Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gintama'


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Gintama (2011)
Japanese: 銀魂'

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2011 to Mar 26, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Mondays at 18:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 9.161 (scored by 66,974 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #52
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #333
Members: 156,577
Favorites: 3,926

Reviews

emashu
Apr 4, 2011
When you REALLY love a certain anime and hear it's going to end, you weep a little inside. So is Gintama, and the news of the new season were salvation to many sad Gintabros all over the globe.
That's right. The #1 show is back - and I am damn excite, son.

To any of you who haven't watched the first season, please do. but if you wouldn't want to commit yourself to a 201 episode show, feel free to just skip ahead to season two and try an episode or two. The storyline's arranged in inconsistent arcs, meaning you can pick it up from any arc read more
I found this review Helpful
Detective
Apr 4, 2011
Edit after episode 13: I cried big wet tears at the excellent storytelling and well placed character development. SUCH. BIG. TEARS.

I was skeptical as hell for the return of the Gintama anime. To be honest, I went into this anime wanting to slam it as hard as possible, especially upon seeing it's overbearingly high-score. But I won't, because to be frank, I can't.

I don't really think a lot of reviews, complex and heavily-illustrated need to be written about this anime to get a feel for what it's about so let me get straight to the point: It's ridiculous over-the-top comedy, plain and simple. Of course read more
I found this review Helpful
doyuevencarry
Dec 19, 2015
The people who enjoy this have probably spent most of their time watching CNN or the Weather Channel to be quite honest. I'm 90 episodes in TRYING to see what's so good about this anime, I mean I WANT to like it, I honestly do, I LOVE anime in ALL SORTS. I've seen probably between 500-750 different anime, and have a taste for each genre. I also know what makes an anime, or writing withing an anime good(or bad). With this said, for the crying love of baby Jesus, please lets all put forth an effort to remove this from anywhere near read more
I found this review Helpful
xanimekami
May 28, 2015
Gintama and Godly both start with G, coincidence? This anime is the pure essence of entertainment. You will laugh, you will cry, you will become emotional invested in a variety of ways. Not having watched this anime is like missing out on a classic movie and that means that you haven't fully lived yet. I watch an episode every night before I go to sleep so that I can sleep in pure comfort and relaxation. Watching Gintama for me is not a hobby. It is a life style. I HIGHLY recommend this show to anyone who likes anime and especially comedies.
I found this review Helpful
mgzem
Jun 13, 2012
Gintama'..
I began watching this anime, unfortunately, so late.. So I couldn't feel the excitement you get when you're waiting for something you love.. and I LOVE Gintama.. from the very first episode till the end, Gintama kept me interested, made me lmao and sometimes even cry (even though at the end there was always a twist ^^) It has everything you can expect from an anime in it.. Definitely one of the best (for me the best) anime, and if you're not watching because you think that it is overrated, the only thing that will take to change your mind is the very first episode..
People, read more
I found this review Helpful
Kurimu-chan
Mar 26, 2012
また いつか! [Mata Itsuka] [See you Again Someday!].
Gintama' is not the end of the Gintama Anime.


[ REVIEW ]


DONDAKEEEE!!


Gintama' is a series that, without doubt, captures almost every important essence of Anime (Comedy, Action, Drama, etc.) all within one show.

While it may be true that Gintama is mainly focused on the comedy aspect, the series is able to embody many action scenes, especially in the Arcs, as well as drama and sadness.

Contrary to popular belief, many don't want to start watching Gintama either because the series is too long, too 'overrated' in their eyes, or just does not pique their interest. However, when you actually get read more
I found this review Helpful
amirhoss
Mar 26, 2012
its nearly one year since the second season of Gintama has started and the loyal fans can remember the Joy and the life it gave us back then when it was aired again.the story that once was supposed to be about an school for demon dispellers and then about the Shinsengumi finally turned into something bizzare called Gintama which u can say is the Golden Work of Hideaki Sorachi.

the beginning of the second season is a perfect example of a great parody episode with updated jokes about famous Mangas which will make you burst into laugh if you only know about the parodies.although i am read more
I found this review Helpful
Hamizanz
Feb 21, 2012
I finished season 1 of gintama already and i got to admit it was the best thing i ever watched in the anime industry, this is the only anime that will keep me waiting patiently(well i did crack sometimes) for the next episode,then when it finally ended i there was a hole in my heart a deep black hole that was mended with other animes that i watched until now and when they finally announced a second season, i was like 'Praise the lord...... for making a season 2' waiting for its first release was the most horrible Time ever(seriously).Now that 'waiting' feeling came back read more
I found this review Helpful
Redragonblack
Apr 13, 2011
So as I was watching the first Gintama Series and about half way through I got sad and almost broke down into tears. Why? Because this is probably one of the Greatest Anime's ever made and I was terrified that it was coming to an end. But as to my good fortune before I was completely forsaken and gave up on living I caught wind of a season two and received the strength to carry on. The story of Gintama is full of unexpected twists and turns that always keep you guessing. The characters are hilarious and at times the fight scenes show a lot read more
I found this review Helpful
Bonsai
Aug 17, 2011
Bottom Line Up Front: Although some may be turned off by what Gintama is not, it is very witty, funny, and has some very good characters. It has consistently maintained a fresh feel, despite airing over 200 episodes. Some humor requires some background understanding or investigation of Japanese culture to be truly appreciated however. Often breaks down the fourth wall. Easily my favorite anime.

