Forum Settings
Forums
New
Pages (11) « First ... « 8 9 [10] 11 »
Oct 24, 2016 8:49 PM

Oct 2015
kitsune0 said:
@WraithAzula, there was donation page, but for some reasons (probably after selling the site to CraveOnline, former owners of MAL) it's been abandoned.

I see, thanks for that note. One does wonder if that was purposeful to shift income to a more steady flow, however from a business perspective this supporter thing is fairly odd. I'm no expert nor do I have the numbers behind the scenes, but logically this supporter thing doesn't make sense.
Oct 24, 2016 9:04 PM

Sep 2010
@WraithAzula, oh, believe me, it does, verily. I've seen this same exact situation on our local blog platform years ago. There was same exact arguments - that and also "besides, most of users are youngsters, they don't have money, nobody will be paying you just for some pretty features". Guess what, it worked anyway. Not enough to make site owner a millionaire, but still - supposedly penniless users somehow finding some money to pay - yes, just for some "pretty features".
And I guess having a donation page is somewhat shameful for big business - it's like "what, you can't make enough money yourself and forced to ask? Then you're bad businessmen and should just quit".

There is such thing as shit taste. Only idiots think that every "work of art" should have the same value.

Persona anime are good. Deal with it.
Oct 24, 2016 9:22 PM

Oct 2015
kitsune0 said:
@WraithAzula, oh, believe me, it does, verily. I've seen this same exact situation on our local blog platform years ago. There was same exact arguments - that and also "besides, most of users are youngsters, they don't have money, nobody will be paying you just for some pretty features". Guess what, it worked anyway. Not enough to make site owner a millionaire, but still - supposedly penniless users somehow finding some money to pay - yes, just for some "pretty features".