Forum Settings
Forums
Jan 3, 5:10 AM

Ok, it's not like I'm new to anime. I'm not.

But during today's visit to the forums, I realized I had seen two terms that made no sense at all.

Ship and Lewd.

I kinda thought 'ship' was either a large naval vessel or something that Amazon does.

Lewd, not even sure I'm reading this one correct. Seems like another case of too embarrassed to use the actual word, so they just invent a replacement.

It's like 'fap'. What, is it too embarrassing to just say what you mean?

I guess it's not just anime. I get annoyed when new words are invented just to sound artificially cool. I'm a wordsmith. I'm a writer. Language is my tool of choice. I get annoyed when people mangle it I suppose.
Just living the life of an anime princess.

Jan 3, 5:14 AM

Except nothing about either of those are anime fandom specific...

Jan 3, 5:21 AM

it's more of a slang than jargon though. and, isn't lewd an actual word that can be used normally?

ot: no, not really. Unless anime character/s spout too much slang trying to act "cool," I wouldn't really mind other people using slang because I don't pay too much attention to anything that does not pique my interest.

"If beautiful women don’t celebrate their beauty, the entire human race loses out. Don’t you agree?”—Sonya

ƒ ♥♥

Jan 3, 5:24 AM
Diego Husbrando

I mean, lewd isn't fapping xD lewd just means, you are going to make some 18+ drawings of the character, not necessarily fap to it. Though, it has been used that way as well.

Anyway, it's jargon. You just have to get used to it. It's not about cool either, once you get used to it, it'll eventually come as natural to you.

Jan 3, 5:26 AM

Uh... Those two terms are not related to anime exclusively. They can be used anywhere.

Jan 3, 5:28 AM