Forum Settings
Forums

Why do you study Japanese? - And, how did you come to start learning it?

Pages (2) [1] 2 »
Must be a Club Member to Reply 
Jan 19, 2009 12:04 AM

Is it to understand anime and manga, a hobby, do you plan to utilize it in your career, etc. That's the focus of this topic.

For me, I'm studying for a number of reasons. I'd have to say that, when I was a little kid, Chinese characters always intrigued me and was something I thought would be cool to know. But, being a little kid I had no clue about it. I grew up liking things like Final Fantasy, Pokemon, Dragon Ball Z, and the like. Naturally, this got me interested in Japan. I remember a picture book I had that had some Japanese words in the back of it. The book was a book about Japanese culture. I remember only how interesting I thought it was.

In middle school, I became friends with my current friend Adam, who had lived the first few years of his life in Japan. It is from him that I got a lead on how to get into Japanese. I borrowed a book from him (Japanese for Busy People) and started learning the hiragana and some basic phrases. Japanese writing is what hooked me. I love the cryptic appearance of the characters, and I love how they mix kana and kanji. It's the best of two forms of writing (meaning and phonetics). Unfortunately, I was still pretty young, and unmotivated to do anything. So it was on and off that I would learn random words and kept practicing hiragana.

In my last semester of high school I decided to get serious about it. I start scouring the Internet for resources to start learning. I would write over and over several phrases and words hoping that the next day I'd remember them. This wasn't the case. But, I kept at it.