Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

High School Musical

High School Musical

Alternative Titles

English: High School Musical
Synonyms: HSM
Japanese: ハイスクール・ミュージカル

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 1
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Finished
Published: 2008
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShoujoShoujo
Authors: Asabuki, Mari (Story & Art)
Serialization: None

Statistics

Score: 2.381 (scored by 759759 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #173322
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #8009
Members: 1,187
Favorites: 33

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 17, 2009
Rikushadow5 (All reviews)
Disney has Kingdom Hearts and W.I.T.C.H. wich are both great series, but that's as close to the world of Manga they should've gotten, and High School Musical: The Manga proves it.

It's an overused load of BS story that was already a corporately-whored out ripoff of another series (Grease, wich was GREAT) that tells the tale of a bunch of fairytale endings in High School. I'm gonna put this out now by saying that I'm in High School right now, and it's NOTHING like this BS. Hell, Rosario+Vampire is a more accurate depiction of High School life than this load of crap is.

I'll be fair though, read more
Jul 21, 2010
Otokokinshi (All reviews)
What do you get when you mix a fairly decent mangaka who's out of ideas and Disney - who now wants to become international with no avail? You get High School Musical! The manga. Yay! No, I'm kidding. It was dreadful.

Story: It was absolutely pathetic. I hated HSM when it was a stupid kids' movie, so I'm not exactly sure why I was drawn to the manga. I read 1 chapter, and I could already tell the score would be the same amount of chapters I read. Which was close to 0. Everything in the first chapter was rushed and the timing was horrible. read more
Dec 1, 2013
celesti0n (All reviews)
This manga is so unbelievably pathetic that it doesn't deserve a lengthy review - I'm truly not sure whether MAL users are trolling when they actually care enough to dissect why this manga is bad, when it's literally ten pages.
Granted, it should get extra merit points for the comedic value.
I won't advise you to read this, but it's definitely a great manga to share with your peers and go "BEST MANGA OF 5EVER READ OR DIE" and watch their horrified expressions.
May 30, 2010
Lichu_554 (All reviews)
This was dreadful, I wasted my time reading this. There was no actual story and there were only two characters. The movies were better than this!

Story:

It was pathetic! The artist really killed her career, I don't know why anyone would make a High School Musical manga.

Art:

The art was okay, it was too sparkly for High School Musical. Since the movie was supposed to appeal to all genders and young children around the ages 6-11, the art seemed a little too shoujo-y and a little too young.

Character:

The characters... they were horrible! They had like, 5 lines. They were drawn well read more
May 17, 2017
Pippinxox (All reviews)
Don't dismiss this opportunity to try the limited one chapter available. Very sweet read, easy enough to understand and followed the films closely (based mostly on the 3rd film).

Would love to see more released as anyone here would but what can ya do? If you enjoy this why not re-watch the films am I right? As a fellow wildcat I can say this manga put my head in the game ;)

A classic scene featuring the tree house heartwarming discussion of future prospects leaves us wondering how graduation will turn out. You can clearly see this piece may have influenced works such as K-on!, Love read more
Feb 24, 2019
IEatAnimeAss (All reviews)
This manga saved my marriage, saved my business, brought back my dead grandmother, helped my son who was struggling in life, cured me of cancer and so much more. There is not a day that I don't read this blessed story. This is the perfect manga (the perfect anime being Pingu in the Tiddy), I loved the amazing and breathtaking story of Trog, Gabriella and Chad. This is what Prometheus really gave to us mortals, I still don't believe that the gods would believe that we where worthy of such knowledge. Everything about this is perfect, the casuals here keep saying that this series is read more
Jan 26, 2019
LeaOotori (All reviews)
Why was this even made? A legitimate question, not even just me being snarky...

If you're here because you were (or are) a High School Musical fan, I suggest you turn around and walk away. And probably try to forget about this entirely. Because even these ten pages were an ultimate waste of time, for the readers and probably everyone else who was involved.

I know that many people may disregard this because of the fact that it's a short manga and it's rated so low that you're morbidly curious, but don't, because that's what I did and I regret it entirely. This isn't even read more
Jan 26, 2015
HasegawaKodaka (All reviews)
I really don't know what Disney was thinking when they thought it was a good idea to make this. Doing a review of this manga without spoilers is impossible because the story can be summed up in the synopsis paragraph.

Story 2:
The setting is what I assume to be the 2nd or 3rd movie. We learn from the first page that Toroy (a mistranslation of Troy) is dissatisfied with his father because he expects him to play basket ball even though he doesn't want to, but does so anyway because he's good at it. After that we see all the basketball players cheering read more
Aug 23, 2019
Renee96 (All reviews)
Okay.....

I'm a bit of a fan when it comes to manga adaptations of Disney.....but....this....NOOOOO!

I was a kid in elementary school when the movie came out, I didn't like it.

I read the manga out of sheer curiosity,

The only positive thing I can say is the art style is okay being the typical Shoujo style.

It's barely writing. It's only 10 pages and not much of a story.

The only way I can comprehend this existing...is that this was made to catch people up before watching a sequel.

My bias against the films has nothing to do with how I feel about the manga.
This is LEGIT a horrible read more
Feb 26, 2019
Llenn0 (All reviews)
This manga is a must read. It truly helped me through all the tough times in my life, such a short but emotional and fulfilling story totally representing the movie perfectly. It's like it takes all three of the movies and just makes the ultimate Disney x manga masterpiece. Best Disney money investment I've seen in years.

Please give this manga a read it'll send you into a spiral of lovely emotions on levels even popular manga such as BNHA, One Piece, or Naruto couldn't achieve.

Reading such an inspiring well thought out and developed piece really changed my out look on the detail and effort put read more
Jan 9, 2020
Janski147 (All reviews)
Story:10 Art:10 Character:10 Enjoyment:10 Overall:10


This manga... If you haven't already read this, you should kill yourself. This was so good that i actually cried when it ended because it was such a long and endearing journey(10 pages). The characters were flawless, the story fantastic. The art was so good it looked like someone turned RTX on. I enjoyed it so much that it cured my diarrhea(enjoyment does that to me). Overall, i have never read anything this amazing in my life. Would recommend. This read more