Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ao no Exorcist

Ao no Exorcist

Alternative Titles

English: Blue Exorcist
Synonyms: Ao no Futsumashi, The Blue Magic Exorcist
Japanese: 青の祓魔師〈エクソシスト〉

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Apr 4, 2009 to ?
Authors: Katou, Kazue (Story & Art)
Serialization: Jump SQ.

Statistics

Score: 8.041 (scored by 42152 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8922
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #27
Members: 103,389
Favorites: 6,417

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Feb 27, 2010
GothicShadow22 (All reviews)
How is this manga NOT on the top ten most popular mangas! Normally with mangas, I have a few negative comments to say about it, such as the character development or the lingering plots that never seem to end, but I have nothing bad to say about Ao no Exorcist. As the summary says, it's a story about demons and exorcists. Except, in this case, the main character, Rin, is both a demon AND an exorcist. And not just any demon, he's the son of satan.

Rin has issues with his powers and keeping himself from being discovered by the other exorcists. The character development read more
May 14, 2010
goszka (All reviews)
when I stumbled upon this manga on OM, I honestly didn't expect much of it. how many mangas are there in the religious/inquisitive/exorcist genres? dozens! but Ao no Exorcist really caught my attention :) there is something that breaks out of the another-exorcist-cliche manga scheme

Story: (9)
It deserves a tenner, but I'm quite a persnickety person when it comes to the storyline. mainly because most of the mangas are almost the same... here, all the motifs (father dies, the protagonist grows up and wants to change, a great scheme, uber powers, demons and from chapter 9 or 10 even some boobs are there as well ;-)). read more
Jul 1, 2012
RebbieChan (All reviews)
I’ve heard enough about “Blue Exorcist” for a while now to get me interested in reading it. I was so excited when I saw the volumes at my library and picked up the first four right away. After finishing the first four volumes, I’m sad to say that I am thoroughly disappointed. Here is why:

The plot of Blue Exorcist sounds pretty interesting.That initial plot (+ the art style) was what made me want to read the series, but it’s also that plot that makes me not want to continue.

First, let’s take a look at some similar plots such as: Naruto, Soul Eater, or D.Gray-Man. Now, read more
Oct 3, 2014
deadoptimist (All reviews)
I was on a shounen reread roll, so I decided to pick it up again. And you’ll need to be in a shounen mood too to enjoy this manga, because Ao no Exorcist has it all – immature protag, ridiculous goals, struggle between siblings, blooming love and nakama power, even beach episodes – everything is as it should be. Though there has been no onsen arc yet (edit: fixed by the mangaka) and for the most part all of this stuff works – so give it a try. The current arc (the one that starts around ch. 50) drastically changes the mood. It’s hard to read more
Jul 28, 2009
SurgeonOfDeath (All reviews)
Ao no Exorcist reminds me of a combination of bleach and beezlebub. The story and characters are fairly generic. You got your average shonen protagonist who has demon powers, and a super cool sword, but he doesn't want to be a demon so he against his father, Satan, and all demons. He has a calm and calculating brother, whose weapon is a gun, and there is a very shy girl. They fight monsters together and go to school, but despite it being so average and combining popular manga it manages to entertain me and enthrall me. It knows when to be funny and when to read more
Mar 30, 2017
SkyFullOfStars (All reviews)
Alright, so there is surprisingly less reviews for Blue Exorcist the manga than I expected. Seeing as most reviews came from people who've read up to chapter 30 or 40, years ago, I decided to give this a try.

I'm one of those people who've watched the anime first and I watched it a while ago. I tried the manga afterwards but only recently got invested into reading the whole thing. So this is my opinion after reading up to chapter 88 of the manga. I will try to spoil as little as possible in this review, so I'll have to leave off ranting about some read more
Jan 13, 2013
DrSteinF (All reviews)
The manga is incredible. Best manga I've read so far.

