichainsaw (All reviews)
Today the final chapter was updated....

It was such a sad sight to see my favorite manga end.

KOU YOU HAVE GROWN UP!!

Anyways to the real subject.
Amazing. That's the only word I can use to describe this anime.
This describes what ACTUALLY happens in a relationship. In other shoujo manga's Girl meets Guy is so unreal.
Tonari no kaibutsu-kun described how I would feel.
Kou was such a sweetie. He was kind caring and it was really nice.
Shizuki was cold in the beginning of the manga. There were some moments when she showed us her inner tsundere (AAAAAAAAAAA SO MOE)


None of the characters were the evil bitchy girl. They read more
Oct 19, 2014
WiruSenpai (All reviews)
Not much to say other than if you never heard of this manga, you need to read it now. It is a story that breaks all the normal tropes of your typical high school romances with well rounded, flawed characters that grow and learn as the story progresses. All the conflicts our main couple face are delt in a very real and original way with no (for the most part) unnecessary drama or forced situations.
This is a nearly flawless story that'll leave you wanting more after the series ends, even though it has a satisfying conclusion.
If you have a pulse, are breathing, and know read more
Dec 30, 2014
omegahakim123 (All reviews)
It's good. The art is good, the characters are unique and well written, the story is wonderful. But I do have to say the love triangle is annoying, but that is just me because I find love triangle unnecessary, cliche, ruins a medium and I don't like em. I have dropped many mangas and animes because of love triangles and that shows you how actually good this manga is. There are not a lot of shoujo manga that I have stayed through the love triangle but when I do, that just tells you how amazing of a shoujo manga it is. I am not read more
Aug 30, 2013
Luna-ix (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello! So this is my debut review here in MAL, and I feel kind of uneasy.. I hope my review would be helpful to you, my reader. :)

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun. Actually, I just read this manga after I watched the anime adaptation because I was really hooked by it. My otaku friend was the one who introduced me to its anime adaptation, and I really am grateful he did introduce me because I really enjoyed watching and reading Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun.

Why? First of all, its very funny. Every chapter makes my stomach hurt, but the romance element of the manga never fails to make read more
Nov 12, 2019
mobu100 (All reviews)
I don't usually read shoujos but I caught a glimpse of this manga out of the corner of my eye when scrolling through the Romance genre. I honestly thought this would be another "Nana To Kaoru" but safe to say it wasn't.

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is a sweet story about two characters slowly building their love-relationship, it has it's ups and downs but only to strengthening their bond.

If you ask me, the phasing is pretty fast (already seen in the synopsis) when it comes to the sudden "nut" confession but the author handled it pretty well since both of them are still pretty one-sided about each read more
Apr 7, 2012
impala39 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll be honest, and I really feel horrible for saying this, but when i first picked this one up I read 2 chapters and dropped it. I don't even know why now.

Story:
It starts off with a pretty simple story line, but unique at the same time. The guy is a trouble maker that everyone thinks is scary and the girl basically only likes to study and is not social but somehow they click. They have that chemistry and it is shown very well in the way it is displayed. This is a balanced amount of comedy, and the good kind at that, with read more
Sep 20, 2012
Jigglehpoof (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since this is going to be serialized and aired on October 1st, I imagine (or hope!) this series will become more popular. So, I'm going to write a review for anyone who is curious to if the manga is good or if they should start this series!

This series uses a very cliche trope: 'opposites attract'. We have Shizu (I don't want to write out her full name) who is very uptight, serious and know-it-all type of girl. And then Haru, the 'delinquent' who is misunderstood and generally has a very good heart and always intends the best. By chance, Shizu and Haru become intertwined and read more
Nov 3, 2012
highhi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello everyone! This is my first review ever, but I hope it is still helpful.

Story:
At first, Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun seems to be the kind of a typical love story where opposites attract each other, but it soon can be seen that this is not the case. It may not appeal very interesting at first, but already in the first chapter it holds your attention and makes you want more. The story is not really predictable but easily to understand and it doesn't move too fast, even though I have to say that it could move a little bit faster.

Art:
I really like Robiko's style. Usually, shoujo read more
Jul 6, 2013
Manga_Worm (All reviews)
Preliminary
Have you ever had someone that just assumes that you are friends? Have you ever had someone that you just don't understand at all?

That's exactly how this manga starts out.


Characters: Haru is a new high school student that has never been understood by others. He is always getting into fights because its the only way that he knows how to handle things. He doesn't understand emotions very well. Haru doesn't attend school very often...due to how he handles 'problems'. Though, he is very kind and most of the time a pure goofy idiot. He just tends to scare people because of his rumors or read more
Sep 15, 2014
anyexreita (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, my review could be a little biased, since I'm more of the type that enjoys manga either for older audiences, or faster-paced stories, or with more romance/drama. (NANA, Kare Kano, Bokura ga Ita, Hirunaka no Ryuusei, you get it).

This is not the manga for you if you like realistic, very romantic, and/or fast paced manga, even though its very popular. I got a little deceived too, honestly think its overrated. Even though I've read only half of it, I'm getting bored already.

Story (7/10): Not the most original story, a little weird maybe, but its a very decent storyline for a shoujo manga. Not-so-romantic girl read more