Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kekkaishi

Kekkaishi

Alternative Titles

English: Kekkaishi
Synonyms: Kekkaishi Ayakashi Hojinden
Japanese: 結界師

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 35
Chapters: 345
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 18, 2004 to Apr 6, 2011
Authors: Tanabe, Yellow (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Sunday

Statistics

Score: 8.031 (scored by 10852 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9072
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #361
Members: 22,095
Favorites: 768

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 21, 2008
Denizen (All reviews)
Preliminary
There are lots of shounen manga available today, and lots of them tend to borrow and overuse the same concepts, the same plot techniques, the same story lines, and most just fall flat eventually. Bleach, Naruto, D.Gray-man, it's all very mediocre.

Kekkaishi to me is a manga that doesn't have or do anything particularly special, and like its cousins it uses common aspects and features of action manga that don't break any conventions. However, it manages to accomplish much more.

For a start, the Protagonist's ability is absolutely genius, and it allows for a good mix of flexibility, strategy, power and defense which despite being frequently used read more
Jun 25, 2011
Alakay (All reviews)
I've recently finished reading Kekkaishi and it's the first shounen manga I've read by a female mangaka, the mangaka being Tanabe Yellow. The most outstanding thing about Kekkaishi is the story. Like other shounen's such as Bleach and Naruto it starts with the basis of completeing missions, finding out small truths and the spoof chapters for humour. Though throughout the process small hints of a bigger plot start to come out, keeping the reader intrested. Tanabe Yellow unlike alot of other mangaka's doesn't go off track, although she keeps up the twists and turns, constantly making the reader question whos the real evil guy or read more
Nov 30, 2013
Beccaliebe (All reviews)
Kekkaishi is probably one of the most underrated shounen mangas out there, and if you saw the anime, you might get why. The manga, on the other hand, takes the story to a whole new level that really makes it worth the read.

Story: What's interesting about the story is that the plot itself is pretty original, at least to an extent. There's ayakashi (demons) which isn't exactly original, but I hesitate to call it cliche because it's more of a subgenre. However instead of flashy swords or guns, the characters use boxes called "kekkai's" which trap subjects and then destorys them, kind of in read more
Jun 21, 2012
DragonFlame91 (All reviews)
Kekkaishi is one of my personal favorites in the manga world. The beginning had its rough edges but overall great read. The characters are so devoloped into the story and you have that great feel to get to know these characters like Yoshimori and Masamori. The ending was a meh and the the many love hints between Yoshimori and Tokine were fun to get to know and watch them grow even closer together. These characters change during the time of the story And you get to know other characters and they keep the story going which I loved seeing.
Mar 29, 2019
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

✦Story
To sum up the story. The biggest downfall for me was that after first main arcs. (until the first big boss was defeated) it was superb and it was the part that had Anime as well., which I've seen twice. But Anime ending felt rather unsatisfying thus why eventually popped Manga into my plan to read. Anyhow, after those arcs it started expanding with characters too much and it became fairly erratic, grand and chaotic, which lead to confusion and inconsistency.

It's a great battle shounen with read more
Jan 18, 2012
rondoblend (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yoshimori is a very likeable guy, he never pays attention to his teacher, yet he is far from naive. He never let anyone takes advantage of him and as far as i know it has never been stated whether he is academically stupid or not.
Tokine is a nice girl next door, although to my dismay Yoshimori surpassed her skill.
Those things put aside, what i like about this story is that there is no overdramatization, you know the moment in which a character cry like a big baby, or cry the heart out with a sound of piano in read more