Otoyomegatari
A Bride's Story
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Otoyomegatari

Alternative Titles

English: A Bride's Story
Synonyms: Young Bride's Story, Otoyome-gatari, The Bride's Stories, Pariya-san wa Otoshigoro
Japanese: 乙嫁語り

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Oct 14, 2008 to ?
Genres: DramaDrama, HistoricalHistorical, RomanceRomance, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Mori, Kaoru (Story & Art)
Serialization: Harta

Statistics

Score: 8.561 (scored by 1027510,275 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #972
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #188
Members: 38,655
Favorites: 1,799

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 21, 2010
srKuran (All reviews)
The synopsis might be a bit misleading, so ill start telling you that the story is not really only about a relationship between a 20 years old woman with a 12 year old boy, in my opinion, this manga has multiple stories about brides that connect with each other.

I cant really judge the art, but for sure it has rich details and all look so beautiful, not in a common way, its more like.. noble ish, cant really describe it, beyond outstanding, for me thats 10/10.

The characters are other very strong point, they live in the central asia, and are adept of many customs and read more
Apr 6, 2013
-Hotaru_ (All reviews)
There is magic all around us, you may find it in an isolated nomadic town, in a traditional ceremony, in the patterns of an embroidery or in the dancing of the natives.
This manga is all about simplicity conveyed in a subtle, mesmerizing way. It tells the stories of everyday people in Central Asia in the 19th century, focusing primarly on an unusual newlyweds couple and their families. The manga begins with a 20 year old girl that marries a younger groom through an arranged engagement. At first their interaction is a little awkward since there is an 8 year difference in age, but quite soon, read more
Jun 23, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
When it comes to either anime or manga art, the fact is that most of it simply is not really very good. Unwillingness to challenge industry standards, either the need to rush works out or just plain laziness, and sometimes a lack of talent. There are also always going to be exceptions to this rule, both of the absurdly detailed kind, such as Nausicaa of the Valley of Wind (manga version), or sometimes a simpler yet extremely well crafted attempt at cuddly charm, such as Dragonball. This manga is indisputably in the spirit of the former, erring at all times toward ridiculous levels of detail.

With read more
Dec 21, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
There are a lot of mangas that focus on romance, being the path to a relationship the most common; yet these never really expand on developing it, let alone arrive to the point engaging in a marriage. In the case of Otoyomegatari, or in its english title "A bride's story", it presents readers with couples that either are or will be engaged, whilst developing their relationships and the hardships of these. This historical manga is a magnificent slice of life bundled with dramatic and romantic elements, as well as lightly expanding on its setting; even though readers may not care about its premise, the art read more
Apr 13, 2012
zensunni (All reviews)
I have only read the first two volumes of "A Bride's Story", but at this point, I have to say that it is one of the finest manga I have read. I'll go straight to the details:

Art: This is the true strong point of this manga! The art is rich in detail, stunning in scope, breathtaking in beauty, and astonishing in the amount of research that is behind the images. Many portions of the story are told completely with images alone, with the astounding backgrounds and exquisite attention to detail in the character's facial expressions and body language telling the story in ways that exposition read more
May 19, 2015
PowerUpOrDie (All reviews)
'A Bride's Story' is an interesting manga series for me in that while I cannot deny its high level of quality, I also have relatively little drive to keep going- partially due to personal preferences and partially due to how it's being released here in the US. So with that out of the way, let's dive into the first two volumes of Mori Karou's latest historical romance.

'A Bride's Story' is licensed by Yen Press, who have this annoying habit of doing a lot of more expensive hardcover-only releases. As of this writing single volumes sell for $20 apiece- the same price as the double-sized hardcover read more
Feb 5, 2012
seinenfag (All reviews)
Story - The story kind of jumps from place to place, but it's what you'd expect from a SoL. It all felt very real and I learned a lot along the way, so I can't really fault it for not having lots of action. It is set in Central Asia (or that's where it's been for the first 17 chapters) around what I can only assume the time of the Great Game. The manga takes a break from the main story at times to focus on wood carving, sewing patterns and various cuisines. The story of the English traveller is very interesting, as he goes read more
Jan 17, 2015
SarcophagusBlues (All reviews)
First off, let me tell you not to be scared off by the idea of a marriage between a 12 year old and a 20 year old. There's nothing explicit, and they have a non-sexual relationship. It was kind of odd at first, but you get used to it really quickly.

Anyway, on to the main review. Otoyemegatari is a historical manga, that takes place in the 19th century in midland Asia. The historical aspects of this manga are great. Almost each chapter or arc has a focus, whether it be street food, wedding rituals, or friendship, that is well researched and portrayed. The manga doesn't read more
Dec 16, 2017
gorongo (All reviews)
Note : I'm not native speaker so bear with the sentence which grammatically incorrect.

Bored with mediocre love story? Need a new atmosphere? Then it is quite advisable to taste Kaoru Mori's works. She's the one who can give a new wind with a pretty interesting perspective.
One of the first big problems I encountered was, some people argue, including my friends when I suggested this, they judge only from the very first try because the age gap between them. To clarify the distance between Karluk and Amira, I think it is normal. In Asia which the traditional culture works more like a norm, get married at read more
Dec 23, 2018
corruptedanpan (All reviews)
Imagine yourself exploring foreign lands and being in awe from experiencing breathtaking scenery and immersing yourself in a new culture. This is exactly what Mori Karou’s story, Otoyomegatari, does to you. Through her exceptional art and recounting of ‘bride’s stories’, she transports you to 19th century Central Asia and you embark on a journey into new lands.

Just as a point of warning, as much of a romance manga, it is also a manga which wants to introduce the reader to the culture and lifestyle of Central Asia during the 19th century. But by no means does this mean that the romance is weak. To give read more
Mar 24, 2014
MrOri (All reviews)
This isn't really a review i want to commemorate the amount of research the artist put into this .
the detail on the clothing are historically correct .(did a little research here !)

I might as well mack a review since i came this far ...
In A Bride's Story Mori deposits the reader leagues away from the British romance of manners she crafted in Emma , instead exploring rural and nomadic life along the Western track of the Silk Road during the Great Game era. Mori has so far focused her attention specifically in what is probably northern Kazakhstan, near the expanding Russian border. The culture she read more
Feb 19, 2016
bristou (All reviews)
I really enjoyed the historical/cultural setting of ancient central asia, the beautiful drawings of the buildings and costumes, the cuteness of the central female character, the riding and hunting scenes.

The plot of the story is a bit weak though. There are multiple stories, loosely following some of the characters. It's a bit disconnected as well. But it really does not matter, this allows us to discover more people and places.

The art is absolutely amazing and in my opinion this is the best part of this manga. The drawings are very detailed and clear. In particular the dresses and the buildings.