Death Note: Tokubetsu Yomikiri
Death Note: Special One-Shot
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Death Note: Tokubetsu Yomikiri

Alternative Titles

English: Death Note: Special One-Shot
Japanese: DEATH NOTE 特別読切

Information

Type: One-shot
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: 1
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 4, 2020
Genres: MysteryMystery, DramaDrama, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural, PsychologicalPsychological
Authors: Obata, Takeshi (Art), Ohba, Tsugumi (Story)
Serialization: Jump SQ.

Statistics

Score: 7.711 (scored by 1038610,386 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #15772
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #697
Members: 13,569
Favorites: 225

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 3, 2020
saul42069 (All reviews)
This was a very fun, short read. If you're a fan of death note in general I highly recommend it. The overarching themes present throughout the original series are ingrained into this one-shot. It presents an interesting take on how owning a death note would look in modern times. The art is as good as ever and the characters, both old and new, are given adequate development, as much as you could expect for something this short. Also included some unexpected political messaging which was done well and not ham handed or overwhelming.

Pretty good read. Death Note fans should enjoy it. 8/10
Feb 3, 2020
WhoCanPeliCan (All reviews)
All out this is a perfectly decent One-Shot for the Death Note series.

It doesn't intrude on the original significantly and works as a nice little mini story to be appreciated. While it isn't nearly as fun as the original manga, it gets the story across with a decent ending. The ending did involve some bending of some rules and involved me being willing to accept certain previously unstated things. But the result was worthwhile enough for me to enjoy it. It also helped strengthen some themes of the original series which is a major bonus.

It goes without saying that the art is just as great read more
Feb 3, 2020
ValeVale (All reviews)
As a Death Note fan, I've been waiting for it since the day it was announced. Let me tell you one thing - I does not disappoint. There are some aspects that could have been improved but overall, taking into account that it's just a one-shot and not a full-length story, it was executed nearly perfectly. It was long enough to deliver point across and re-introduce mind-games aspect of the original Death Note and short enough to fit the one-shot standards.
It was nice to see some old characters coming back, as well as getting to know a new one that brings a new read more
Feb 3, 2020
keragamming (All reviews)
This was a very good one shot to the magnificent death note series, I will be honest I didn't expect much and I was predicting that it would simple be another Light rip off character with the same type of plot, but this was a big surprise as the main character in this one shot wasn't actually smart in terms of book smart, but he sure was clever, the fact that this was so entertaining/interesting without the death note actually being used speak volume of how great Ohba, Tsugumi is as a story teller and also how magnificent the art style is thanks to read more
Feb 11, 2020
Krunchyman (All reviews)
‘Death Note’ carries the distinction of being the “gateway” anime for scores of western adolescents and young-adults. In fact, if not for ‘Death Note’ and ‘Gurren Lagann,’ I’m not sure I would have given the medium much of a chance. Sure. I grew up on ‘Pokemon,’ ‘Dragon Ball Z,’ and ‘Yu-Gi-Oh!’. But those shows were geared toward a younger audience whom would purchase gobs of merchandise every time Goku changed his hair color. Seriously, though. Kim Kardashian (Freiza) is jelly from all the attention she’s not getting from her “enhancements.” The Butt just got 10 inches bigger!

Anyhow…

I was read more
Feb 7, 2020
Sauerak (All reviews)
The story was really boring even for a one-shot and i was very dissapointed the notebook wasnt used. Even though it makes sense for him not to use it, because Near would probably find out, and he only wanted to live a happy life. That changed with the new rule introduced which made me reconsider the plus i mentioned earlier. I dont think this manga is worthy of having the "Death Note" in name. Also, Near was useless, and i hate his new hairstyle. I am giving this one-shot 3/10 only because i have got to see Ryuk again. It would have been much read more
Feb 4, 2020
SindySugar (All reviews)
I went into reading this on a whim. It's been years since the original Death Note and when I heard the news of the sequel, it was already available to read. So I literally read this out of nowhere, not expecting anything phenomenal or remotely good for a one-shot, let alone a sequel. However, I was happily wrong.

