Forum Settings
Forums
New
Nov 29, 2007 3:35 PM

Nov 2007
From hashihime's blog comes the (rough) translation for Minorin's three blog posts about her first visit to the good ol' U.S. of A. Visit her (maybe his?) blog's archive containing the translations if you also want to see the small pictures from the original blog alongside the entry (somewhere near the last ¼ of that archive page). Otherwise, here are her chronicles:

Day 1 (Friday, June 29th)

It was scary, but we've landed safely in Los Angeles! We're in the car on the way to Long Beach. It's my first time overseas! The roads are so wide. The sky seems limitless, and bright blue. All the road signs are in English! All the cars are left-hand drive!! And there are so many beautiful golden-haired sexy people!!!

In all this, I have a strange feeling of excitement. I just can't calm down. And I'm still not used to the time difference, so my body feels almost anesthetized.

Today, the SOS-Dan were guests in a panel discussion. The people in the hall could just go and line up at a mic and ask us whatever they wanted.

I've never experienced an event like this in Japan. I was nervous, wondering what questions they would ask. Some people did their best to ask questions in Japanese.

I was moved by the love for Haruhi coming from their hearts. I don't understand English, so I had to depend on the translator, but I am really grateful for the precious opportunity to see their faces and feel their feelings. Today I really know that this show is loved across borders. Tomorrow I will return their feelings with my songs.

The whole staff went out to dinner at a beautiful restaurant. I ordered my favorite dish, prawns. That's a prawn! A prawn! ...not really. It's a lobster!! It was enormous! ... People there said: "That's not so big."

America is on a different scale.

Day 2 (Saturday, June 30th)

This morning I ate "the first watermelon of the season" from the buffet at the cafe. It was sweet and delicious.