Story: It's not what one could call 'original' but it's not cliche either. It's a great story, making you anxiously wait for the next chapter. I haven't once been dissapointed by any chapter and I'm really looking forward to any new ones. |

Art: One of the best things about the manga. The expressions, the bodies, the facial features, the clothes...everything. I love how she can draw very detailed and carefully sketched figures in one panel and in the other (or even in the same one sometimes!) very simple and chibi-like ones and still make it work read more
Dec 4, 2016
Chinaz (All reviews)
Blue Exorcist - An Underrated Show.

What happens when an anime doesn't sell enough or does not cover the whole manga material? What happens when only one season/arc in the series is justified for an anime adaptation? The answer is that this series is Blue Exorcist.

It's a bit strange not to put Blue Exorcist inside the bag of stories clichés or stories that everyone knows by its genre, we are talking about the usual airing manga, One Piece, Bleach, Death Note and everything that startles inside. But what actually happens with Blue Exorcist and why it isn't in the same category as the previous manga? Actually, read more
Nov 9, 2013
callacas (All reviews)
Blue Exorcist...wow, what a series. You know you've read good manga when the entire day melts away right before your eyes. Now, where to begin. Let's start with the bad.

Characters overall plot are taken from tried and true (and almost cliche at this point) tropes. The angsty teenager main character who sets out to be the best [insert super powerful being here]. You have the regular love interest, whom may never end up with the main character. There are the Tsundere's and the rivals. It's nothing we haven't seen before.

The story also relies on Deus Ex Machina writing to finish off boss battles. DEM read more
Feb 3, 2011
MidnightGreen09 (All reviews)
At first I thought this was just another rip-off or imitation of some other exorcist themed series, but after getting through the story it is a little unique compared to those of the same genre. The way the story develops is great, finding a balance between action and emotion and the character have unique personalities and back-stories. It would be great to see this series develop and I can't wait for its anime adaptation to come out.
Aug 6, 2013
doitsu-pancakes (All reviews)
When I first watched the Blue Exorcist anime I felt very dissatisfied from about episode 15 onward and I didn't like the ending very much. So when I found that it was based on the manga and that the manga was incomplete, I was excited. I read from the beginning and discovered that the anime separates from the manga around where I started to lose interest. I continued reading and I simply loved the manga! I personally prefer the manga to the anime and I enjoyed it much better. Also the fact that it is still ongoing is awesome, since I usually watch or read read more
Aug 24, 2014
ffddgghy (All reviews)
I watched this anime because one of my buddies recommended it to me on Xbox. I started it on Crunchyroll and marathoned the entire thing. When I was down at AX this year I decided to buy Blue Exorcist Vol. 1 for 8 bucks. And I have to say that the manga is very on par with the anime however it extends out further than the anime. It's a good read and Kazue also put some detailed information in the back of the book about Rin, Yukio, Mephisto, Shiro, Sheimi etc. Its a good read and I highly reccomend it. If you dont want to read more
Nov 12, 2016
Ko-me (All reviews)
this review will have spoilers! you been warn.
while I know I"m the only one feeling this way, I can't help but at last write how I feel. even if I be the only one, at last some of you would know what you gotten yourself into.

at first I really like this mange, especially the first arc and even the arc after that. but with time this mange become not only more ridiculous and trying to look "cool" by mimicking other mange's and doing it poorly (cough One piece cough) but also lost the reason's characters actually doing things.

what hurt the story and read more
Aug 3, 2013
CrazyDiamondu (All reviews)
Ao no Exorcist has some interesting ideas though not all of them fulfill their potential. There is a lot of enjoyment to be had here and if you're thinking about reading it I think it's definitely worth a shot even if some of the story arcs aren't as exciting as others there are still a lot of memorable moments and twists along the way, some really cool characters and fights. Especially if you're into plots that revolve around demons and exorcism.
Nov 18, 2015
AceyBaybay (All reviews)
So, this is my initial impressions review. Just right of the bat, I see a LOT of parallelism between this and Soul Eater, but I'll explain that as I go.

As of this point, I have only read two volumes of Blue Exorcist, and I will try not to restate the description. The story is set in a world where our main focus of characters is Exorcists, who are essentially combat trained priests who specialize in destroying demons, similar to Meisters in SE. Themain protagonist of the story is a boy named Rin, who is both an exorcist (in-training, currently,) and also a half demon...the read more