Forum Settings
Forums

Now that MAL badges is dead, we need a new alternative

New
Should MAL make their own badging system like this?
Pages (2) « 1 [2]
Dec 4, 2022 9:57 AM

Nov 2019

I see, alrighty then.

Dec 5, 2022 1:07 PM
Raw Gamer

Apr 2016
Koito91 said:

To avoid any misunderstandings, I went to Jikan_ as a user and not as MAL as we Mods are not involved in dev-things and if they ever consider it, it will take a while and I'm already happy that we're getting more updates lately which is shown in Announcements.
I just want to host it separately (without ads or memberships, free etc...) just as it was and bring some updates in it that you mentioned here as I'm a coder myself.

I am very happy about this. I can't wait to see how this turns out!
Dec 5, 2022 8:42 PM
Aug 2018
Koito91 said:
Just in case, I'm currently in talk with Jikan_ to host it.
Maybe we can also implement some ideas _cjessop19_ had in here.

Please make it open source.
Dec 8, 2022 10:38 PM

Jul 2015
-Ryoto- said:

But honestly, considering there are threads asking for Dark Mode as far back as 2013 and we have nothing of sort, it kind of makes me wonder if this will ever happen.

I remember reading somewhere that Dark Mode would require some fundamental changes to the code or changes to every individual page or something that made it a massive undertaking. So it's not that it takes the devs several years to get something done, it more depends on the size of the job. In fact, I think the deciding factors in if/when this idea (or anything else, I guess) gets implemented are:
1a. How much do users want it?
Evidently, a lot. mal-badges.net was apparently getting 50,000-60,000 views a month (https://www.similarweb.com/website/mal-badges.net/#overview)

1b. How much do the devs care what users say they want?