Pages (4) « 1 [2] 3 4 »
Nov 16, 2015 1:16 PM
Jul 2015
Objects don't reproduce
Nov 16, 2015 1:21 PM

Oct 2014
Evildragon16 said:
zombie_pegasus said:
Modern words like computer terms are typically standardized to male, but even then there are a few exceptions. Irrelevance is common in language.

I used to think English was easy since I grew up with it .When I started learning french and saw that the madness in it was just as bad I was shocked .

Personally I think English should be counted as one of the harder languages .
Market English is one of the easiest languages to learn to that level. English has by far the largest vocabulary of any language which makes it harder to master as a second language than other languages.

The French word "dessin", the Spanish word "deis" and the Japanese word "desu" can all be pronounced the same way. I would spell it out in English as "dace". I think tonal languages would be the hardest to learn.
Nov 16, 2015 1:22 PM

Jan 2009
zombie_pegasus said:
I think English should really have a gender neutral third person pronoun. Using the plural "they" for a single human that you don't know the gender of sounds awkward. Calling an animal "it" sounds rude in my opinion especially if you know the gender of the animal. It also feels bad to call someone "he" or "she" and guess the wrong gender.
Just use "generic He" for Persons. It's a practicable, traditional Way to refer to someone whose biological Sex is unknown.

As if an Animal would complain whether I use "das Huhn" (neuter) (the Hen) or "die "Henne" (female) (the Hen) to it.

Again, how often do you directly call someone with "he" or "she"? I would use "you" to refer to someone when speaking with him (generic He), but what about you?
Nov 16, 2015 1:25 PM

Mar 2008
zombie_pegasus said:
Noboru said:
I meant the Gender "Neutrum" (Neuter):
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grammatical_gender#Overview

("it" and "its" in English)