Fruits Basket
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Fruits Basket

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: FuruBa
Japanese: フルーツバスケット
English: Fruits Basket
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 23
Chapters: 136
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 18, 1998 to Nov 20, 2006
Genres: Comedy Comedy, Drama Drama, Romance Romance, Supernatural Supernatural
Theme: School School
Demographic: Shoujo Shoujo
Serialization: Hana to Yume
Authors: Takaya, Natsuki (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.511 (scored by 6660866,608 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1162
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #61
Members: 125,943
Favorites: 13,400

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 9, 2009
Suzuhana (All reviews)
I find that there are people who absolutely love (this seems to be the majority) Furuba or people who can't stand it.

I believe that it's hard not to like Furuba. At first I thought it was just going to be funny, because the first 7 or so volumes are full of hilarious scenes (mainly because whenever the Juunishi are hugged by the opposite sex, they change!). But once you get to volume 6 everything seems to start to gravitate in a different direction.

The story line, when it's revealed, is a little cliche in my opinion. Hence the rate of a 9. Don't get read more
Nov 6, 2014
filthyfuckinweeb (All reviews)
People underestimate children and teenagers. When you're a kid, you're a blank slate that can be easily damaged. When you're a teenager, you tend to go through a lot of crap and as you get older, the baggage from when you were a teenager can carry over to your adult life. Yet there's this preconceived notion in our society that children/teenagers are stupid and that the problems that they go through when they're this young are trivial in comparison to the trials and tribulations they'll go through in their adult lives. Fruits Basket is a manga which tells the story of Tohru Honda and her read more
Apr 20, 2008
Gioeva (All reviews)
This was the first series that I actually finished, and it was also the series that got me interested in the whole aspect of manga and anime ^^. I hope to one day re-read it if I can get hold of the books, since Tokyopop disabled their upload on online manga sites.

Story: The one thing I love about this series is that there's no one set genre. One moment, you can explore deeply into your conscious, the next you can be laughing your ass off at a joke Shigure makes. Though the sudden change, the events that unfold still seem to follow read more
Sep 26, 2008
Jaica-jeN_ (All reviews)
Ok, first, I thought that Fruits Basket was a little weird. My friend recommended it and I wasn't really in the mood to read an awfully long manga. So... maybe after one month, I tried reading it and then I knew I couldn't et away from the computer:P

I know you would think I'm crazy for giving it almost a full ten but they're true. Story - one of a kind, unique. I mean where would you get the idea of making the characters into animals when they hug the opposite sex? And I also love the development of the 'love' in the story. And read more
Apr 29, 2014
asckj1 (All reviews)
I'm being a bit more critical in rating this manga series. It's a really great manga though. So its definitely recommended for anyone who has seen the anime and who want to see a closure to the story.

Story [10/10]: The base of the story was wonderful and perfect to weave a long story including people associated with the zodiac. The main concept that keeps the story rolling is the fact that each person, who is possessed by an animal spirit associated with the chinese zodiac, suffers from emotional hardships because either their own parents won't accept them or society wouldn't. The one causing them to read more
Mar 14, 2021
Sayali567 (All reviews)
Fruit Basket is one of the most unique shoujo I have ever read, It is not light hearted and happy go lucky like other shoujos, Fruit Basket touches upon many realistic issues like Abuse, PTSD, Depression, Social anxiety, Abandonment issues and potray all these in very realistic way.
The main theme of this story is motherhood and romance is just a side plot, The fact that main leads have platonic relationship is what makes it stand out from rest of the shoujos.
Characters are all well written and have depth and have very good character development, Our Main protagonist Tohru may seem like your cliched shoujo heroine read more
May 4, 2021
Selendia000 (All reviews)
Fruits Basket is one of the best mangas to have ever been published. It is one of the few series that only gets better as it goes, and never fails to succeed your expectations

Story: 10/10

Fruits Basket uses the rather common idea of Zodiacs, and delivers a unique, unmatched plot. From a first glance, it seems rather ridiculous: humans turning into animals? Silly as it may be, it works. Thirteen people, all related, are possessed by one of the zodiac animals, and must face societal, familiar, and emotional conflicts. Among it all is Tohru Honda, a dumb, hyperempathetic schoolgirl who gets wrapped read more
Feb 20, 2021
Exciuslvex (All reviews)
I started reading after rewatching the anime. I picked up from where season 2 left off and honestly, this is by far my favourite manga and anime.

Story: 10/10
I loved it. It has everything you need, you get the action from Kyo and Yuki, the romance, the comedy and the overall amazing storyline.

Art: 8/10
It took a while to get used to because some of the characters look similar and I get confused easily but it's easy to adjust to it.

Characters: 10/10
This manga / anime has the best character development I've seen so far. And all of the characters are ones you can grow to love read more
Oct 13, 2013
Hanasanaide (All reviews)
Okay, I decided a long time ago that my first review would go to Fruits Basket, so I guess it's about time. Before I start I want to say two things:
First of all, I finished Furuba almost a year ago, but I re-read a few chapters from time to time, and I still remember almost everything.
And second of all, my english may not be the best, so don't be surprised if there's something that sounds weird.

Story - 9/10

At first, it's not really something special. It's a cute girl who meets a family who turns into cute animals when they hug people. Cute.
However, that's not read more
Jan 31, 2011
StayCold (All reviews)
Story: There really is no plot. There is one single idea that tends to drive on the story, but I felt that it was too forced. Throughout much of the series, the characters don't even focus on this one problem that just barely manages to bind together the series.
Art: Although ,it's not the best I've seen, it's still pretty good. The art is clean and has originality. These kinds of drawings are fun to look at.
Character: This is one of the reasons why I dislike this manga more than others. Let's discuss the main character first. Honda is just too perfect. There is no human read more
Jun 26, 2009
Ri-chan (All reviews)
I wrote this assuming you read the description!

