Forum Settings
Forums

Google CEO says regulating tech could have ‘unintended consequences’

New
Jun 14, 2019 1:49 PM
Jan 2013
Source: https://www.cnbc.com/2019/06/14/google-ceo-says-regulating-tech-could-have-unintended-consequences.html

So, Google censors content, which makes it a publisher.

But it denies the legal liability of a publisher, claiming to be a public square.

While also denying the responsibility to uphold the 1st amendment of a public square.

Does that cover it, Sundar Pichai?
"How am I supposed to face the problem when the problem is my face?" - W.Lui

"A real man forgives a woman for her lies." - Sanji

"First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes adults flying through a portal in the sky." - NettoSaito

"I'm not a newbie it's just that I only registered a few days ago." - A newbie
This topic has been locked and is no longer available for discussion.
Jun 14, 2019 4:00 PM

Nov 2008
Unattended consequences? This is nothing more than desperation from a company that did what their old rule discouraged (Do no evil).

Jun 14, 2019 9:03 PM

Jan 2009
make social media a public utility already so the right wing can all have the freedom of speech/expression they want but at the cost of strict regulation for fake news and such
Jun 15, 2019 12:58 AM

Feb 2010
deg said:
make social media a public utility already so the right wing can all have the freedom of speech/expression they want but at the cost of strict regulation for fake news and such

That would require aknowleging the internet as a public utility good luck with that
"among monsters and humans, there are only two types.
Those who undergo suffering and spread it to others. And those who undergo suffering and avoid giving it to others." -Alice
“Beauty is no quality in things themselves: It exists merely in the mind which contemplates them; and each mind perceives a different beauty.” David Hume