Jumyou wo Kaitotte Moratta. Ichinen ni Tsuki, Ichimanen de.
I sold my life for ten thousand yen per year.
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Jumyou wo Kaitotte Moratta. Ichinen ni Tsuki, Ichimanen de.

Alternative Titles

English: I sold my life for ten thousand yen per year.
Synonyms: Mikkakan no Koufuku, Three Days of Happiness
Japanese: 寿命を買い取ってもらった。一年につき、一万円で。

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 3
Chapters: 18
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 10, 2016 to Oct 25, 2017
Genres: DramaDrama, ShounenShounen
Authors: Taguchi, Shouichi (Art), Miaki, Sugaru (Story)
Serialization: Shounen Jump+

Statistics

Score: 8.721 (scored by 1671916,719 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #412
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #225
Members: 34,535
Favorites: 2,622

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2017
Major_Gilbert (All reviews)
Have you ever randomly searched for a manga by scrolling down the top manga list... Well I can tell you that you can find beautiful hidden gems like this. Currently ranked in the top 50s, at first I thought it was “overrated” like many others. I was wrong. Completely.

This manga is probably one of the best presentations of the harsh world we live in. The expectations from people for someone to achieve certain goals. The false hope that "something good" may happen at some point. The realization of the hidden thoughts of those around you.

Although it is relatively short, this is a very unique manga, read more
Feb 8, 2018
Unowen (All reviews)
Tales of simplicity have always pursued a universal theme, trying to evoke sentiments of genuineness and the empathy of the reader. “I sold my life for ten thousand yen per year” ultimately ends with a transparent attempt of capturing a message, but the means it uses to get to this point completely deny any sense of authenticity this might have pretended to transmit.

Youth is a complicated age. Time to make decisions, to face a myriad of risks and to move on, it usually never comes in the way one was expecting it. Overall, what mostly matters is trying. This manga introduces us to a fairly read more
Dec 25, 2017
legendofgong (All reviews)
What is true happiness? It seems like such a simple question yet no matter how hard I myself tried, I couldn’t answer it truthfully. I could say that it is the feeling I got a week ago when I completed all my finals, yet I would be lying as I barely felt anything. It could be the increase in dopamine in my body after quickly downing 8 shots of vodka, but the last time I did that it just made me want to puke my heart out. In the end, the happiness I experience seems fleeting - almost as if it comes in short bursts read more
Jan 21, 2018
verytiredboi (All reviews)
We are prisoners to the things we think we need.

Is it possible to die satisfied? Surely we will all have doubts, the "I wish I'd done this", as we contemplate all the things we could've done differently had we known how short and unforgiving life truly is. However, if you were given a timestamp, what would you do? How would YOU live out your X amount of days? Doesn't it seem futile? You're going to eventually die anyways, so why even bother? Is there any point to living in the first place?

Such, this is the true mystery of life; we all know we will die read more
Feb 22, 2020
flowstate (All reviews)
This is what making it as a creative looks like. To be able to use this level of creative storytelling, character development and art to capture the proper emotions and to convey such an important message to impact readers in the way that this series does is nothing short of mastery.

I had no intention of going through this all in a day, but I had to finish what was unfolding before me. I also had no intention of writing this review, but here I am. It is my job to not let anyone reading this review pass up on this series, and I will tell read more
Jul 9, 2017
xGama (All reviews)
Preliminary
I decided to read this manga on a whim and read up to the 12 chapters that had been released at the time in one sitting. From the very moment it pulls you into a world where the supernatural aspect of selling your life feels well established and natural to the progression of the story.

The feeling of a depressed and desolate 20 year old man can be felt through his actions and dialogue and the way the author has drawn the world around him makes it feel empty and desolate. This feel is established from the very outset with the mc selling all his stuff read more
Aug 21, 2017
AeroSN (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my very first review, as usually I just too lazy to review even the best series I think. But, I just can't help seeing this masterpiece didn't even get the attention it should. So, here it is:

Warning! Contains minor spoiler.

Story 9/10 - It's about a guy who were worthless to society and ended up selling his 30 years of life. Times by 10K (as the title mentioned), thus, he get his ¥300,000. And so, the story about how he spend his ¥300,000 start... or so it seemed.

The tours that the author gave were really made you forget your time reading it. It read more
Feb 1, 2018
UnbeBleeder (All reviews)
Before I start, I have to say that this story made me sick to my stomach... And I wish I could be sick once more because the author's thoughts are so accurately portrayed you find yourself if only for a second, becoming the characters.

The story is given to you in the first chapter with enough mystery laced through to keep you interested and because of this, as a reader, I found myself fighting the ending. You know what the future holds, and you want to run. Story - Absolutely god tier 10/10

Art gets the job done. Nothing stellar so 8-9/10. (9 because I love read more
Feb 10, 2019
Senayaa (All reviews)
have you really think about what will you do if you know that you only have few days to live ?

i found this manga while scrolling through the top manga list and i was quite surprised to see a 16 chapters manga to be on the top list.
since it's not that much, i decided to read it in hopes to have a relaxing day reading something that is worth the time and oh boy i would say that i would sell my lifespan just to have an alternate version of the main characters not in the same state as they are in the manga.

this manga read more
Jan 20, 2020
WolffSama (All reviews)
[Minor Spoilers]
Do your best for yourself but look around too.

I didn’t think these 18 chapters would hit me so hard, the relation between Kusunoki and Miyagi is so gentle but also so tender, they’re both in some kind of pain, lost in their own lives, without no one to rely. The rules about selling your life span isn’t really clear so you kind of feel tense about it, who buys it?

