Forum Settings
Forums

Now that MAL badges is dead, we need a new alternative

New
Should MAL make their own badging system like this?
Nov 26, 2022 6:56 AM

Nov 2018
BIG EDIT: MAL-Badges is back up, please check out the MAL-Badges club for link to website and new updates for the new features and updates we'll be adding soon: https://myanimelist.net/clubs.php?cid=74510

EDIT: Google spreadsheet of how points and badges can be earned. Please go through this document once you've read this post: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1KIT0KaceKrY6AgR0m8rC2O_4ObqT4UDq3lP5Y4ZXGmY/edit?usp=sharing

(Please check back once in a while as I will be adding more suggestions at the bottom as I come up with more ideas)

MAL badges was a cool way to see how people were ranked against others in terms of their progression with their lists. I've been using the site since the start of 2019, I believe several thousands of people used it as well.

But now some dickhead has taken over the site and has permanently closed it whilst plugging his own DB website (an alternative to MAL apparently).

http://www.mal-badges.net/

We need an alternative, and since the site has shut down, I think MAL has a good reason to capitalize on this gap in the market and make their own badging system that is different to the badges we get from events. Something that works in tandem with our anime and manga lists. I believe this can be a successful and well-received feature if done right. And this doesn't have to be a third-party feature.

MAL can take advantage of this by taking what was originally there and implementing new features.
For example: