Asper Kanojo
That's My Atypical Girl
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Asper Kanojo

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Days with a Girl
Japanese: アスペル・カノジョ
English: That's My Atypical Girl
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 100
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 6, 2018 to Jan 26, 2021
Genres: Drama Drama, Slice of Life Slice of Life
Theme: Psychological Psychological
Serialization: Comic Days
Authors: Hagimoto, Souhachi (Story), Morita, Renji (Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.951 (scored by 31473,147 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7762
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1476
Members: 10,855
Favorites: 314

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 3, 2020
pandaismnxx (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hi, this is my first manga review in here. I found this manga by chance and amazed by author's portrayal of relationship with mental illnesses. At first, the intro seems not much to tell but as the story progressed, I really like how the characters develop. I thought this will be another manga who glorified mental illnesses as a topic (which I found hypocrite) but surprisingly, it touched my heart sincerely to see Yokoi and Saitou build up their relationship.


I put 10/10 for the story. I find it rare to convey the life of mental illnesses, especially to make it so thoughtful. Not only read more
Aug 19, 2020
doomsday_clock (All reviews)
Preliminary
The manga keeps a very well balance between the romance part nd the psychological part of the story . its praiseworthy how author manages to fit simple cliche but wholesome romance materials into this serious setup that deals with mental illness .The story goes into enough depth to make u feel empathetic for people with mental disorder by taking u through some day to daylife inconveniences that they face but still manages to keep room for some wholesome romcom scenes . i legit feel more sympathetic for people who deals with disorder after reading this manga . From suicidal thoughts to problems read more
Apr 4, 2021
SoleilIris (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm not exactly an expert on psychological manga having only read a handful of them but Asper Kanojo is one that keeps me coming back to check for new chapters quite often. Definitely something I can't say I feel compelled to do as much for other series I read.

The story is simple and charming at first, but it slowly grows into something beautiful to read. A girl learning to cope with her mental illness and how to deal with the people/environment around her due to a budding and developing relationship with a man who she admires. These two characters and watching them grow together as read more
Feb 15, 2021
monn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Heyo a little sleep deprivation so sorry in advance


Story 9/10

Reading some reviews gave a new perspective look at this manga. How? well this manga is about people with mental disorders (basically every character you meet here has one or at least a flaw as a human being) and like pandaismnxx wrote - "I thought this will be another manga who glorified mental illnesses as a topic" well it isn't one and it is.
Story is about people with mental problems be it small or big they are shown here, we have our main leads Female lead - Megumi and Male Lead - Taku as well as read more
Jul 6, 2021
Uber_Bacon (All reviews)
Preliminary
When you normally read or watch a piece of fiction, it is to escape to a different world, to leave reality, and to go somewhere where you can see and experience things that you’d never see in real life. Asper Girl isn’t like most media, it’s probably one the furthest thing from fiction that a manga can get. Rather than being taken to a new world, you’re taken down the street into a crevice of society that you’d normally overlook.

Tl;dr I’d recommend this but I will say that it’s not an easy ride. Asper Girl tells the story of two people with very different read more
Jun 26, 2022
modesto_medicino (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review may contain light spoilers, but I will try to keep those to only general things involving the general concept of the manga.

If I had to describe this manga in one word, it would be "Brave."

The main story is fairly simple, and probably one you've seen before. The male MC is a loner living a stagnant existence. The female MC shows up and integrates herself into his life, shaking his situation up and forcing him out of his routine. It's a classic blueprint that a million different stories have been built from, from My Dress-up Darling to Insomniacs After School.

The main story itself read more
Jun 21, 2022
yeagerpilled (All reviews)
Preliminary
Asper Kanojo is an absolute gem of a manga.

Asper Kanojo is in my opinion the best romance manga out there. Not only does it give us a believable and warm look at a relationship between two people who don't quite fit in, it masterfully represents neurodivergency in both of the main characters.

Megumi is especially important to me. As someone who struggles with similar issues, and who has always known and loved people with these issues, her character brings me tears with how realistic and non offensive she is. Having a neurodivergent character in manga who isn't treated as a joke or villain is rare, and read more
Sep 28, 2021
Happerex_the_OG (All reviews)
Preliminary
this is a really good manga, but there is something that I need to tell you this is has some of the most serious topics, like bullying, mental health and more serious things
just a warning for those who are interested but not sure.
well the story is about Yokoi Taku that is not good with people, one day a girl that read some of his work then came to his house, her name is Saitou Megumi she is not good with people and can't control her emotion. both started living together.

(NO SPOILERS)

story 9/10
the story is really amazing, the way the read more
Apr 15, 2021
KhiddStayiin (All reviews)
Preliminary
A review for this one is long past overdue. Imo, this is a hidden diamond in the rough. On that note;
Story - 9.
Art - 9.
Character - 8.
Enjoyment - 9.

Overall, I'll give this a 9. I will admit, the story starts off very slow but it gradually picks up after they've established who's who, and what's what. I think this one of the few blind manga reads that I've enjoyed for a long while. That being said, I'll give the author credit where it's due for trying to present some sensitive topics in a way that even people like me can understand. read more
May 31, 2021
condensed_man (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is a hidden gem in a genre that's oversaturated with the romanticisation of mental illnesses. The author handles the topic of mental illness with breathtaking realism, highlighting the hardships those with a mental illness have to go through in their daily lives. It also doesn't shy away from the impact one's parents have on a person's development.

There are a few faults, but nothing too major. For starters, the art is fairly basic. The anatomy can be fairly wonky at times, which can detract the emotional impact of an important scene. The background art is also very rudimentary, but it doesn't affect the story read more
Jun 9, 2021
Rikkas_Familier (All reviews)
Preliminary
Great Manga!!
I just couldn't stop reading! I'd never read anything like it, including all the trauma and negative things the manga kept on bringing it up. I can't even say I can relate to the characters, but when I see both of them keep on trying to improve themselves, it inspires me to try and socialize more.

I love how the characters are written. Their backstory and how Saitou-San has to get over her trauma in her daily life with Yokoi supporting and helping her. It's one of those manga's where it isn't about happiness and rainbows and sometimes, it gets boring when animes/mangas don't read more