At first, I thought that this story was a tragedy, but that was just an idea of what happiness is, after thinking about it, doesn’t matter how much it hurts, having someone to feel that read more
Dec 29, 2018
Draco_the_Dragon (All reviews)
No action, no intensity, no blood and no fanservice...but somehow this managed to get into my favourites section. I haven't really read that many manga but I have watched over 100 anime and that maybe a large number or an insignificant number depending on how much you watched but all I can say for certain is, if you enjoy slow but well paced and unique stories with loveable characters then you'll definitely enjoy this.

I don't want to go into detail about the plot and characters and whatnot because I know no one likes those long reviews and unless you have nothing to do you probably read more
Dec 12, 2018
unhealme_ (All reviews)
First i read this manga i think what's the point of making this manga have Psychological genre. Sometimes i think about writing story too and this manga has what i think about story that i wrote. This is kind of like same thought. Then i was really impressed how that this story done through. But still, i feels bad for Himeno seriously.

Story :

I'm just tell that the storymaking is almost same as i thought, So that was certain that make me impressed.

Art :

Just like some of good drawing in my opinion.

Character :

This is the point that i feel the same thought as mine. read more
Apr 15, 2018
IMainYasu0 (All reviews)
Short but sweet manga on what value your life holds.
Advice to readers that aren't gna read the whole thing: savour the read, don't speed through it.

Story: Interesting hook that lead to a story with quite the melancholic feels. Pretty solid story that had its ups and downs.

Art: It wasn't anything special but I felt like the style fit the narrative quite well. Looking back, many of the frames were blank backgrounds but maybe that actually fits the story more contextually, as it is a character driven story with where they are located less important.

Character: MC is probably relatable to some degree. Hard read more
Dec 30, 2019
steamed_clams (All reviews)
Story: 9/10 The premise was quite interesting if unrealistic, and I found the story to be moving and deep despite there not really being much of a plot. I suppose you could call it heartbreaking.

Art: 7/10. Honestly, this is probably the only reason why the overall rating isn't a 10/10. The art is mediocre, and not particularly memorable.

Character: 10/10. Kusunoki and Himeno were intriguing characters, and their interactions were enjoyable. The philosophical questions they ask themselves are the defining factor of this manga, and despite their story, which can only be called a tragedy, they find happiness in each other.

Enjoyment: 10/10. Very enjoyable and read more
Jan 17, 2020
nic016 (All reviews)
Ranked 35th highest rated manga on MAL, I decided to give this a shot at only 18 chapters. Here is my review:

Story: The story is very good, I scored it an 8. Since this is such a highly rated manga, I'll focus on why I only scored it an 8 and not a 10 like most other reviewers. First, at 18 chapters, it could have been a little bit longer, and developed the relationship between the two characters a bit more, or delve into each others emotions about the people in their past. I thoroughly enjoyed how the author brought the two together, and the read more
Mar 12, 2020
verybadvibes (All reviews)
I bought this when I saw it online because I had some extra money to spend and this seemed interesting, so why not. I unfortunately have to stay that I regret spending such money on this manga.
The premise was intriguing, but rather than making a good seinen out of it, the author went for a cheap, subpar love story. If it ended there, this may have been a solid 5 going for a 5.5 (the only problem there would have been the boring work of the I'm assuming novice artist). But the author managed to make it worse by adding an even cheaper, predictable read more
Jul 3, 2019
TheMercifulGuard (All reviews)
I am going to be rather short for this one.

There comes a time where a work of art just brings this ever-swirling vortex of emotion or thoughts into being. When the last page transpired before my eyes I was simply astounded inside, not the kind of awe you get from something exhilarating or inspiring, but rather, it leaves a truth that we should all etch into our minds : Life is shorter than we think. Every second can be endowed with endless possibilities. In a span of time so short, one can achieve more than he/she can even think of, even if it would read more
Jul 1, 2019
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
tl;dr: A manga about the value of life that conveys its message really well by tying it into a well-developed relationship. 

This manga is centered around the value of life, particularly what it is that gives it value and how such value can be measured and evaluated. Hence, it is certainly exploring philosophical matters to a degree, though ultimately, I would say that in terms of how profound it is, I didn’t find it particularly deep. The core message seemed to revolve around life being something that the value of can change, which is pretty standard in stories about how it’s worth it to continue living. I read more
Apr 6, 2018
Imamura_Izumi (All reviews)
If you were able to exchange your lifespan, time, or health for money, would you do it? It was just a couple of hours ago that I stumbled upon this manga while scrolling down the top manga list, the synopsis completely captured my attention. So after 16 chapters (17 including chapter 8.5, still don't know what the 18th chapter is according to the info on MAL), here is my review of Three days of Happiness.

Story:
Needless to say, the story concept fascinates me to no end. The idea of being able to exchange your lifespan for something else is interesting enough, now being able to actually read more
Nov 29, 2018
RainbowSlowmo (All reviews)
So I stumbled across this gold mine whilst I finally checked the "top manga" list and seeing as it was only 18 chapters with such a high scoring I thought "wow.. this is either a very deep story or someone broke the score..." and it turned out to be quite a interesting and deep story.

The entire story is based on just one question... "What is my life worth?" As we go through the story the MC from the beginning has dead set, set his sights on ending his life with doing very little in his end days approaching. Then enter the main female character Miyagi... read more