The story is only 88 pages long but was regardless able to keep me intrigued. Taking place 10 years later after Kira's death, the world is a different place now, but not entirely. The story was able to keep the atmosphere and spirit its parent story did. While read more
Feb 9, 2020
Irishchatter (All reviews)
When I first heard that there was going to be another Death Note manga being distributed, I was like for god sake, not another Death Note remake and didn't bother my head to check out this manga. That was until a few days ago when I watched Akidearest talking about it, that I immediately wanted to digitally get my hands on it!!!

Man, it was just so good to see Ryuk back at it again and not to mention, still looking to eat apples....lol. It honestly is a long time since I've last seen the series in July 2015 and never would have thought there would read more
Feb 8, 2020
BABYODA (All reviews)
The genius mastermind is back!

First of all, when I heard that there’s a new Death Note manga, I stopped everything that I was doing and started searching for it online to read it right away. Just seeing the elegant- dark- beautiful and extremely cool looking art of Takeshi Obata again, made me feel so nostalgic and happy.

The brilliance of this story only confirms my fascination with Tsugumi Ohba, he does not disappoint. He knows exactly what he’s doing and the joy and passion shows. I always thought that the concept of Death Note was so brilliant he could make many new stories with read more
Feb 7, 2020
antabakax (All reviews)
Do you want to see a manga version of Donald Trump? (no spoilers, just want to encourage you)
Don't hesitate and read this really short one-shot Death Note manga asap!
I had fun looking into how the notebook, the tool that was used by Light to kill a lot of people 10 years ago, is used in totally different way because of how the world has changed throughout this period of time.
The main protagonist is likely to be enjoyed by everyone reading and is a smart ass who is not thinking only about himself. You'll see for yourself ;)
In overall, I strongly recommend reading read more
Feb 5, 2020
Lerdakyn (All reviews)
The new Death Note One-Shot does not disappoint, it brings new elements and perspectives to the world of Death Note while being a great standalone story with its own unique twist.

Quite some time passes between the end of the original series and this chapter. That means we get to see what the world thinks of Kira and his actions after the events of the main series. The advancement in technology raises an interesting question: How would Kira execute his plans today? This aspect almost feels like the author commenting on his original work. The new character, Minoru Tanaka uses the technology to his advantage.

Minoru Tanaka read more
Feb 4, 2020
Trapzinha (All reviews)
ENG:

NOTE: This opinion contains SPOILERS
Death Note Justice or Evil for me was a very good read, once the protagonist got out of the usual cliché work using DeathNote to kill people or for vengeful purposes.
And also for approaching how the world looked like after the L's fall. Yagami, apart from the way he dealt with, by not being tracked by the FBI, INTERPOL and other groups, as much the technology in the world has advanced so much.
But I particularly tought the ending TOO FORCED, the King of Shinigamis creating a rule just because he sold DeathNote? This is even contradictory because there is a rule: read more
Feb 19, 2020
aarmourie (All reviews)
This is gonna come our weird,Death note sequel which came out recently as of February of 2020 is a one shot created by the same authors of death note and follows the story of Ryuk who is bored again after the death of Light Yagami,who was one of the most brilliant users of the death note in history,Now ryuk is looking for a new
predecessor for the role of Kira,and finds Minouru ,a high school kid who has the highest ranking in japan,He gives the notebook to him but things dont go the way ryuk planned out it to be,Minouru uses the notebook way too read more
Feb 4, 2020
Ali_Hayki (All reviews)
Story : 9/10
Well, since the story is related to the Death Note, it is undoubtedly a great story, I liked how the writer managed to send us a new idea for the Note , it is not a masterpiece like the previous story with Yagami Light, but it fulfills the purpose in order to be an excellent story and a different nature from the first season From manga Death Note.

Art : 10/10
The drawing was complete and has no errors, it deserves the full mark.

Character : 4/10
Although I liked the new character and also the role of Near was good, but in the read more
Feb 3, 2020
ST63LTH (All reviews)
Notes:
I really enjoy the idea of the Death Note being passed onto a different generation. Furthermore, the idea of it being sold off in order for a country to obtain pure unrivaled offensive potential is extremely daunting to say the least. This special that Tsugumi Ohba has high potential as an anime adaptation or full manga series since it still maintains the Death Note universe but refreshes characters and plot.

Story:
The story is very realistic given the potential war related tensions, we see that countries are heavily invested on the Death Note when they see MC is selling it.

Art:
The art is read more