Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hoshi no Samidare

Hoshi no Samidare

Alternative Titles

English: Lucifer and the Biscuit Hammer
Synonyms: Wakusei no Samidare, Lucifer and Biscuit Hammer, Lucifer BH
Japanese: 惑星のさみだれ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 65
Status: Finished
Published: Jun 30, 2005 to Aug 30, 2010
Authors: Mizukami, Satoshi (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young King OURs GH

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 15578 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1412
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #182
Members: 36,793
Favorites: 2,810

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
What makes a good story? For many people the answer to that question is very simple - enjoyment. For some though, enjoyment is only part of the equation. Originality, innovation, technique, development and visualisation are all integral aspects of the storyteller's art, and even though there are tales that utilise themes, plots and settings that are already prominent in manga and anime (school based romantic comedies for example), the application of these techniques can turn something mundane into something very, very different.

Wakusei no Samidare (or, The Lucifer and The Biscuit Hammer - although a more literal translation of 惑星のさみだれ might be Planet Samidare or Samidare's read more
Sep 6, 2010
BigJim4652 (All reviews)
At first glance The Lucifer and Biscuit Hammer may not look like anything special, however looks can be very deceiving. It very quickly blossoms into one of the most engaging, funny, and at some times tragic stories that I've ever had the pleasure of reading.

The story may not be anything particularly original, but it easily makes up for its lack of originality with numerous twists and quirks that make for an enjoyable read that never fails to surprise, right up until the last chapter. Little things, such as the Princess' motivations for wanting to save the world, or unexpected character designs keep it interesting. One read more
May 22, 2013
StickyWizard (All reviews)
As a forewarning, this is my second review and consequently I’d like to try something a little experimental, so this review is going to be very Trope Heavy. For those of you who don’t know what that means: pull up a tab and go to TvTropes.org, then, when you emerge some hours later blinking into the sunlight, head on back over [and congrats on breaking free of your Small Secluded World].

Lucifer and the Biscuit Hammer [also referred to as Hoshi/Wakusei no Samidare] is basically what would happen if you took What the Hell, Hero? and made an entire story around it. Hoshi no Samidare read more
Jun 5, 2012
kurosaki_kabuto (All reviews)
"My heart... bowed completely to the wishes of the little devil standing before me, in this story of the Earth's destruction."

Before I start the actual review, let me just get something out of the way. From this it may seem like I give out 10s to manga, like I give candy to children on Halloween. In fact it is the opposite, this is the only true 10 rating I ever gave to a manga. I have another one in my list but that's for special reasons. So, as you probably realized already, this is my all-time favorite. Still, I will try and go through what read more
Mar 31, 2019
GianisSenpai (All reviews)
"An adult is someone who lives having fun ... a big boy. A person who can look at children with a smile That's an adult! An adult laughs and has fun to make the children envy them. To show them that life is full of desires"
-Samidare

What is it to be an adult?
There was a time when I did not read a manga that at the same time passes great messages, but deep down it does not take itself seriously.

(Story = 10/10):
The story is a seinen that looks more like a shounen, for it to make several satires with the generic shounens, but in the read more
Jun 5, 2015
FreddyTheMonkey (All reviews)
Aaaah, Samidare. When a friend lent me the volumes, I thought "Well, this is gonna be the oh-so-typical manga about a princess and his servant, loaded with boring clichés". Boy, I was dead wrong. In fact, Samidare does employ some clichés and definitely has some faults, but it turned out to be one of the most enjoyable mangas I've read recently. It is a rare case of a work regarding which I'd like to be completely objective and to acknowledge each and every lacking feature of it, but its merits completely outclass everything else, proving that you can have something outstanding even if not all read more
Dec 29, 2012
ShintakoInari (All reviews)
Take a deep breath. Long review ahead.

Also, a bunch of tears included. I thought I wrote a masterpiece, but then I deleted half of it when I decided to preview it. Stupid me. Should've just submitted it. Never again. I seriously want to cry. This is so ironic- the only half that I kept is the part about the flaws.
-
Sometimes you read manga so great that you wish there was a larger number you could rate it because it doesn't even compare to the other manga that you also rated as a ten out of ten. Sometimes, it is so great that even read more
Mar 17, 2015
musumane (All reviews)




Story 7/10
The premise to series is as follows: The is an evil Magician named Animus who is trying to destroy the world with an object called the Biscuit Hammer. To stop this, a girl is given the title of princess and is given 12 knights to combat Animus and his golems. The twist is that the princess only wants to stop Animus so she can destroy the earth herself.

The premise is both simplistic and interesting at the same time. My issue with the story as a whole, is that while it is interesting, a good chunk of the story feels like fluff, or padding if read more
Aug 22, 2015
Keatle (All reviews)
Slight spoilers follow:

No matter how bad it is, people love to make assumptions about everything. Despite not knowing anything about it, people will say stuff like "it is bad" or "it is good". Reviewers need to try to keep these assumptions at a minimum, no matter how difficult it is. I made assumptions about Lucifer and The Biscuit Hammer, and was dead wrong.

Lucifer and The Biscuit Hammer (Hoshi no Samidare in the original Japanese) is a fantasy manga series serialized between 2005 and 2010. It is written and illustrated by Satoshi Mizukami.

Amamiya Yuuhi used to be a disconnected college student, however this changed when read more
Jun 26, 2019
Von_San (All reviews)
[ALERT: CONTAINS SPOILERS]

Story:10/10- Wow, this story is fantastic. She runs away from the cliché of most shounens (protagonist hacker) and puts the protagonist as the weakest, but he is also the most "crazy" there, doing intense and constant training, always going to the limit to get stronger.
This manga is clearly a shounen, but nonetheless it escapes many principles of shounen, and soon begins to become a seinen with much mocking comedy of clichés shounens. The fact that they put sad past and deaths, in the midst of this intense comedy is very cool. In addition to having a story very well narrated, sometimes calm and read more
Feb 28, 2014
Po_and_Dong (All reviews)
It's very hard to classify this manga. It's a comedy, an action, a slice of life, a drama, and a psychological all rolled into one, with respective attributes shown throughout the manga, some alot while others not as much. Upon reading the first 3 chapters, I doubt anyone would have thought that there are several tragedies throughout this manga, how it could it pull it off with all the silliness. It's a jack of all trades of genres, with all of their best accompanying aspects and little of their tropes and bad parts, it is a manga about a suicide pact between a girl who read more
Mar 28, 2013
asi (All reviews)
Lucifer and the Biscuit Hammer is a manga I had a lot of difficulty convincing someone to read. The story start slow, begin with 2 emo teenager, the name made no sense, and the art style is nothing to write home about. I often just ended up telling them "just trust me and read the damn thing".

Hoshi no Samidare is certainly something special. Anyone that willing to look past the art style and the slow opening will be in for an amazing ride full of all kinds of emotions. The storyline will not make you laugh, but you will smile and cry all the read more
Dec 15, 2018
WitchJacqueline (All reviews)
As an avid manga reader, especially being a massive fan or super-power action stories, not having read any Satoshi Mizukami was a black mark on my record. At the request of a friend, and after a long time coming, I read my first Mizukami manga, starting with his first big hit Lucifer and the Biscuit Hammer. Running from 2005-2010, Lucifer became prized gem in many manga circles. Let’s Rock.

PLOT: High above the clouds in space is a massive hammer. Known as the Biscuit Hammer, it’s a tool of the Wizard Animus to destroy the world. However before Animus can use the Biscuit Hammer, he has read more