Samurai 8: Hachimaru Den
Samurai 8: The Tale of Hachimaru
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Samurai 8: Hachimaru Den

Alternative Titles

English: Samurai 8: The Tale of Hachimaru
Synonyms: Samurai Eight
Japanese: サムライ8 八丸伝

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 5
Chapters: 43
Status: Finished
Published: May 13, 2019 to Mar 23, 2020
Genres: ActionAction, SamuraiSamurai, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen
Authors: Kishimoto, Masashi (Story), Ookubo, Akira (Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 6.271 (scored by 33883,388 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #125492
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1175
Members: 8,912
Favorites: 172

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 21, 2019
OctupletsPowah (All reviews)
Preliminary
Review from chapter 1 to 14:

Kishimoto strikes back! And this time he want to outclass even his previous success, Naruto. Can Kishi-sensei succeed? Right now he has all the cards to do it!

Story --- (10)

At the beginning the lore is simple: saving the whole Galaxy from a mysterious threat that will destroy everything. The key to save the Galaxy is finding out the Pandora's Box, who needs 7 Special Keys in order to open it.
As you can notice by reading it the story it takes many elements from the Japanese and Buddhist folklore and mythology (something that Kishimoto loves to do since), mixing them read more
Jun 7, 2019
SiriusTimeKeeper (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sci-Fi Samurai

Before “Samurai 8” was even published, it was pretty hyped up. Not only the new series is presented as the Kishimoto san’s new work, but also being dedicated with a trailer of its own.

Thus, this brings to the most important question, is or will “Samurai 8” be as good if not better than “Naruto”?

For now, only until chapter 5, this question “does not have an answer” for a single important reason.
If one manga tries to build or pull off a universe of its own, it “requires time” for it to develop. “Samurai 8” might seem confusing and fast-paced at the moment; however, it is read more
Aug 21, 2019
Bilbo_Baggins94 (All reviews)
Preliminary
REVIEW: from chapter 1 up to chapter 14 (NO SPOILERS)

Story: 10

Interesting, amazing, heartbreaking, many elements are from the Japanese and Buddhist story and legends.

Art: 8

A bit confusing background at the beginning, but it has hugely improved after the first 4-5 chapters and this problem is gone.
You will notice the same Kishi art style...but in the last 5 chapters it has become even better! In the close future it will be even better, I'm sure about that.

Characters: 9

Not many so far, but they are perfectly done. Strong, mysterious, interesting and very cool.

Enjoyment: 10

Definitely the best new manga experience of the year. Samurai 8 becomes read more
Aug 7, 2019
Shirou_Kazuma (All reviews)
Preliminary
I see a lot of people eagerly wrote off the series by the first few chapters.
But now that we are 13 chapters in, I can confidently say that the series has grown a lot.

Story - The story was great from the beginning. Especially the lore and workings of this series, the world building, etc has been good and it has only become better since then.

Art - The art in the beginning was rough and was hard to understand. But it has immensely improved since then and the art has become a lot better. The colour panels especially looks hella impressive.

Characters - The characters read more
Jun 9, 2019
Cosmicblaze454 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sometimes I wonder to myself why I haven't already dropped Samurai 8. So far, it fails to grab my attention. There are two reasons for this, its uninteresting narrative and confusing aesthetics. These two sometimes go hand in hand together making every read a Herculean task.

The first problem lies in the fact that Samurai 8 is essentially another bland battle shonen in terms of narrative. It lacks early Naruto's heart and ambition. Normally, I have great patience when it comes to such kinds of manga. Even with Black Clover's clumsy start, it managed to carve a niche and refined its narrative. For Samurai 8, read more
Jun 18, 2019
Astagami (All reviews)
Preliminary
The community is very split on Samurai 8, and I could see the reasons why, with artwork that has little to no shading, and an unusual type of genre in Shonen This could be mostly because everyone had high expectations for this manga especially since it is being made by Kishimoto. Although, we should be patient and wait, not all things start off great just like HunterxHunter which was an anime that I found boring at first then intriguing later. We must wait until Samurai 8 develops its story more and around the 6th chapter is where that generally starts. Although since it is a read more
Aug 27, 2019
Drink_Nastro (All reviews)
Preliminary
Samurai 8 is one of those series that keeps growing in you chapter after chapter...thanks to the legendary skills of Kishimoto Masashi and the very detailed art-style of Akira Okubo.

Story - until Chapter 15

The story of Samurai 8 could be simple from a fast point of view, however...chapter after chapter, it becomes deeper and way more interesting than the previous chapter.
This also thanks to the addition of famous things and characters from several myths and legends of out world.
This manga will stimulate your curiosity about the myths behind certain characters, Samurai Schools, objects and so on... I won't spoil you anything ;)
Overall read more
Sep 17, 2019
Halters7 (All reviews)
Preliminary
REVIEW: chapter 1 to 18 ---

STORY:

The first 4-5 chapters of Samurai 8 starts a bit slow, the hype and the outstanding situations got better and better after every chapter.
Kishimoto did a great move by giving us many infos during the first 5 chapters, and then giving us important answers during later chapters.

