Forum Settings
Forums

Dark Mode and Anime List Cover Art Resize

New
Jan 17, 2022 1:25 AM
Dec 2018
As the title suggest, I have two recommendations that would significantly improve MAL's UI.

Firstly, I recommend adding a dark mode. I am not a web designer by any means, but I can't imagine this is the most difficult thing to add. And even if it is, it would certainly be worth the effort. Yes there are some third party extensions that do this, but I do not trust these and/or they do not work flawlessly.

Secondly, I would recommend resizing the cover art for anime when viewing them in the anime list. When viewing your anime list, the cover art for the anime is extremely small and there is a lot of wasted space to the left and right of the list. This space could be used for much larger cover art, making it more clear which anime I'm looking at since I don't remember most of the Japanese names (or english for that matter) of shows on my list. This could also be implemented as a customization setting, allowing users to choose how to structure their lists.

The addition of these two straightforward changes would do a lot to improve the site without requiring massive UI changes. I personally like how simple the UI for MAL is, it just lacks a few of the quality of life features of other sites.

Jan 17, 2022 1:38 AM

Nov 2019
Dark mode is not coming around for a while, it's been addressed several times over the past 10 years. There are some nice user created extensions that have dark-mode for MAL though
Jan 17, 2022 1:47 AM
Dec 2018
Why not?
Jan 17, 2022 4:52 AM

Jan 2021
Dark mode on mal would be nice addition, don't see it happening soon though
Jan 17, 2022 11:55 AM
Dec 2018