Forum Settings
Forums

Is it okay to read unofficial transliterations?

New
Nov 21, 2022 2:07 AM
Jul 2018
I've been reading cote ln recently but I noticed that it only has officially translation upto Y2V3.But it's originally released upto Y2V8.I don't wanna to wait for it for it to be translated officially so I've been thinking about reading unofficial transliterations but I never read any unofficial transliterations before so I've been wondering if is it okay to read it.So I wanna know your opinion about unofficial transliterations.
removed-userNov 21, 2022 2:12 AM
Nov 21, 2022 2:44 AM

Oct 2013
It's ok. It's not like everyone here only watch/read legally. Just spare some money to authors if you like their works.
Nov 21, 2022 6:14 AM

May 2021
If you're asking about whether it is legal, that depends by country. Many places only legally pursue the distributor of the fan translations, not the person reading them, but I am not a legal expert by any means and it really varies by country.

I always go for the legal translations unless none exist (like Shadows House for the longest time, and RE:Life still has no official translation in my country years later), but that's just me and I know most people don't mind even if official translations exist and are readily accessible.
Nov 21, 2022 6:15 AM

Sep 2020
Is it okay to watch unofficial anime on third-party websites? If that's okay for you, then your question is answered.

Arteta's Tricky Reds!

Nov 21, 2022 6:19 AM
💎💎💎💎

Aug 2020
a lot of unoffical translations are out on the internet by groups who encourage buying the original copy of the manga (to support the mangaka) itself. i think it's fine honestly

the day i died was
the day i started to live
Nov 22, 2022 8:15 AM

Mar 2022