Forum Settings
Forums
Must be a Club Member to Reply 
Mar 3, 2016 3:44 PM

Interview with aikaflip

Interview conducted and edited by SnugglyWhuggly

Tell us more about yourself.

I'm a bisexual Buddhist. I like reading textbooks, and going for evening walks.

An older cousin introduced me to my first anime, the extremely graphic Ninja Scroll, back in 1995. I was 13 or 14 at the time. He showed it to me as a joke to shock me, which it did, but it also sparked an interest in other titles. I've been watching anime on and off since then.

I went to an art college in Chicago where I majored in media arts. During the day I work for a multimedia company. I have a small social circle that I sometimes meet with on the weekends.

Give us a brief history of your time on MAL. Which sections of MAL are you the most active on?

I joined in 2014 after a breakup. I figured I could heal my emotional wounds with some cartoons. This worked out surprisingly well.

I'm mostly active in Recommendations, Anime Discussion, and Casual Discussion. I like introducing people to obscure anime and manga, and sharing observations on politics and animation.

How do you think the MAL community sees you? How do you feel about that?

This isn't something that I've thought about.

What do you feel about the board you use the most? What do you feel about the community in general?

I have mixed feelings about the community here, but my feelings overall are positive.

How do you feel about how the site is run? Especially in regards to the moderators and admins.

Generally pretty well. Perhaps the rules against threads that don't facilitate discussion are a little strict. These are fun threads sometimes. Maybe there could be a separate area for them.

Regarding the aesthetic changes, I've liked all of them so far.

Any users you like? Why?

I don't like ranking good people. I appreciate everyone who I've had cordial talks with.

Any users you dislike? Why?