Naruto
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Naruto

Alternative Titles

English: Naruto
Japanese: NARUTO―ナルト―

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 72
Chapters: 700
Status: Finished
Published: Sep 21, 1999 to Nov 10, 2014
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, Martial ArtsMartial Arts, ShounenShounen, Super PowerSuper Power
Authors: Kishimoto, Masashi (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.071 (scored by 200376200,376 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5732
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1
Members: 295,323
Favorites: 44,529

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 16, 2009
Aceofplaces (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review contains spoilers up to chapter 435 of the Naruto manga. Read at your own risk.


Naruto is currently one of the leading titans of the anime industry, and probably the biggest thing to hit it off stateside since Dragonball Z. At first glance, you would think it is completely deserved, and rightly so. After all, this series has all the components of a major success. Nice art? Check. Interesting-looking characters? Check. Unique and clever fighting styles? Why yes. And don't forget the ninjas. After all, what's cooler than ninjas?

Unfortunately, none of that means jack squat if it isn't executed correctly. This is where Naruto read more
Nov 6, 2014
Kaiskov (All reviews)
WARNING SPOILERS BELOW

I can't believe this... I really can't believe this...

Naruto is a manga that has been running for 15 years, I still remember catching up with the first seasons of the anime back when I was 12, I remember skipping the dreadful filler second half from the original series and going straight to Shippuuden, I remember ALL of it and it is suddenly over. Wow... feels like an entire era ending.

Anyway, Naruto was one of the first anime series I have ever watched (Dragon Ball being my first), and even though I had lost my interest and enjoyment in it for a very long read more
Nov 6, 2014
JiroUmezu (All reviews)
*THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS*

It's hard writing this review straight after finishing the manga but I wanted to do it when It's all fresh in my mind. Naruto is a story manga and anime fans over the world know, hate or love, It is easily the most detested manga of all time but yet one of the most popular. The story is about a young boy called Naruto Uzumaki, with his entire village despising and fearing him he is practically alone in the village and because of that he as a character values friendship more than the comman man and that leads to him going above read more
Aug 29, 2008
AironicallyHuman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: The 9/10 score is for Vol. 1-27 only. In my opinion, the series drops in quality by a huge amount in the last half and we'd be talking 6-7/10 if I rated Vol. 28 onwards. Naruto is difficult to rate when I love the first half so much...

----------------

Naruto is a name that brings lots of memories to the front of my mind. Many years ago, when I was 14-15 and hadn't watched anime for very long, I was told about this hugely popular title. Being new to anime at the time, discovering I had 60-80 episodes to watch before I'd catch up wasn't a read more
Nov 14, 2010
RAMsonab (All reviews)
Preliminary
Masashi Kishimoto is in my opinion one of the more refreshing writers on the manga scene. Though may I say at first, that yes while this is my favourite manga, and I along with many others find the story rather captivating and original in many ways (despite drawing from many common, and rather cliché themes), this manga is not necessarily for you, the reader, who is sitting comfortably at their computer screen wondering 'what good manga should I read next?' and has decided to let peoples' reviews sway them towards or away many possibly magnificent reads.

That is not the purpose of this review. As a read more
Jan 16, 2008
ichikiba (All reviews)
Preliminary
The world of Naruto is probably the most interesting aspect of the show. Despite being a show about ninja, the soldiers in this manga are really ninja in name only. They're actually much more reminiscent of modern soldiers with flashy ninja magic than mysterious, stealthy ninja.

There characters are a rather nice aspect of the show. Many of them are archetypes, but I find them entertaining regardless. I also feel like the characters that are around Naruto's age (teenagers) have realistic personalities. They're teenagers, and they act like teenagers. That's one of the reasons I like them. Many would disagree with me, so it's really a read more
May 29, 2008
janelleski (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story is well-written. It's not just the usual shounen manga that's filled with action nonetheless since there are tidbits of angst and drama. Though the target audience of Naruto is usually the male populace, it is not a wonder that it can also captivate the hearts of the females.

Angst, drama and a little bit of romance mixed with action packed adventure is indeed wonderful. No wonder Naruto is sitting at the top spot for years now.

Indeed the story is magnificent since it is unique and captivating. Plus the fact that there are a lot of mysteries waiting to be unveiled makes fans read more
Jan 27, 2012
erena_xo (All reviews)
Preliminary
First thing's first, if you're not willing to read a manga that's very very long and drawn out then Naruto most likely isn't for you.
When people say that it's long and drawn out, they mean it. 400+ episodes, 570+ chapters, 50+ volumes later and it's not exactly close to being finished.
However, all those chapters, episodes and volumes give the creator an opportunity to further explain the plot and characters more thoroughly, which is a plus.

The story:
Without spoiling it too much, the story is definitely full of plot twists, some welcomed others absolutely detested, but that makes it all the more interesting. The characters read more
Nov 11, 2014
viviviv13 (All reviews)
Mod Edit: This review may contain spoilers

I know there is many other people here on this site that have reviewed this Manga before, but i felt that i wanted to give my says about it since it now have ended.

For 3 years ago, i didn't like Naruto at all because it was so popular and so mainstream at that time. Other reasons is bacause i was afraid of going away from my other interestes in favor for Naruto. Oh man, i was wrong xD.

One day, i was sick and pretty bored, so i decided to watch an Episode of Naruto. I was pretty neutral there. read more
Dec 26, 2009
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here's Naruto Manga summed up short and quick, unlike what the manga is capable of.

It can't finish what it's started.

Story:

Naruto began as an intriguing tale based off of everyone's favourite sub-culture group, ninjas. Except these ninjas had personality, and a backstory! Everything was going well, really well, I loved reading it cause every jutsu they pulled was thought out carefully, where they'd adapt what they had to suit their purposes. Battles were strategic, plot was meaningful, and most importantly, EVENTS LEAD SOMEWHERE.

Now, I'm still reading this manga, so maybe there's something to it, but I've dropped it once before, and I'm getting awfully close to read more
Nov 6, 2014
KappaKappaKappa (All reviews)
It's done! The end of Naruto marks the end of an 15-year period, about half of which I spent waiting for weekly updates for the manga that was my very first.

Was it worth it? Maybe. I have a gut feeling that Naruto is going to be one of those manga that took great benefit from having a long-ass run time, and that a lot of the attraction towards Naruto was the fact that, well, "everyone else was reading it too." Reading Naruto was as much of a social exercise as it was a reading one, since it's mega popularity ensured that there would always read more
Jul 18, 2013
tobifan (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story is outstandingly plotted. It is not very usual that the person who draws the manga is also the one to come up with the plot for it, as it is rather rare to see somebody manage to combine both drawing talent and original ideas in one. Masashi Kishimoto, Naruto manga creator, is such a shining example that something magnificent can be born when you are both gifted with drawing skills to be envyed for by many and the ability to come up with a plot and characters that have some sort of real depth and make the person who reads the story read more
Jan 26, 2012
LordKage (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the best manga out there, and getting deserved praise and attention!!!
Many people somewhat consider it overrated or point out flaws which basically, aren't flaws in my opinion, so let's get it to pieces (Review by the way follows up to chapter 571)

Story (9/10) | Characters (10/10) from me:
Okay naruto is a shounen manga, with basic shounen ideas, but the world naruto himself lives in, is thought out pretty well, very interesting, with it's own history and culture, political affairs etc.
Naruto starts off about a seemingly annoying little brat who has this need to do bad stuff to get attention and honestly I didn't read more
Apr 13, 2008
Bendero (All reviews)
Preliminary
SUMMARY REVIEW
Story: AMAZING

Art: AMAZING

Character: AMAZING

Enjoyment: AMAZING

Overall: GOD LIKE

REAL REVIEW
Story: The story is AMAZING. This is not a simple story. It does not just contain just a single element. The substance of this story is made of so much. Their is alot of Action, some Romance, lots of comedy, and so many others. The story is just an amazing work. This has to be one of the greatest stories of all time. Ever.
Their is so many stories branched out everywhere coming from so many characters. Also many of those stories link read more
Dec 30, 2011
Shermantor (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here is my complete review of Naruto and what I feel is good an bad about the series.

Plot - Naruto is the story of a boy who is the container for a demon responsible for destroying his village who is despised by most the village afterward despite the request by the Hokage who died to seal away the demon asking he be a hero. Its obvious from the beginning Naruto is a very lonely kid and acts out to get attention of any sort just to have his existence acknowledged by the villagers he deeply wishes would accept him, so in response to that he read more
Jun 13, 2010
Kaguya (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't know why, there's a lot who sees Naruto as a bad manga.. This is my first review as there's so many bad reviews about it.. I actually thought it's one of the best manga, in fact, I thought it's underrated..

(Review from chap 49x) - Spoiler ahead

Story - It's true that Naruto has quite a "normal" plot, that's "rescue his friend" that has been overused in anime (I still find it nice though, lolx - exception for Bleach which used this twice..).. But it has maintained this ever since Sasuke was kidnapped.. What I meant was Naruto has never been out of the read more
Feb 14, 2009
ayufu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Naruto is the best manga i have ever read. The storyline and art are both amazing! Its very different from any other manga and its definitely a manga that you can't put down.

What got me hooked on to it is how traditional looking it is. In Naruto's world, everything is so surprising! Not only does it have groundbreaking action, but also comic relief from all the stress that either the characters already have or has built on them. So I think that giving Naruto a try will be worth it! :)
Apr 30, 2008
krazystitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story is just for some reason alot better in Manga, I dont know why but it just is...The art is just...mindblowing because you ca see every tiny last detail! The characters are...or do get very annoying and its always the same thing like mutants or something. the enjoyment is great and you never want to let go of the book you always say "One last page!" then "One more page!" You never want to stop! So overall I give this a 10 because its just an amazing Manga to read.
Aug 4, 2011
kayori1928 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Naruto is an excellent series about a 12 year old boy named Naruto Uzumaki who wants to become Hokage, leader of Konaha the Hidden Leaf Village of the Fire Country. The problem for him is, first he is horrible at ninjutsu and has failed the final exam at the ninja academy 3 times which if was not bad enough he is the Jinchuriki (a human vessel), of the Kyuubi, the 9 tails demon fox, that was sealed within him at birth by Minato, who was the 4th Hokage. For this reason he is tormented by the villagers, his classmates and even his teachers. They blame read more
Nov 6, 2014
Tsukoyomi (All reviews)
Mod Edit: This review may contain spoilers.

Coming up with precise numbers to essentially give a value to a series that spans 700 chapters and well over a decade in production is not an easy thing. Much has changed over the years of publication, but I guess overall I would give the series a "very good".

Like many other people, the Naruto anime was my introduction to the world of anime--something that literally changed the course of my life. The storyline of a young boy who had the courage (or more like the gall) to always stay confident and continue smiling despite growing up alone in a read more