Forum Settings
Forums
New
May 5, 2009 2:35 AM

Apr 2009
Right, I'm not interested in if you pay for music or download. I'm interested in the ethical debate around it. I pay for it myself a lot but find it unethical that it should for an example. My position of it is largely by the argument that 'the artist should be rewarded for hard work' is bollocks, making music still is largely recreation and you're lucky to get any money for your hobby. Get a real job if you want money and indeed I'm a musician myself.

Secondly, to buy music is largely a hoax as you have not bought the music at all as you don't 'own' the music. To own some-thing more or less means that you can do any-thing you want with it provided you don't hurt others. Apparently of the music you just bought you can't even play it at a club then without paying more. You don't own it, you lease it at max. You own the case, the CD itself, but not the informational content on the CD. And of standard trite jewel cases and CD's most people have enough.

Also, then you have the 'support the artist' argument, that's just fanboyism really. I have no need nor drive to support people whom I don't even know like most people. That I like one's music doesn't mean I like one as a person in contrast to about the entire planet. So really, no.

Discuss.
This topic has been locked and is no longer available for discussion.
Pages (2) [1] 2 »
May 5, 2009 2:48 AM

Dec 2007
I download everything.

I own a lot of old LPs, that I had to download so I could listen to them in the computer (and other variations), but those don't count.

However I am a fangirl and when I fangirlize I spend a lot of money supporting artist(s). And sometimes I buy an EP out of pity when I watch a debut show and they look really desperate to be listened. And stuff I just like to own, like the old LPs of Broadway musicals (which I collect, they are fun)