Jumyou wo Kaitotte Moratta. Ichinen ni Tsuki, Ichimanen de.
I sold my life for ten thousand yen per year.
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Jumyou wo Kaitotte Moratta. Ichinen ni Tsuki, Ichimanen de.

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Mikkakan no Koufuku, Three Days of Happiness
Japanese: 寿命を買い取ってもらった。一年につき、一万円で。
English: I sold my life for ten thousand yen per year.
German: Ich habe mein Leben für 10.000 Yen pro Jahr verkauft
French: Le Prix du reste de ma vie
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 3
Chapters: 18
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 10, 2016 to Oct 25, 2017
Genre: Drama Drama
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Serialization: Shounen Jump+
Authors: Taguchi, Shouichi (Art), Miaki, Sugaru (Story)

Statistics

Score: 8.801 (scored by 6613766,137 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #322
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #70
Members: 124,858
Favorites: 10,892

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary Show Spoilers
Dec 21, 2017
Major_Gilbert (All reviews)
Have you ever randomly searched for a manga by scrolling down the top manga list... Well I can tell you that you can find beautiful hidden gems like this. Currently ranked in the top 50s, at first I thought it was “overrated” like many others. I was wrong. Completely.

This manga is probably one of the best presentations of the harsh world we live in. The expectations from people for someone to achieve certain goals. The false hope that "something good" may happen at some point. The realization of the hidden thoughts of those around you.

Although it is relatively short, this is a very unique manga, read more
Feb 8, 2018
Unowen (All reviews)
Tales of simplicity have always pursued a universal theme, trying to evoke sentiments of genuineness and the empathy of the reader. “I sold my life for ten thousand yen per year” ultimately ends with a transparent attempt of capturing a message, but the means it uses to get to this point completely deny any sense of authenticity this might have pretended to transmit.

Youth is a complicated age. Time to make decisions, to face a myriad of risks and to move on, it usually never comes in the way one was expecting it. Overall, what mostly matters is trying. This manga introduces us to a fairly read more
Dec 25, 2017
legendofgong (All reviews)
What is true happiness? It seems like such a simple question yet no matter how hard I myself tried, I couldn’t answer it truthfully. I could say that it is the feeling I got a week ago when I completed all my finals, yet I would be lying as I barely felt anything. It could be the increase in dopamine in my body after quickly downing 8 shots of vodka, but the last time I did that it just made me want to puke my heart out. In the end, the happiness I experience seems fleeting - almost as if it comes in short bursts read more
Jan 21, 2018
verytiredboi (All reviews)
We are prisoners to the things we think we need.

Is it possible to die satisfied? Surely we will all have doubts, the "I wish I'd done this", as we contemplate all the things we could've done differently had we known how short and unforgiving life truly is. However, if you were given a timestamp what would you do? How would YOU live out your given amount of days? Doesn't it seem futile? You're going to eventually die anyway, so why even bother? Is there any point in living in the first place?

This is the true mystery of life; we all know we will die someday read more
May 4, 2021
tarunann (All reviews)
for me, this manga is somwhat good.

Presenting a real modern real life problems, then mixing it up with a touch of fantasy "what if i sell my lifespan", then we get this as a story.

maybe this manga wasnt and can never be one of my favs, but i am making sure it is one the story progression and meanings I will remember. It is not too bad and also not over the top, a so so.

i like this, and hoping for whoever read this manga(and the novel) would cherrish their lifes more. by any mean, this is not a despairing manga.
Feb 22, 2020
flowstate (All reviews)
This is what making it as a creative looks like. To be able to use this level of creative storytelling, character development and art to capture the proper emotions and to convey such an important message to impact readers in the way that this series does is nothing short of mastery.

I had no intention of going through this all in a day, but I had to finish what was unfolding before me. I also had no intention of writing this review, but here I am. It is my job to not let anyone reading this review pass up on this series, and I will tell read more
Mar 1, 2021
Ringtomb (All reviews)
This manga confuses me, because it plays with interesting ideas but comes to a very milk toast conclusion. Of course reading it was never boring or tiring for me, which is a given noting that its very short, but I expected a lot more from this because small details are all the more important when you're aiming for short media. I definitely recommend it because I can see a lot of people enjoying it, I just wanted to outline my thoughts on it before I move on to something else.

So it starts out with a guy who is told he can sell his lifespan for read more
Nov 8, 2020
rinmin (All reviews)
It looks like I am the one with a very unpopular opinion here, but I unfortunately found this manga to be very subpar. I went in hearing so many good things about it, I really wanted to enjoy this - I truly, genuinely did.

But what I read didn't feel anything like what was described to me. The story of the main two were somewhat soft and cute, but it stops at just that. I had to force myself to continue every chapter, with the only thing pulling me forward was just wanting to find out what was going to happen at the very end.

Personally, the read more
Nov 2, 2021
gamgades (All reviews)
Spoilers!

What’s so beautiful about this story is the subjective understanding of what happiness is, and what gives life meaning. We find the main character, Kusunoki, at a failing point in his life, where to find any enjoyment out of the life he no longer cares for, he decides to sell the rest of his life away. Ultimately, the story transitions to one of reconciliation in the face of tragedy between Kusunoki and Miyagi. The build up to their relationship is beautifully developed, to the point where I truly didn’t even expect there to be a read more
Jul 9, 2017
xGama (All reviews)
Preliminary
I decided to read this manga on a whim and read up to the 12 chapters that had been released at the time in one sitting. From the very moment it pulls you into a world where the supernatural aspect of selling your life feels well established and natural to the progression of the story.

