Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Act-age

Act-age

Alternative Titles

English: Act-age
Japanese: アクタージュ act-age

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jan 22, 2018 to ?
Genres: ShounenShounen
Authors: Matsuki, Tatsuya (Story), Usazaki, Shiro (Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.321 (scored by 34123,412 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3462
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #765
Members: 12,478
Favorites: 649

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Sep 25, 2018
SiriusTimeKeeper (All reviews)
PROCESS OF BECOMING THE BEST ACTRESS


The only review before my own review was rated with a 5... For me, that person's rating is unforgiving because I truly enjoy each chapter of this manga. It has a huge potential to be a masterpiece.


Minor Spoiler:

Story: 9
The story concept itself is completely brand new and pretty interesting. The main protagonist, 夜凪 , was set to have a talent of making people feel that her acting is too real to be fake. While the director, 墨山, is set to have wide connections and somehow knows the way to develop and control the protagonist. While I am surprised regarding read more
Dec 28, 2018
Raw_Meat (All reviews)
I don't believe a masterpiece requires a epic story or a deep narrative or any distinct defining premise to justify itself. Act-age's story is structured like almost any other shounen, a main character with a special talent and goes through various arcs growing and improving their craft to become the best at what they do.

What truly struck a chord with me was the art. The art on its own is impressive, but its certainly not as streamline and polished as Murata's work in One Punchman or as detailed as Miura's Berserk. It's very hard to explain it without having seen it for yourself, but read more
Feb 9, 2019
daisiedoll (All reviews)
This is my first time writing a review but I'm loving this manga so much I had stayed up till 8am this morning to finish the last currently translated chapter, 51.

In 'The Galactic Railway' arc the writer does an amazing job dealing and explaining issues of life, death, grief and overcoming these things.
For a good hour I was crying so much I ended up having to plug my nose with tissue to stop my snot leaking out haha.
They're very good at establishing a connection between the characters and the reader. I truly felt that I had become one of the cast and was read more
Feb 19, 2019
gadboyz (All reviews)
“Whenever something sad or painful happens, we try to become different version of ourselves almost to the point of forgetting our true selves, right? That’s why people like us become actors, right?”

ACT-AGE is a manga series that published on Weekly SHONEN JUMP magazine. but unlike another JUMP manga that are either battle action, sports or romance comedy series, this manga tell us about profession and its competitive career world, in this case about ACTING. Also what thing that made this series different from another JUMP manga is Act-age have genuine female MC, while almost every shonen manga have male MC. Even with female MC, this read more
Nov 5, 2019
Viewed (All reviews)
Emotional. What else can you say about this piece of work? It's wonderful. Who knew watching a girl become a actress could be so real.

At first I thought this was going to a snore fest but boy was I wrong. You're going to be in for a treat. From the get go, the first chapter we are drawn into the world of this girl.

Let's begin our tragic tale of Kei Yonagi, our protagonist. From a nobody to becoming one of the greatest actresses this world could know. Failing auditions over and over it was the norm until one day she meets a person that will read more
Jan 23, 2018
Dededon (All reviews)
Quick review: If i had to describe it with one sentence: "Waste of a a good idea" The artwork is ok enough, especially the colouring, character are kinda bland, the story process is little boring but the climax is a cutely really good but a little too short.

Two new manga artists joined the Jump family with a really unique manga for shonen jump. Personally i am all about movie and a manga based on that makes me hyped. But this may not be the one i was waiting

Story: Its about typical as it can get, a decent start for a first manga. read more
Sep 17, 2019
daobear (All reviews)
I say that there is this one manga that's criminally under-rated all through out and it is this. ACT-AGE.

Story (10/10):
The story of act-age is a simple one. It could be summarized as a high school girl who aspires to be an actress being discovered by a director who saw that talent in her. Simple and Easy. Many may say that a story should have bombastic plot to be amazing, but I say that the execution of that story is what matters and Act-Age delivers with it.

Each story arc consists of a new lesson that our aspiring actress protagonist should learn and a captivating conflict read more
Jan 12, 2020
yosokio (All reviews)
I don't know how to start this review, honestly, words can't describe this manga. You should experience it. From the first chapter, the story comes off strong and well built. You get sucked in the world in a matter of a few chapters. Every little level up of the protagonist makes you starve and crave for her next development. And let me tell you something, the development of characters in this manga is no joke. Normally, when reading your typical manga, the only one to develop is the main character however what's surprising is the improvement of other characters as well. They also get engulfed read more
Mar 11, 2019
Chikimkfc (All reviews)
This manga was and continues to be an absolute delight.

The manga roughly follows the story of Kei Yonagi who ha immense talent in acting. Her extreme realistic acting causes her to be engrossed into her role and world thereof.

The manga, while having an interesting premise, didn't seem to have the makings of a masterpiece. The story followed as expected and while there's interesting acting concepts introduced, it's good but mediocre. What really captivated me was this recent arc in which the story focus on the production of the "The Galactic Railroad". This arc completely blew me away. The exploration of the characters, production read more
Jan 2, 2020
deadoptimist (All reviews)
After multiple recommendations I expected so much more. Now, a level of immaturity is ok and it can be even endearing in shounen, but in characters, not in the plot. And that’s what is reversed here – the main character is shown as unrealistically proficient, and the narrative is annoyingly juvenile in tone.

The idea is great – by god, I want more more shounen not about hitting people in the face and shounen with female leads. The world of a budding actress seems to be an exciting setting for a manga. Talent agencies, auditions, TV, cinema, theater, musicals, their energy, color, variety, beauty, and the read more
Nov 4, 2019
Potabi_ (All reviews)
First time writing a review, I'm not that harsh but rather what I enjoy here.

The story is truly engaging. As the readers, we can't predict what's going to happen and what the characters going to do. We anticipated the way characters solve their problems, meeting the requirement of an 'Actor'.
Each arc, we see Yonagi as a completely different character. But watching her grow as an actress at the same time. Same as the other characters.

I really like the art. The illustrator is really good at drawing human expression.
Maybe considering this manga a masterpiece would be too much. But, for now, I'll give it a 10. read more