Forum Settings
Forums

Politicization of the Western anime community

New
Jul 27, 2020 2:17 AM

Apr 2012
In the last 2-3 years, I began to notice that Western fandom is becoming more and more politically obsessed every year. As a psychologist, I understand very well about things like cultural or social differences, but I just don't understand why every second show should necessarily be judged in terms of American politics and lifestyle.

People ignore the whole peculiarity of the Japanese attitude towards gender, demanding that all otokonoko be considered transsexual characters, try to turn any action with a female lead into a feminist preaching, find references to the Holocaust in fantasy grimdark like Goblin Slayer and so on. Not to mention, politics is increasingly being used as a loophole in in-fandom controversy. For example, I constantly see people refer to feminism as a weird excuse for wanting more all-female titles (it won't be a problem for you to find serious articles that find feminist representation in shows like K-ON! or Love Live) or defending yuri ships.

So why is this happening? Is Western society itself obsessed with politics? Or is it some specific trend in the Western fandom? Why?
This topic has been locked and is no longer available for discussion.
Pages (6) [1] 2 3 » ... Last »
Jul 27, 2020 2:36 AM

Oct 2019
I feel like people want to sound smart and convince others that what they are watching is "serious and "deep" so they just make it political even if is just mindless entertainment.
Jul 27, 2020 2:44 AM

Dec 2015
I won't participate since I have little to contribute to this discussion. But I noticed this as an overall western internet people trend, rather than something circumscribed to the limited circle of western anime consumers.
Jul 27, 2020 2:50 AM

Apr 2012
Shoko664 said: