Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokidoki

Tokidoki

Alternative Titles

English: Tokidoki
Japanese: 刻どキ

Information

Type: One-shot
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: 1
Status: Finished
Published: Oct 20, 2016
Authors: Komi, Naoshi (Story & Art)
Serialization: Jump GIGA

Statistics

Score: 8.241 (scored by 10676 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4592
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #490
Members: 16,544
Favorites: 549

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 1, 2016
DoctorWasabi (All reviews)
The only One-Shot that has made me cry...

No matter how many times I kept rereading it, I still cried every time.
From the man who created Nisekoi, brings us a heart-wrenching tragedy that will surely make you shed a tear once you have completed it

With only 52 pages Komi, Naoshi managed to come up with a story that makes you truly care about the two characters and what they are going through, and what happens to them in the end.

If you have 5 free minutes out of your day, then you should read Tokidoki. You won't regret it :)
Nov 1, 2016
UniCiel (All reviews)
One thing; This will hit you right in the feels.
I normally dont really get feels, and i am often seen as emotionless, but his one touched me.

Its a one-shot. Its not long, and because of that I did not expect much in the beginning, but oh boy i was wrong

But even though its not that long, you will get hit right in the feels in the end.
Its a small ride though a lot of emotions, Everything form Happiness, Sadness to fear and love.

I was left without words, when i finished it.

The art was great, it somehow fit the story perfectly.
The story well, that read more
Nov 2, 2016
R_TF (All reviews)
Tokidoki is the latest One Shot by Naoshi Komi,despite the small length it has been better in many aspects than his previous work but this isn't the first time that someone came with a Melodramatic plot which portrays strong emotion and tragic in the expense of logic and character development, tbh, it relies heavily on getting the reader emotional to create a fake sense of attachment to the uninteresting and bland characters, the closest thing I can relate it with is Hollywood flick "The Fault in Our Stars"
In short,it follows a girl with fatal heart disease and got few countable years to live, until read more
Nov 2, 2016
KyouShi- (All reviews)
JUST READ THIS ONESHOT!!!!! ITS FRIGGIN BEAUTIFUL!!!!! (except if you plan to wait for more than a oneshot to enjoy this more, but this oneshot itself is magnificent)

Komi Naoshi is most famous for his work Nisekoi which I enjoyed myself since it was very light and just sparked the young romantic-comedy side in me, but Nisekoi was lacking deep emotions and the capacity to make the reader see relationships in a more sophisticated way since it is a harem which mostly focused on making the reader giggle and the characters funny. This work of his on the other hand still is very enjoyable though read more
Nov 24, 2016
IcyMirage (All reviews)
As a manga artist, Naoshi Komi is best known for Nisekoi, a light harem with a plethora of humor and reaction images. Given the shift in premise from a comedy to a more dramatic work, my initial thoughts were whether or not Komi could really pull off the poignancy necessary for this type of one-shot to work. With the quality of the Nisekoi one-shot, I went in with relatively high expectations (even though I wasn't expecting the story to wow me given how Nisekoi ended).

Tokidoki is the story of young love covered by the shadow of health problems. Komi is clearly aware of the read more
Nov 1, 2016
TheMangaDude (All reviews)
This is my first review, Nonetheless I will try to share my experience with reading this one-shot manga. This short story in my opinion shows the nerve wracking feeling of anticipation, The feeling that you know that someone or even your life will end at a point, and that not all fun memories last forever. The story is simple, but despite its simplicity it still finishes off with an unexpected turn which can lead to some readers feeling a sense of closure, or the feeling of emptiness.

In short, give this one shot manga a try for it is one that doesn't leave the readers read more
Nov 3, 2016
ray10 (All reviews)
I was surprised, never really thought that would happen.

For a one-shot manga, it's a one whole package of a story. I didn't expected anything because I thought it was going to be a love story, similar to Nisekoi's one-shot. In the end, it was satisfying yet unacceptable.

Story: Simple but great execution (and I can't move on about it.)
Art: For a one-shot, it really has a beautiful illustration.
Character: I must say unforgettable (cause its sure hit through the feels.)
Enjoyment: It's appreciative that I really want to see this as a manga series.

Overall: I do recommend this and your not gonna get disappointed.
Jan 14, 2018
TJQ15 (All reviews)
Story: Was interesting enough and touching enough to keep me reading but the plot twist at the end was so melodramatic and put such a bad taste in my mouth that I almost stopped reading. It was passable but would not reread. It brought back the bad memories I had from his previous many, Nisekoi, which I ended up hated for it’s extreme padding and reliance on harem tropes which I do not find appealing especially in a story that was supposed to be a Romcom.

Art: Pretty good, a little to glossy though. The same art style from his previous manga Nisekoi.

Characters: were okay until read more
Feb 12, 2017
OtakuOne (All reviews)
A one-shot brought to you by Komi Naoshi, the creator of the light-hearted comedy harem manga called Nisekoi. At first, you will think that this one-shot will be full of laughs and light-hearted moments. However, it's the opposite.

This one-shot features 2 main characters, yet it still made us cry in just 1 chapter. The story is just heartwarming, the character development is great, in just a few months, they became friends from just a simple situation, heartbeats. The characters are just normal, yet, those characters are special in any way.

The art is quite detailed and nice, they put out the effort to draw good.

This is read more
Jan 29, 2017
ThenextOBITO (All reviews)
This is a One-shot worth reading. It has everything a One-shot should..the art is great...the story is a masterpiece..(Pro tip: watch out for the twist at the end)..If you are a fan of the School Drama,you should try it out...
The Romance in it too is sweet and subtle......