Highs: Animation assists humor, likeable characters, humor is punctuated by enough story to create direction, Japan's "Family Guy"

Lows: Length of series makes it increasingly difficult to be innovative with humor
I found this review Helpful
Alexius321
Jul 4, 2011
To make a long story short. When I thought Gintama already reached it's peak when I thought that it will never be as good as it once was...

Episode 214 came and honestly, in the end, i cried... and that proved me wrong.

Gintama was epic is epic and what more it WILL be epic!
I found this review Helpful
Ichigo-mochi
Jun 26, 2011
What makes an anime great?
*Action
*Comedy
*Drama

And what anime has it all? Gintama!

At first I was a little bit reluctant to watch this anime because of its different art style, (because then I used to judge an anime mainly on it's art style). But now, I can tell you I'm heaps glad that I entered the World of Gintama.

When Gintama ended I lost a week's worth of laughing, the end did seem a bit sudden- after searching up billions of blogs and "YAHOO ANSWERS" did I find out it would be continued. Boy was I glad.

Now lets get to read more
I found this review Helpful
hrist_valkyrie
Jul 12, 2012
GINTAMA 2012 !!!!!!! and its HD

gintama is back with its comedy action and non stop trolling
the season 5 of gintama is just as awesome as the other season and also you can watch them on HD .......

the story continues after the break on episode 201 and returns by trolling as and parodying many anime out there as for me im very happy with the new gintama and watching it really makes my week really great and refreshing

i gave this show a full 10 cause it never lets me down and the story arc at some episode read more
I found this review Helpful
atKatlin
Jul 26, 2016
I really like the weirdness, randomness, and epic (I would like to put ness there but there is no word epicness. Hahaha) of Hideaki Sorachi.

The author of this anime is really sly! Seriously, I've been laughing the whole time, even the first season of it and at the end is. Ah! Spoiler! Anyway, I would not write it. Even some people say that this anime is --- whatever, but setting aside those jokes you would see that this anime is really unique. Even if some of the episodes are not really connected or not in the series it is woven neatly.

I really like read more
I found this review Helpful
Legacy611
Oct 13, 2014
For the first time in a series I didn't want to finish it, I just wanted to have an unlimited amount of episodes... It's that good. after watching The first Series Gintama I moved on to this show which is now in HD btw. From its amazing comedy and complex characters to its awesome fight scenes Gintama can make anyones mood turn to complete happiness. If your on the fence about it because maybe you don't like long series try a few episodes out and it doesnt matter where either start at episode 1 or check out episode 30 every episode is enjoyable and as read more
I found this review Helpful
DeKami
Nov 30, 2014
My favorite Anime of all time because it has all i ever wanted.
All the Gintama Seasons are just brilliant.
I found this review Helpful
KaiSkyus32
Jan 16, 2017
Gintama is most hilarious series I’ve ever seen.

I believe that Gintama's story is a pretty damn great with comedy, action, to drama. With every episode I had completed, I just feel extremely satisfied with all episode. Gintama Season 2 was just completely enjoyable from start to finish. I also find that the comedy within Season 2 100% better than the first season and I completely laughing out loud.

The art of Gintama was more a higher quality that the first season. They had improved on all the fight scenes. In addition, The facial expressions from that characters are just funnier than it used to.

The music read more
I found this review Helpful
apercarlo
Oct 13, 2012
This is my first review and i'm not really that good with writing in English. But I'll do my best.

Story-10: I think overall Gintama has a pretty good story with comedy, action, to drama and I always have that feeling of satisfaction in every episode .Gintama Season 2 never really gets me bored. I find the comedy in season 2 better than the first somehow. I literally cried out of laughter. The serious arcs were also pretty epic and has a beautiful story to it. So i give it a 10

Art-9: Not much really change in art. It's much more high quality though but I read more
I found this review Helpful
worldvision
Dec 9, 2012
Gintama is the most hilarious series I’ve ever seen in my more than a decade of watching animes and reading mangas. It is number one on my top lists of best animes in comedy and in the top ten on my hundred lists of best animes in the history of anime world. So when I learned that they are coming back, I was more than delighted, I was so thankful for the whole production who decided to bring them back.

There’s a long review coming………..

About the STORY
First, I strongly believe that you wouldn’t be able to appreciate this to the extent if you haven’t watched the read more
I found this review Helpful
KIX_AR
Jul 14, 2014
Gintama
In my opinion it's one of my favorites ^^
And here is why :
Story :
When you first read the main story of it you may think it's an ordinary boring series of three guys living some adventures together .but actually it's not full of that normal nichijou (daily life) of most of this kind of anime's characters , It's actually full of surprising events . Even if some of its episodes are repeated but they got their own trait.

Music :
Including internal music , openings and endings
It's great !
It's suitable for this kind of anime.
It makes you got excited when you watch the pivotal moments.

Characters read more
I found this review Helpful