Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hakushaku to Yousei

Hakushaku to Yousei

Alternative Titles

English: The Earl and The Fairy
Synonyms: The Count and the Fairy
Japanese: 伯爵と妖精

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 4
Chapters: 16
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 23, 2008 to Apr 24, 2010
Authors: Tani, Mizue (Story), Ayuko (Art)
Serialization: The Margaret

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 3785 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #29232
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #935
Members: 9,814
Favorites: 110

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 26, 2010
NightsofDawn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: This review was really old, so I decided to rewrite it...

Earl and Fairy is the story of Lyda Carlton,a fairy doctor, whose claim of being able to see fairies has earned her the title of 'Crazy lady'. Well, not really an official title, but everyone who sees her tends to think that.

Now insert Edgar Ashenbert, a wanted man who's looking for a valuable sword, accompanied by a guy with a warrior inside him and a girl whom we don't get to find much about. Only thing is, to get the sword, he needs to be able to see fairies and solve a riddle. Unfortunately read more
Jun 17, 2013
gypsysong (All reviews)
It looks like your standard sappy romance manga but it's not!

I don't write a lot of reviews but I think it's a shame that this great manga has such a low score. I think that is largely due to misunderstanding the story and the characters.

Hakushaku to Yousei tells the story of a fairy doctor (a person who can see and communicate with fairies) and a man searching for a fairy-related treasure. The story is original and well told. The plot is character driven - not romance driven. So, even though there are romantic elements, your attention will always be drawn to whatever read more
Apr 9, 2013
KunoYuna (All reviews)
Story
- This story confused me greatly at 1st. I tend not to read the smaller texts in the manga, but in this case, if you didn't read every little thing in the manga, you'd probably be lost. For me as a reader, I skim read. I read, but I skim at the same time. I did that with 'Wuthering Heights' and understood the series pretty well. And yet with 'Hakushaku to Yosei', I was confused at the end of the manga which I finished not too long ago (due to the fact that I read online and the updates are a bit slow read more
Dec 29, 2016
Desk05 (All reviews)
Story:
I don't understand the purpose of this manga. It seems like the mangaka tried to make the most unlikeable bunch of characters possible in sixteen chapters. The main characters are hard to connect with excluding Nico, and the story is more violent than I expected with a lot of blood and knives and guns.

Characters:
Edgar had no redeeming value; he was manipulative and abusive. He also choked a chick out with his bare hands and barely blinked, which is dark for a shoujo manga. I don't know if he loved his friends/servants or not, as one of his closest friends jumped off read more
Sep 3, 2016
Chinomi-san (All reviews)
I picked up this manga seeing how lovely the cover art was. Plus, I could see a beautiful ship approaching with the two main characters on it, Lydia and Edgar. The title was also alluring: The Earl and the Fairy. I adore historical manga as I do historical fiction, so I was sold on the description of a Victorian romance set in 19th century England involving fairies and other mystical creatures. This manga proved to be a delightful mix of mystery, love, and fantasy.

The author sets up the story quite nicely, describing the Victorian era by clothing, setting, and speech. Right away readers can see read more
Jan 11, 2019
Netbug (All reviews)
(Mild spoilers) If there's one quick way to ruin a love story for me, it's with a love interest who isn't appealing and shoujo manga is really good at making me question many of my fellow reader's tastes in men. Shoujo romance with an action element has an especially common pitfall of trying too hard to make a man "dangerous" or "jealous" to the point of being anywhere between uncomfortable to straight up no-holds-barred abusive. After years of rolling my eyes at this trashy trope, I am proud to announce that I have finally found the abusive love interest that easily takes the cake as the read more
Sep 1, 2017
saoki (All reviews)
I think the most important thing anyone should know before reading this manga is that it doesn't really ends. The 4 volumes encompass 2 story arcs and even though those stories are told to completion, the main plot is never resolved.
Crucially, the romance goes nowhere. It's a real let down to read the last chapter ever published and find all those dangling plot threads.

That said, let me nitpick a little:
* The art is nice, but the artist's narrative is really confusing, specially in fight scenes. It's made worse by the classic shoujo manga gimmick of going light on backgrounds/establishing shots, so that sometimes you can read more
Jun 30, 2017
Yon_Nyan (All reviews)
There’s nothing overly complex about The Earl and the Fairy. You have a fairy doctor whose sole occupation is helping fairies, whether it’s with internal fairy conflicts or their conflicts with humans. Then you have a mysterious Earl who seeks her assistance for some tricky nobility contentions. The two formulate a unique friendship, one that is constantly questioned by a sassy, bow-tie wearing, whisky-drinking kitty cat (upon seeing said feline, I was totally sold).

The characters, although quite entertaining, are nothing overly special, but they are a pleasant step away from the quintessential shōjo traits, which make themselves apparent early on. The portrait of young girl read more
Mar 12, 2019
Glorianguyen (All reviews)
after finishing the whole thing in one go, I have no other thought than "finally, I could move on"

story: 4
it was a decent story line and concept, I'll have to admit that it's mystery driven arc is something that kept me continue and not abandon it. But to be honest, the fact that it's only 4 volumes long contribute somewhat to the fact that i'm too stuborn to leave something unfinished.

Art:7
the only redeeming part to this painful inferno I've stepped in. Endeed a typical shoujo style which lead me unexpected of how dark it is. But it's definetly not something astounishing enough read more