I gave this series a 10 in almost every category (the category that I didn't was art, because it was admittedly unimpressive at the beginning, but it does improve). It is my favorite story of all time. It doesn't matter if you bring me novels, animes, comics, cartoons, movies, or anything else, because I'm sure this series will rein supreme.

From the outside it looks like your average shoujo series: cute, optimistic, orphan girl living in bishi heaven and knowing something secret about them. But it's not! Natsuki Takaya writes characters that really take flight into a life of read more
Dec 26, 2009
HomicidalMuffinz (All reviews)
Fruits Basket is by far the greatest manga I have read and will ever read. It tops both my manga and anime experiences. So far, I have read 22 out of the 23 volumes, but I can say that it is my favorite with no doubt in my mind. The story is truly a Romantic Dramedy, a love story with extreme drama splitting it apart, but with comic relief intertwined within the pages.

The story blew me away with it's deep emotions and feelings. It is the kind of story that makes you experience a ray of emotions, but in the end you still enjoy read more
Jun 16, 2014
AnimeZ0id (All reviews)
"I don't think anyone is born knowing the reason why they're here. It's just something you have to find as you go along." --Tohru Honda

Well, whenever the manga came out and I had a few of my classmates reading it, I just couldn't even look at them right. I thought the plot was silly and I just avoided it for the longest time. But one day I was at the library, and I saw a DVD set of Fruits Basket. And this was this year, 2014. I knew it was pretty dated, but I was like "hey why not, I'm more open minded now." read more
Mar 24, 2018
Rollapoid (All reviews)
I used to think this was a cute goofy story with a love triangle and drama for it's own sake sprinkled in. But now if I had to give an elevator pitch for Fruits Basket it would be something along the lines of...
"Young adult/teen characters in a abusive and closed-off family environment with a variety of resurfacing childhood traumas, and how a girl whose greatest strength is her kindness manages to awaken new changes in dealing with that trauma."
(so for those of you who are saying Why Don't The Sohmas Just Leave or Act Like ___ Way, the answer is, that's how read more
Apr 11, 2019
6fortius (All reviews)
Art was dreadful. Series would be ended within one chapter by this era's current standards.

Characters were unrealistic. Where in the world would you find such 15/16 yo who understand and express themselves clearly? Tohru can be summarized in one word: Perfect. She's so blessedly perfect her flaws are also made into pitiable things that make her 'endearing'. You can just skip over every interaction she has with the 12 zodiacs. They can be summarized in one sentence: Tohru charms them over to her side. Also, the villain is impossible to sympathize with. Childhood trauma does not justify the things they did, and the author certainly read more
Apr 25, 2018
aesaloniichan (All reviews)
So here I'm about to pan one of the most-loved manga series of all time, what am I thinking...

I think the reason I have such a negative opinion of this series is because it is so fundamentally wrong on so many levels. But the largest is that it's a story of abuse, abuse, and more abuse; abuse as the default of human interactions; abuse carried through the generations; abuse that carries the weight of some kind of vast karmic mystery. And that's revolting.

Caution: while I will try to avoid spoilers, it's possible that I'll give something away as I will discuss plot in what follows.

It read more
Jan 3, 2010
ashnite22 (All reviews)
I decided to read the manga because I watched the manga and wanted to know what happened after.... quite different from the story. Anywho in the beginning I thought it was funny and I liked the art a lot but towards the end it was a little disappointing. The character development was very well done and the story was a very interesting take on the zodiac. The part that did disappoint me was the fact that the author waited until the very end f the series to deal with everyone's problems and reveal bits about their past ..etc It was too much and too read more
Sep 1, 2021
Alex_Jaro (All reviews)
Young Honda has to move to her grandpa's house, too bad he is renovating it so she has to start living in a tent until a family consisted of men only finds her, become friends with her, and let her stay there. They are not that normal though as they have been cursed by the 12 Chinese zodiac animal spirits and when somebody of the opposite member hugs them they become one of their respective animal and when this is undone they are fully naked. Honda learns this secret that at first seems funny and cute but soon becomes much darker. This manga is all read more
Aug 22, 2019
dweeb02 (All reviews)
I enjoyed this manga so much. It is the first anime I watched, so I decided to finally read the manga. I have no regrets, it is so amazing. The characters all have back stories and interesting personalities, and are well developed. I cried and laughed quite a lot from reading this as well. I can honestly say I finished this with no loose ends! I felt content. The story itself is very interesting and different, and ties in romance which I greatly appreciate.

Highly recommend. :)
(Sorry if this is all over the place, I just finished and wanted to write a review asap haha~)
Jul 24, 2021
shiotanagisa1515 (All reviews)
Love, Love, Loveeeee this manga so much and I haven't even watched the aniem yet. I re-read the manga twice by now and can't wait to start the anime very soon. I enjoyed this manga because of the storyline and the relationships. This manga suprises you every chapter, made you feel many different emotions and connected you with the characters.

The different relationships between each character and the different personalities throughout each and every characetr made this a very entertaining manga that I know anyone can enjoy. 10/10 manga.

Thank you for reading my review, go read fruits basket if ur swag.

-Sid (a.k.a shiotanagisa1515)