Now the story is definitely interesting.

VOTE - 8

ART:

Same. The first 4-5 chapters the art was a bit confusing (not that much, do not listen those guys who says they can't even read it. This just means they are f*cking blind), after those chapter teh art improves A LOT! The level of read more
Mar 24, 2020
abystoma2 (All reviews)
Imagine working on your manga idea for four years and this is what you come up with.

Android samurai hackers in space with epic gamer shut-in as a protagonist. No, this isn't a B movie idea, this is the basic plot of Samurai 8.

From start, this manga feels like the reader is missing a chunk of information, like it's a sequel or a spin-off set in a world we should already be familiar with. The story is chaotic, confusing, all over the place and doesn't really bother explaining itself much. Which is quite ironic, considering 75% of the manga is infodumping. This isn't an overstatement.

Awful read more
Aug 3, 2019
JP1OVA (All reviews)
Preliminary
Samurai 8 is the new manga by the author of Naruto. It has some similar feelings and writing style, but also manages to be unique.

Story (8)
We are already getting a ton of worldbuilding and lore. The story needs some time to set up, which it seems to be doing now.

Art (8)
A unique artstyle that is good to look at, although the characters sometimes blend into the backgrounds, and sometimes the action scenes can be hard to decipher.

Character (8)
Some characters are great, others are just OK.

Enjoyment (8)
It can be exciting or emotional, but it can also be a little boring. Still enjoyable.



Samurai 8 has a ton read more
Dec 7, 2019
Axelthrow (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga was the greatest disappointment in recent memory. The hype and push it got pre-release was more then possibly any manga ever, only for it to drop with not even a whimper.

Story: 4/10

You may be confused to see two common complaints about the setting. It has too much exposition, and that it doesn't have enough exposition and is confusing. The reason both of these complaints can coexist is simple, the setting was explained horribly. When we needed exposition we got none, leaving the reader not knowing what was happening, and when we got exposition it was given in the most convoluted and uninteresting way.

The read more
Mar 24, 2020
Damerino (All reviews)
Hey, look at me, I can't write anything satisfactory, hahahaha. - Kishimoto.

Lemme start by saying, I don't like "Naruto" (let alone "Boruto"). I had seen it as a child and I remember loving it but you know how it goes, kids doesn't calculate stuff when watching something whereas now, I know that Naruto sucked some ass. Granted, there are genuine good scenes - be it a fight/s or emotional moment/s - but in 96% of its runtime was both unwatchable and unreadable, and I did both out of respect not for its author but for my love for it once. I didn't want to read more
Oct 1, 2019
agus_tidona (All reviews)
Preliminary
Review from Episode 1 - 17

Story: 8

Why 8? Because, the premise of SCI FI Samurai with a lot of Japanese legends is, itself, very good and very fresh, nevertheless my problem is with the form that the story is being told: too fast. A story as complicated as this one, with an giant new universe , should be told slowly and in lot of episodes BUT this one is rushing into the cool stuff and the mechanics are introduced quickly and is difficult to undersand.

Art 9

Is epic and with a lot of details. Way better than Boruto, tho.

Character: 7

Is a good character yet very common. read more
Jun 7, 2019
AztechDan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a cursory review through chapter 5. The series is very young but there are already some glaring issues.

The positive is that it's a shonen manga written by veteran Masashi Kishimoto with art by Atsushi Ookubo, who does a good job emulating Kishi's art style. The fundamentals are there.

The story so far has potential but where exactly it's going is a mystery. Naruto wanted to be Hokage, Hachimaru wants to be a samurai. The difference is Hachimaru becomes a samurai right out the gate in chapter 1, so where to next? That said, I'm rating a 6 because what we are seeing is read more
Sep 30, 2019
rorenazoro (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is more than excellent I liked it from the first chapter and I see that it will become the best manga in the world soon and I hope everyone who has a negative evaluation on the first chapters of the manga to come back and evaluate it as it deserves

the story 9
the art 8
Designs and characters 10
characters 10
ata 1000000
The world 100000000000000
Total 10


I am excited about what is coming and I hope the manga will be bloody and for adults more than focusing on the classification of teenagers


Also the planets and galaxy are scalable and make the manga very long read more
Jun 25, 2019
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really don't know how people are writing the series off after 7 chapters. That said, I must say, it's not really grabbing my attention and I do kinda have to force myself to finish each chapter. I just started reading it today, and I can see it has potential, but at the same time it feels over the top and a bit crazy.

I think subconsciously I want to give it a chance because it's by Kishi, but ehh, it's difficult at times.

The art is good, but at times it can be really confusing and disorientating. The character designs are decent and the pacing is read more
Jan 4, 2020
Zerockman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Samurai 8 is the new manga by the creator of Naruto. When I heard this I immediatelly went to check it out. The manga was never well received by fans and critics but that never bothered me. I kept reading even though the first few chapters are very tedious and full of exposition. I wanted to get to the good stuff. I have caught up with the manga and I can honestly say that the manga is not as good as it was hyped to be unfortunately.

The one good thing I can say that this manga does well is the battle choreography. The battles are read more