Shugo Chara!
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Shugo Chara!

Alternative Titles

English: Shugo Chara!
Synonyms: Shugo Chara! Encore!
Japanese: しゅごキャラ!

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 55
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 28, 2005 to Aug 3, 2010
Genres: ComedyComedy, MagicMagic, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShoujoShoujo
Authors: PEACH‐PIT (Story & Art)
Serialization: Nakayoshi

Statistics

Score: 7.741 (scored by 1777217,772 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #13412
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #336
Members: 34,044
Favorites: 1,658

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 19, 2010
ChibiHime (All reviews)
Preliminary
"All kids have eggs in their hearts..."

Story: 7

Shugo Chara is basically a typical magical girl manga. I knew it was but something about it draws you in. Maybe it was because of Amu's cool appearance or maybe it was the because of the eggs I'm not sure. But one thing that is for certain, Peach-Pit takes your typical magical girl manga, adds in some spice and tadaa~ a very original magical girl manga.

However something is stopping Shugo Chara from getting an 8. Though the storyline is original with the whole egg and your true self thing, Shugo Chara gets extremely tedious after the first couple read more
Jun 19, 2009
AntiRealityInc (All reviews)
Preliminary
A very original magical girl manga. Its whole storyline and character personality is great. And need I say, most of the pages will make you laugh and have you wishing for the next volume to come out. I think anyone who likes the cute magical side of life will fall head over heels for this manga and will soon be wish for his or hers own Guardian Characters.
Oct 23, 2014
MOOMONSTER (All reviews)
I started off reading this manga because I heard it was a fun, happy-go-lucky kind of story. It was! I laughed out loud a lot and the message was upbeat and positive. But it was more than just a good time. I finished the series feeling not just satisfied and cuddly, but inspired.

I'm a sucker for creators who take an everyday life concern and turn it into a compelling story. The concept which this manga is based on, that of having dreams or an ideal self, is something I think everyone can relate to. I know I struggled with identity when I was younger. Getting read more
Apr 15, 2009
yuchan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Every person Hinamori Amu knows thinks she's the coolest girl they know. Except the fact that behind everyone she hides her true feelings. One morning when she wakes up, she comes across three eggs called "Guardian Characters." These Guardian Characters help her find out that her true personality isn't that bad, and that her real personality is cool too.




Everyone at Seiyo Elementary thinks Hinamori Amu is the coolest girl in class. But, she's nothing like that. Amu's actually a very shy girl who wishes to have courage to truly be herself. One morning, she found three mysterious, little eggs in her bed. Each egg read more
Apr 30, 2015
yuucchanXO (All reviews)
I like the art - clean, straightforward, and very pleasing to the eyes. I thought the character's emotions were also clearly reflected in the art.

The story was okay. It was fast-paced which is good. I love Ikuto's character very much. Hehe. There was too much idealism which isn't much too my taste. And at the end, there was a confusing all-fantasy arc that surpassed space and time which I didn't really like. But overall, I thought the manga was good and I definitely enjoyed it. I liked best the dokidoki moments of Ikuto and Amu. Hehe. I also liked how Ikuto was portrayed and those read more
May 26, 2009
IkutoFanGirl (All reviews)
Preliminary
Loads of people say this manga/ anime is for total kids cos of the story, this may lead to people not wanting to read this. Plus, it's a magical girl manga too... which can really annoy people... but don't let that put you off! This story is not for little kids! It has a perverted cat boy (Ikuto) (loads of fangirls including myself!) and the source of the magical girl (or boy) powers are from eggs! Totally original, way to go Peach-Pit! PS There is major shock at chapter 40! It's like OMG, you need to read this the whole way through!
It has amazing art read more
Feb 5, 2016
Willowtry (All reviews)
In one line : // If you're into fanservice before anything else, this manga is for you. //

I've never been into Shoujo. Works targeting females very often present the same overused tropes with little to no variation ; therefore, I've never been too fond of them. If I do feel like reading one from time to time, I easily enter the "overdose" zone when it comes to them. To some extent, it can be argued it just isn't my thing, that Shounen, Seinen, etc. also lack variations overall and yes, I couldn't deny it is partly true.

That settled, how come I started Shugo Chara so read more
Feb 28, 2017
PopAnime123 (All reviews)
The idea for the story was good, and it had plenty of humor and kept me hooked... at first. But as I got more into the story, I noticed that it just didn't have the right... appeal, or feeling, so to speak. The concept was creative, but the story overall could be better. And the ending was confusing and a lot went unanswered. Overall, this manga was alright, but could have been better. I was hoping for a better story, and a better understanding. It is also considered a "children's manga", but I highly disagree. With a few strong curse words and a couple of read more
Oct 27, 2009
ikutokun90 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS MANGA!!! and i don't say that very much it has such a great story and let me say this isn't so much for kids there will be allllllooooottttt of moments for adults ^_^ which i love all of them the romance is perfect, the story is perfect, the characters are perfect and let me say i'm a huge ikuto fan I LOVE HIM!!!!!! but really a great manga the anime tends to not follow the story lots of the time so i recommend if you want to know more about shugo chara read the manga first than watch the anime but read more
Nov 5, 2020
abeinha (All reviews)

First of all, I'd like to say that the score I gave is clearly biased, but this manga doesn't deserve anything less than 8.

Shugo Chara! may look like a typical shoujo, but its peculiarities make it unique in my opinion; the main character, Amu, has doubts and insecurities normally present at her age, the classic love indecision seen in any lead in the genre, and a will for being the best she can be that seems innovative to me in this category. There is the everlasting love triangle, but it doesn't maintain itself as the primary aspect of her life. The little 10, 12 and read more
Jan 1, 2018
Freakazoiid (All reviews)
Alright, I'll be honest. This was an interesting series, though I have my reservations.

I'll be quick with a review because others have already gone into depth about the ups and downs of this story.

Pros:
The story concept is good; unique and wholesome.
It's cute.

*Slight spoilers ahead?*

Cons:
-Cliche character tropes, every character has a trope and it almost hurts.
-Borderline pedophilia. Main character is in elementary school while the love interest is in highschool. What. I get 'forbidden love', but they try to make it seem normal in this anime.
-Amazingly stupid 'problems'. Jealous of a 10 year old? Fucking stop.

Anyway. This is a cute anime, and it is pretty read more