Forum Settings
Forums
New
Oct 20, 2019 6:24 PM
Oct 2019
I'm new to anime...sort of! I mean, I've watched Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh. I watched this anime called Sword Art Online which was awesome and very different from what I've watched before and it made me want to dive more into anime to see what is there.

From Sword Art Online I moved on to Is It Wrong to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon. I am almost done with the first season. I love fantasy rpgs, knights vs monsters, magic etc. It's all so fun. I hope there's much more of that genre out there as I learn more of it.

I wish it wasn't so confusing though. I have no clue what's out there, and some anime have more than one name or version. But I won't digress too much.

So anyways, as I said, I'm new, feel free to shorten my username to Eryn if easier. I am enjoying anime so far, and would love to speak with others too as long as there's no spoilery stuff. :)
EryngiumOct 20, 2019 6:50 PM
Oct 20, 2019 6:46 PM
ᴛʜʀᴇᴀᴅ★ʀᴇᴀᴘᴇʀ

Dec 2018
Welcome to MyAnimeList!
If you want to see more of what anime has to offer, it's a good idea to check out the much older looking shows as well as new ones. Probably weird to say, but there are people who specifically avoid older anime (which is sad because there's obviously some great shows made all the way back then).

Another good way to find out about more anime is to go to the Database page for each anime that you're familiar with and checking out the "Recommendations" tab. This section will have other anime that other users say is pretty similar to the anime page that you're looking at.
For example, if you look at the "Recommendations" page for DanMachi (click here to see it), you can find many other anime that are similar to it, such as KonoSuba, Log Horizon, and of course, SAO.
That's how I usually learn about other anime, so maybe that tip should help you too!