The feeling of a depressed and desolate 20 year old man can be felt through his actions and dialogue and the way the author has drawn the world around him makes it feel empty and desolate. This feel is established from the very outset with the mc selling all his stuff read more
Aug 15, 2021
ThotPatrol10 (All reviews)
Very wakapog


H-hey,
D-Don't play with my feelings! What the fvck is the meaning of this,man?
Just what the fvck???
Man it was full of happyness and wholesomeness,YOU SOLD IT ALL!
YOU SOLD MY FEELINGS,MY HAPPYNESS!!!!!!!
Damn dude just why...WHYYYY GODDAMN IT

read more
Jul 6, 2021
NextUniverse (All reviews)
I honestly don't have a lot to say hence why short. Also, this is another extremely late upload relative to when I have finished reading this.

It seems everywhere you go there is that pessimistic title for you to watch or read in this medium. It goes with no question as to why, sometimes the dark things in life get the most of us, so obviously people can relate (I honestly have no clue why they exist tho, you are asking the wrong person). In any case, the whole theme of someone being at the bottom of the barrel in their life seems to be loved read more
Jul 1, 2021
Nagatotoro (All reviews)
"Deep down, I could be glad I lived."

(WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS)

"Jumyou wo Kaitotte Moratta. Ichinen ni Tsuki, Ichimanen de." is a manga of 18 chapters written by Sugaru Miaki, very short indeed, but that will still manage to stay in your heart forever, with a wonderful message that will change how you see life.

The plot is pretty simple: The protagonist, Kusunoki, is an adult unsatisfied with life who can't seem to forget his childhood friend Himeno, whom he promised to marry after he would become famous in his adulthood. However Kusunoki is very far from being a celebrity, and he in fact is read more
May 22, 2021
ironandschwarz (All reviews)
God. Damn.

I stumbled across a screenshot of this manga on social media, and so I did what usually do at 3 am when I find a promising manga - I binged the entire thing in one sitting.

And holy shit was that an incredible read. Where do I begin?

Enter Kusunoki, a man with nothing to lose, nor anything to gain in his life - and in a couple hasty decisions that no sane person would usually make, he puts a ticking time bomb on his life for a small wad of cash - but again, he's got nothing to lose, nor anything to gain, so fuck read more
May 10, 2021
GuitarJunkie996 (All reviews)
I've never written a single review ever. I've watched and read loads of stuff but i mostly refrain from doing stuff like this. I'm just not good with words i guess. So i'm gonna say this beforehand, this isn't gonna be comprehensive review about this manga, rather it's gonna be about how i came to read this and how the me who just finished this manga minutes ago is feeling. I woke up this morning from a really bad dream. Ever since waking up i just felt like dropping everything and going off somewhere without a destination. I just felt empty. Just logged into MAL read more
Apr 13, 2021
Debesuotas (All reviews)
Ill be frank, this manga is misjudged by so many people. There is even tragedy tag on it...

SPOILERS BELOW



To the point - this manga is very different from what the story looks like at the first glance.
Money, time, sold lifespan all of these are symbols used by the author to tell the story.

The actual story is nothing but the imagination of MC. The first 2 chapters where the author introduce us with MC and leads him to Miyagi are the introduction - a love story between the two starts there when he meets Miyagi and she gives him 300k. The money should be read more
Aug 21, 2017
AeroSN (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my very first review, as usually I just too lazy to review even the best series I think. But, I just can't help seeing this masterpiece didn't even get the attention it should. So, here it is:

Warning! Contains minor spoiler.

Story 9/10 - It's about a guy who were worthless to society and ended up selling his 30 years of life. Times by 10K (as the title mentioned), thus, he get his ¥300,000. And so, the story about how he spend his ¥300,000 start... or so it seemed.

The tours that the author gave were really made you forget your time reading it. It read more
Jan 25, 2021
Realhumanbean (All reviews)
As it's known by its English title, "I sold my life for ten thousand yen per year" did hardly anything for me despite how high my expectations were of it. Granted, I did not read the novel that this is based on, so I can't comment on it as a whole, but just going off of this manga, this was a huge disappointment. I was recommended it by many of my close friends, but I fail to see what any of them assumed I'd enjoy out of this.

STORY: 5/10

The story is the definition of mediocre. It has a premise straight out of the tripe read more
Apr 7, 2021
SrMcChicken (All reviews)
Manga is literature ~Natsuki

The superiority of quality over quantity is described not only by the story, but even at the meta level, being only 18 chapters, or 16 if not counting the extras. Clear and concise chapters, not necessarily brimming with story or art, but having a perfect balance between positive and negative space; Masterpiece would not be the best term for it, rather a flower blooming just before it wilts, throughout its short life producing an immense amount of beauty. Similarly, through its storytelling, the manga portrays the beauty of simplicity, but beyond that, human connection. In psychology, the Self Determination Theory states that read more
Mar 26, 2021
veemon23 (All reviews)
Found this when going down the MAL top manga that isn't too long but shorter ones to read. Been trying to read ones that never got anime adaptation as I don't have a lot of manga on my list. And boy was I glad I found this one.

What would you do with the time you have remaining? Knowing not how much time we have left, I was glad I could've read this beautiful story that deals with such. If you love romance and just want a good sweet story with a lot of feels, I would say this is one to pick up. I read more