I loved it because it matches with my idea of a romance story...sweet,subtle and believable...
Besides the plot twist at the end appealed to me as well...
I hated it ....well...because it ended.....I could have managed ten more chapters.
At the end of the story,you will probably be wishing for more..as is the case with many One-shots...
One-shot lovers would definitely be read more
Jan 12, 2017
Mionggi (All reviews)
Note: First time to write a review so pretty nervous :(
(any suggestion or comments to improve my review is gladly accepted)

TokiDoki one-shot is one of the best manga I've ever read . First of all I'm not unto manga this day and not read a lot much of it but TokiDoki is like drawing my attention.
But then when i read it omg... What a great art style and the story is pretty good too.

My heart skipped a bit at the part of the plot twist it kind of left me speechless.

Main Characters fits the story perfectly although we didn't have the chance to know read more
Nov 3, 2016
Animer_man (All reviews)
It was so sad that i was triggered by it.

STORY-
Komi, Naoshi have done great work making this one shot.It was better than nisekoi and also twilight.Hoping that upcoming manga from koni gets popular.The story starts with girl takagi hatsu having health problem.There comes the main hero name lijima hato who always peek her the rest you guys read.It will be best.

ART-
It was great art.Each character was drawn great with expression,feelings and happiness.The background was drawn beautifully.The funny moments was also drawn funniest.

CHARACTER-
From my opinion the characters were suitable to their own possiblities.The characters were good looking and funny.

ENJOYMENT-
I really enjoyed the manga.My soul was shocked read more
Nov 2, 2016
Deanaka (All reviews)
A short story that emphasizes the "carpem diem" side of life. It starts off with a happy vibe and ends up on a plot twist. I loved it.

Story: 7/10
Although the story is just a vehicle for the message, it was still nice to follow. Having a good ending, I'd say it is a rarity among oneshots.

Art: 7/10
The art complemented very nicely the happy vibe that the manga gave off.

Character: 8/10
Holy shit Poppo, I thought you were just a generic guy but you surprised me. Both characters feel somewhat real, and they delivered the message pretty well.

Enjoyment: 10/10
Hey, I told you didn't I? I loved read more
Dec 22, 2017
Woks (All reviews)
Writing this review after I just finished this story. And I'm now thinking why even thought I knew very well it would be something that hits me hard I still went and read this, I must be some kind of masochist and anyone reading this probably is at some extend. just from the summary, from the first panel of the manga you know already what you are getting into but it's only natural I guess to be curious and to test yourself.

I've been reading a lot of drama and romance manga but those manga normally act as some kind of roller coaster where you just read more
Dec 22, 2017
Jety_Lefr (All reviews)
It's hard to write reviews for oneshots like this one.
It hard because the stories are short, and giving away too much is too easy.
So to make this short and to avoid accidentally handing out the enjoyment of exploring and discovering every twist and turn of Komi Naoshi's latest brilliant one-shot...
Let me just say this.

Komi Naoshi is a sadistic man.
He's a genius.
And he will make you cry over and over again with his creative one-shots.
Toki Doki is no exception.
This one hurts.
This one hurts a lot, and you'll love the pain, 'cause it's so bitter-sweet and beautiful.
Jan 1, 2018
Mashi_roum (All reviews)
The art was amazing, the story and everything was really good.

even though its just a one shot it really makes you feel attached to the characters with just those small amount of pages. if you have at least a few minutes to spare just try to read this, its worth it.

Its pretty obvious that it has depressing ending even at the start but there's more to it than just some teartearjerker.

[cant even write a short review for a one shot wth]
why is it so hard to write a review

i wished it was a series though the plot and characters were really read more
Aug 6, 2017
Chinomi-san (All reviews)
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ I forgot this oneshot was on my list. I heard it was a fairly popular oneshot, though. The name “Tokidoki” makes it sound like it’s going to be cute, and it was when I breezed through it. At first glance it seems like a tender-looking school manga about precious first love, perhaps even a shoujo, but it’s definitely not that. You can tell it’s something more when you see the beginning.

The mysterious disease is unique and saddening, but the mangaka sets up the reader for this tragedy by mentioning Hatsu’s death on the first page and having the rest of read more
May 28, 2017
ScarletCelestial (All reviews)
Story - 10
Better not talk about this one because I can't trust myself to ruin the ending. However, the story is beautifully touching.

Art - 10
Again, it can only be described as beautiful. The cover is the most amazing art in manga I have seen in a while.

Character - 9
How the two characters develop is sadly very interlinked with the story and yes, I still don't trust myself.

Enjoyment - 10
A rollercoaster of emotion, I cried, laughed and cried again. The raw emotion is what makes this one of the best things I have ever read.

Overall - 10
In the end, this is difficult to read more
Feb 21, 2017
jykeous (All reviews)
Warning: some spoilers ahead
For a one-shot, this was amazing. They characterization was excellent given the length and I really became attached to the likable characters. The story, while sad, was inspiring and hooked me in. It relies heavily on "the feels", but this is most likely because there is no other way for it to be impactful with such a short length. I' m a logical and less emotional person and I have probably cried 3 or 4 times over a story, and those were only light tears, but I was actually sobbing at the end of this. It left be somewhat depressed the read more
Dec 19, 2016
Yoshaaa (All reviews)
Just when I thought I have prepared my heart for some tearjerker scenes because someone's gonna die - based on the first pages of the manga, I thought wrong. 💔 I haven't prepared enough. You will still cry anyway!😣😢😭

What I love about this oneshot is how it teaches every reader to "Live life to the fullest!" To live without regrets. That every second is worth living for! Questions like, "Am I happy with how I live my life right now?" will cross your mind as you finish reading the manga. You will have some sort of realization about your life - that's what happened read more