Forum Settings
Forums

Is piracy killing or helping the anime industry?

New
Dec 19, 2019 6:55 AM
Dec 2019
Is piracy killing or helping the anime industry?
Pages (3) [1] 2 3 »
Dec 19, 2019 7:10 AM
Jul 2018
I'm by no means an expert on the subject, but many people who are claim that piracy actually has a positive effect for both producers and consumers. A healthy amount forces legal services to improve. I don't condone it, but pirating anime is absolutely not killing the industry.
Dec 19, 2019 7:18 AM

Apr 2015
In no way is it at least helping. You'd be living in delusion, if you think piracy is good and what creators want.
Dec 19, 2019 7:32 AM

Feb 2016
Neither. Current streaming service is atrocious as some anime are exclusive for certain platforms and of course, not every good anime will be on one site. It would help if at least these services get old anime on their sites, but Afaik, only netflix has done this.

Let's compare it to piracy in games, in my case, I use to pirate first to either A: See if it runs or B: If I end up liking it. Then I buy the game, same would apply if I get the chance to buy the BD for an Anime I really liked (that, or official merchandise), which, in my opinion, helps way better than paying a monthly sub for a streaming service that doens't have much to offer.
"We could make the world better, but it's easier to just shut our eyes."
~Blackwall
Dec 19, 2019 7:34 AM
Jul 2018
Piracy has helped popularize anime and manga in the west, but today it gets in the way of the industry, since they finally realized that we also have money to spend.
Dec 19, 2019 7:36 AM

Jan 2013
Neither. It isn't really helpful, but there is little to no harm in it.

After all, if services aren't interested in licensing a show for certain areas, there's little to no way to watch it legally. And no, importing untranslated 60 $ blu-ray boxes that contain 2 episodes each isn't a viable way for most people to watch a show.
Dec 19, 2019 7:41 AM

Jul 2016