Forum Settings
Forums

is pointing out logical errors (fallacies) makes an argument invalid?

New
is pointing out logical errors makes the argument invalid?
Nov 21, 2018 11:41 AM

Jan 2009
so ye people on internet arguments likes to talk about logical fallacies

but why though? in a normal or casual conversation you do not say this fallacies to begin with

i voted i do not know
degNov 21, 2018 11:44 PM
Nov 21, 2018 11:49 AM

May 2018
internet arguments

You see, there's already a problem here.
Nov 21, 2018 12:09 PM
Oct 2018
When I studied logic and reasoning in last year of college I came across stuff called fallacy . Though I don't remember much , I should say that their is limits to rationality .

Logic doesn't solve anything and is good enough to earn brownie points nothing more .

Raj is girl .
Girl is beautiful .
Raj is beautiful .

This kind of deduction on facts depend on the infallibility of the facts .

On the other hand I consider inference/induction to be a better means to logic but not a perfect one either .
MytrasNov 21, 2018 12:14 PM
Nov 21, 2018 12:12 PM

May 2013
No I mean, fallacies have their place. But just be careful not to fall back on them.

Nobody can stop you if you want to scream 'NONSENSCIAL STRAW MAN OLOL' every time you're faced with an opposing viewpoint.
I CELEBRATE myself,
And what I assume you shall assume,
For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you.
Nov 21, 2018 12:50 PM

Jul 2015
Fallacies, especially formal fallacies, make the argument invalid, but not necessarily the conclusion.
"my life at this state could be transposed into a pretty massive biography"

- Cneq, "the guy who was literally using BTC in 2012 to make deals in the first main instance of a digital itemized economy forming naturally in all human history (also the precursor of NFTs) and who had 20k+ total trades.", 23 years old

MAL's most prolific antivaxxer, Noboru.
Nov 21, 2018 12:53 PM

Jan 2009
Railey2 said: