Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu

Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu

Alternative Titles

English: The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan
Synonyms: The Vanishing of Nagato Yuki-chan
Japanese: 長門有希ちゃんの消失

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 79
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 4, 2009 to Aug 4, 2016
Authors: Puyo (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young Ace

Statistics

Score: 7.611 (scored by 2109 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #26322
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1257
Members: 5,643
Favorites: 314

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 20, 2014
BongoTentacle420 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yeah, I'm gonna have to go with a "Meh." for this one. I think it could have been quite interesting to see how the alternate world from The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya may have developed, but this manga definitely fails to deliver. Though the story and art aren't anything to write home about either, the main problem is that every character just feels like a watered down version of the original. Kyon is no longer a knight in sour armor, just some generic nice guy for Nagato to fall in love with. Haruhi seems to have lost her edge and is a lot more empathic read more
Aug 12, 2011
melancholylover (All reviews)
Preliminary
The whole purpose of this manga is to show the alternate world shown in the disappearance. The story is that Nagato has a crushon Kyon and she's shy about it. I actually like Disappearance Yuki more than the silent, emotionless one, and disappearance was a great book and movie, so i really enjoyed reading this.
One of my favorite parts about this manga is Asakura, she was not a Yandere in this, but she was Yuki's best friend who tries to set her up with Kyon, but Yuki does not follow through, but at the same time she is over protective over Yuki. She does not read more
Nov 4, 2009
RytoNoname (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have to say, you're definitely going to enjoy this adaptation more if you've read the fourth Haruhi novel. It seems to take the story from the bits of the alternate reality created in the book, which is personally my favorite of the series. I really enjoyed seeing the differences in all the characters. I hope to continue following this as it gets released, to see if they end up going to what happened in the novel, or actually develop the relationship between Nagato and Kyon. So far this Kyon seems more oblivious than the one in the novel was.
Aug 24, 2009
Koutasan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This was quite an odd spin-off of The Melancholy Of Haruhi Suzumiya, very different to the original. As a Haruhi fan the first thing that struck me was how different Nagato was, in this Nagato is much more open and shows a lot more emotion and you could almost forget that she is supposed to be the same distant alien Nagato as in the Melancholy. Another difference is in Kyon, who seems to be much more boring a person than in the Melancholy, however this could be the life that he wanted before Haruhi tore it up. You may think that I'm comparing this too read more
Jan 31, 2014
Deji2134 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I had very bad first impressions about this spinoff, in the beginning it felt like a fanfiction that is very very very very out of character but it gets better over time.

Story 9/10
It was great. A simple romance and comedy with a bit of punchlines here and there and great plot twists that could keep you hooked

Art 8/10
In the beginning of the series the art was BAD. If I were to compare it to anything, the art was similar to beginning deviantart user's artworks, but after a few chapters or so the art gradually came to improve and reach its peak read more
Jun 27, 2017
HoneysuckleJones (All reviews)
If you're looking for more Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, this is not for you.

This has a COMPLETELY different feel compared to it's original series. This, at foremost, is a SLICE-OF-LIFE manga. If you're expecting supernatural, then you will be disappointed.

That being said, I am an avid fan of slice-of-life. To be honest, this series is the first series to really want me to read the manga after watching the anime. I COULD NOT GET ENOUGH!

I don't have much a review because I don't really know what subjects to critique, but all I can say is that I absolutely loved it. Would I recommend read more