Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Lookism

Lookism

Alternative Titles

English: Lookism
Japanese: 외모지상주의

Information

Type: Manhwa
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Nov 20, 2014 to ?
Authors: Park, Tae-Jun (Story & Art)
Serialization: Naver Webtoon

Statistics

Score: 8.351 (scored by 2448 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3062
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1729
Members: 5,718
Favorites: 350

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jan 11, 2018
Danyelasoda94 (All reviews)
The story is really great because it has true topics that nobody speaks so openly about them, like the discrimination to other people for their experience, bully abuse, the pressure of the social media nowadays and others. This story has drama, comedy, mystery and some chapters are even wicked.

The characters are developed so good because each one of them have an important role in the story, even the bad ones has a good background story and with the story progress you can understand more about their actions.

The art is pretty good and like in other webtoons it has color.

The updates are every week and read more
Jan 3, 2018
Pholia (All reviews)
The story is about a poor overweight high school guy that gets bullied and judged almost every single time he sees someone. He wants things to change, and much to his delight, he wakes up in a handsome and strong man's body, one day.

Story 4/10
I do not know what the story is supposed to be about at this point, it is so simplistic, unrealistic and lacks originality. In the beginning, you think you'd discover more about the mystery of the body swap, which is an overly used trope, but nope, it's just the main character, Hyung Suk, beating up bullies and protecting "ugly" people read more
Mar 12, 2018
koniiichiwa-sama (All reviews)
This Manhwa (korean comics) is amazing and i recommend everyone to check it out. (Im also gonna be using the English version of there names so it wont be as complicated)

Story: 9/10
The main character Daniel is basically this fat teen that nobody really likes. he was basically bullied most of his life and his mom is the only person that looks out for him. His family is poor so they live in a shabby house with low quality food. his mom is the only person that helped him in life but he said harsh things towards her, even tho shes his only ally in read more
Feb 21, 2018
tonk0tsuramen (All reviews)
"Don't judge a book by its cover," is what everybody says.

This story is about how unattractive people in the world survive and deal with bullying and criticism every day.

Please take note that there are 2 versions of this, and the names are different in both. For example, HyungSuk=Daniel
HaNeul=Zoe
MiJin=Mira

Story:
I haven't read anything quite like Lookism, so I was instantly hooked by the unique storyline. Daniel is a fat, unattractive guy and is bullied every day. Therefore he transfers to another school to avoid the bullies. One day before he starts school, he wakes up to be extremely handsome, fit, strong, everything a man wants to be, read more
May 14, 2018
AniJan (All reviews)
*MINOR SPOILER AHEAD*


(This is my first review I've ever written, so bear with me when my words aren't the most elaborate. I am open to suggestions and advice, so please feel free to criticize me in a constructive manner. Note that this was also slovenly written)

Reading the first 4 chapters of Lookism, I was elated to continue reading. The joy and satisfaction of a student being bullied excessively and judged for his ugly looks finally getting a good life was overwhelming. So overwhelming that I overlooked the minor problems it had. Alas, that opinion slowly degraded and in recent chapters I was utterly disappointed how read more
Jan 16, 2019
Daya99 (All reviews)
Park Hyung Suk(Daniel), overweight and unattractive, is bullied and abused on a daily basis. But a miracle is about to happen.

Story 10+/10
The story focuses on Daniel's adventures and the fact that he has two bodies, as we will see later we will also tell a lot about the other characters giving us the opportunity to know them from our point of view and not only that of the protagonist.They are treated themes that not all works have the courage to rappresent, a clear example are pedophilia, rape, obsession, stalking and even religious themes.The bullisma is not romanticized and we see that each of the read more
Dec 15, 2018
Ayumi_Sama (All reviews)
most of these reviews say lookism is generic and just full of moments where daniel fights people and helps the weak. but daniel himself is still weak minded. no matter what, daniel's mind will always go back to those days and he'll always feel terrible over what his mother did for him.

not to mention the addition of crystal's father, big 4 crew and james lee opened so many more doors in the story. most of these bad reviews are from before the chapters where the most exciting part of the whole series is introduced.

if i were you, i'd definitely read lookism. a really good story read more
Mar 10, 2019
jjeonk_97 (All reviews)
The story starts off centered around the perceptions people have of others, and how appearance can change that. If you're ugly, you're bullied, and unwanted. If you look good, you're popular, desired for, and respected. After around 30-40 chapters, it goes into depth about the issues of Korean society, as Lookism takes place in South Korea.

Lookism covers topics such as bullying, gangs, corruption of the entertainment industry, animal cruelty, cults, and homelessness/runaways. It even covers BJ's (Broadcast Jockeys), who are basically streamers and a common way to get very popular. Of course, this webtoon is exaggerated to make it more interesting, but this only read more
Jan 16, 2019
Frikyotaku (All reviews)
Daniel, a young man who since his birth suffered bullyng magically after moving, he obtains a second body. Interesting, the pleasant and sometimes hard reading surprised me and made love this work .... steady development, characters characterized, real situations, strong themes treated without fear, this manhwa has all the cards to become a masterpiece. Reading highly recommended and for me, which are very critical, I would never have thought in all my life to give a nice 10 to all points. who has ordered and drawn. Do not judge a book by the cover because you could lose yourself in wonder.
Mar 26, 2018
Rhazia (All reviews)
This is the first time EVER that I couldn't put a"book" down while reading. I got addicted to this manhwa pretty quick. Started reading it without knowing anything except for the description.

Story: 10/10. The story progression is well-paced. It is not too fast nor too slow. Whether or not it is realistic is for you to decide. Something supernatural happens in this story (as you can see from the genre tags), so I do not think it would be fair to expect too much realism in something such as this. However, on the side of school and bullying, I do have to say that it read more
Apr 12, 2019
-Lupa- (All reviews)
I almost didn't read this because the (extremely short) synopsis of the story really turned me off. "Oh great, a story about how an unattractive and unpopular guy magically turns into a hot guy and gets all of the girls and his life is great - what a great message....NOT". I am glad that I gave into the high reviews and gave the story a shot, though, because my initial impression could not have been any more wrong.

Instead of a wish-fulfillment story about someone whose life sucked but suddenly gets better because of a change in appearance, this manhwa is a story that explores read more