Forum Settings
Forums

I'm a journalist doing an article for a major news site about people who watch anime at double speed (yes, really), and I want your thoughts

New
Nov 28, 2017 4:11 PM
Oct 2017
Hey everybody,

I'm Steven T. Wright, a freelance journalist and big anime fan. (Samurai Champloo still #1) I saw quite a number of people on both this forum and Reddit talking about their habit of watching anime at double-speed, and I'm now writing an article about it for a big outlet. (I'm also looking at why people document their media consumption in the first place and how some might view it as a competition.) My first topic got deleted due to somebody mistaking this thread for a meme/joke, but I assure you, this is a real thing. I know that a lot of people think that it's just a meme, but I've read enough threads and talked to enough people to conclude otherwise - some people really do watch anime at double-speed (or other non-1x speed), and I want to hear from you. If you're interested, I'd like you to consider these following questions. If you're not comfortable saying them publicly, feel free to message your response to me - I'm not picky.

1. When you think about your reasons for watching anime, is updating your list here at MAL an important factor?
2. Do you feel like somebody who has an impressive amount of shows watched commands your respect? How about the respect of the larger community?
3. Do you pay close attention to your total amount completed? Do you see it as a sort of friendly competition? Maybe less than friendly? Do you ever feel pressured to watch more anime that you otherwise would? Is that a good or bad thing?
4. Generally speaking, how far will you go to maximize your anime consumption? (It can be not very far at all, haha.) Anecdotes or stories might prove illustrative here.