Sekaiichi Hatsukoi


Sekai Ichi Hatsukoi - World's Greatest First Love

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Sekai Ichi Hatsukoi - World's Greatest First Love
Synonyms: Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi, Sekai'ichi Hatsukoi, World's Greatest First Love
Japanese: 世界一初恋 TV

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2011 to Jun 25, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, Shounen AiShounen Ai
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.751 (scored by 9934899,348 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #9262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #881
Members: 181,832
Favorites: 3,421
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 25, 2011
QueenOfAlbion (All reviews)
Some may argue that this anime is just another BL anime focused on fanservice for the girls. While I'm not totally denying this, I do have to say that there's more than meets the eye when it comes to Sekaiichi Hatsukoi. Unlike Junjou Romantica where it's just SEXSEXILOVEYOUSEXSEX every episode, this actually has a pretty good story.

Story: 7/10
It's simple, sweet, and straight to the point. Some may view that as a good thing while others may disagree and claim that's a bad thing. Personally, I thought the story was fairly well done considering this is a BL anime. One of the biggest flaws, however, is read more
Aug 1, 2011
helur (All reviews)
I decided to give everything this season a shot, and as far as breaking out of my comfortable genres I thought that even BL wouldn't stop me. As a straight man I found it slightly hard to enjoy the romantic moments this is true. However, as I knew beforehand you can find some good stuff in the most deceiving places.

Like the start. I found the setting introduction was pretty funny, and the initial backstory was pretty interesting between Takano and Onodera. A long lost boyfriend from 10 years ago ends up as your boss in the hectic manga section of the company, the section you read more
Apr 15, 2011
XLady-IllusionX (All reviews)
Preliminary
-Again, not so good at writing reviews, but I'll try-

Nakamura Shungiku, author of Junjou Romantica, has made, yet, another great series known as Sekaiichi Hatsukoi. If you love Junjou Romantica, then you'll love this one! The romance in this series is twice as much as Junjou, that my inner fangirl just broke out. Trust me, it's so kawaii~! And Nakamura never fails to amaze me with the comedy in her work. Reading Junjou and Sekaiichi has always made me laugh and smile, no matter what kind of mood I'm in. I've watched the 2 episodes of it, and just watching the end of each episode read more
Apr 23, 2011
MSfanatic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Skip this paragraph, come back to it after you have read my review (below):

Okay okay, after seeing all these bad ratings I'm guessing people who've been reading this are misinterpreting the message I'm trying to send across to the readers. I'm going to write here what the jist of this review is stating since I'm guessing not everyone has read my entire review and has failed to see the main point. Essentially, the point I'm trying to get across to you is that this show is pure "fanservice", like "moe". The writers are specifically targeting women through this series and creating a piece adorned with read more
Jun 2, 2011
Amaranthyz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright... Before I start on anything, I'll be writing this as someone who has watched Junjou Romantica BOTH seasons more than three times and I've watched 7 episodes of Sekaiichi Hatsukoi with repeats of each episode twice after airing.

I have to say, I've been waiting for this anime to come out a long time ago and when it did, I completely flipped. It is right down AMAZING! But I have to tell you, my review will be filled with my own thoughts and feelings for the anime so yeaa..

Let's cut it down part by part kay?

- Story -
Similar to Junjou Romantica's set, there are 3 read more
Jul 3, 2011
Keirik (All reviews)
Sekaiichi Hatsukoi, you say? Now, looking at the picture right there at the top, you might think that this is just Junjou Romantica again, seeing as how both series are rather fluffy yaoi with the exact same art style. You'd be right. This is, more or less, Junjou Romantica season 3, even taking place in the same setting but with a different main cast.
Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Let's dive deeper into the deep depths of the phenomenon known only as "Sekaiichi Hatsukoi".

Actually, the depths aren't that deep. This is one of the shallowest anime I've ever watched. Like Junjou Romantica, read more
Feb 26, 2015
lichedilia (All reviews)
Sekaiichi Hatsukoi is the first shounen-ai anime that I have ever seen, so I was skeptical at the beginning of course, but after only the first episode I was already sure that was a very well done anime.

Story 9/10
The story it's nothing out of the ordinary, but still not so predictable. Even though the themes are simple they are well explained, the timing it's perfect so that you can feel what the main character feels (at least, I felt it).
There are three love stories but they are different to each other so that the viewer won't get bored. So yes, 9 out of 10 because read more
Dec 23, 2013
AlexanderRP (All reviews)
I just finished watching Sekaiichi Hatsukoi for the second time. I was worried my review would have been biased after the first time because I had fallen in love with the series. After watching it a second time, I can say with the utmost certainty that this series is fantastic.

Do not let the fact that this is boy love scare you away. Whether you are straight or not, you can find yourself being taken away by this love story. I did.

The story is fantastic, much better than the story of the parent series Junjou Romantica. It kept moving at a steady pace and only in read more
Dec 13, 2012
AnPan-Desu (All reviews)
So having watched the first season and the second one, I am seriously loving this anime and as well as the manga. This deserves an overall of 10 to me, i'm not sure what it'll be to you but, i truly loved this anime. A lot of people have said that this is similar to Junjou Romantica and in the anime itself, there's lots of references to Junjou and personally i do think its kind of similar but there is a difference to it. Sekaiichi is more cuter to me as compared to Junjou which has more of 'those' scenes XD Personally, i enjoyed Sekaiichi read more
Jan 19, 2017
krzywasabi (All reviews)
TLDR; Even if it has BL, it doesn't excuse the show from poor writing and poorly written characters.

I like BL... which is something this show has. But I also like good writing... which is something this show DOESN'T have.

Story 3/10

As I mentioned before, this show's writing is pretty bad. The story is basically the characters going through the everyday issues they have at work (needing to meet a deadline, being overworked, ...being sexually harassed by their boss...) and a bunch of romantic melodrama that basically boils down to bad communication. A lot of decisions the characters make are questionable and usually made me go "WTF read more
Oct 14, 2011
baskervwatson (All reviews)
I've personally gotten very frustrated with shounen ai/yaoi, not because of all the man love, but because there's no point to it. It's all 'Hey you're cute! Let's now have sex for no apparent reason or character development, YAY!" I also dislike that it's always marketed to little "YAOI SUKI DESU" 12 year old fan girls, so quite a lot of it has basically children getting jiggy with it. Even if the anime goes 'Oh yeah, I'm 25', there's noooo way that little boy could even possibly pass as so.

It's ridiculous.

Which brings me to Sekaiichi Hatsukoi. My oasis in the KAWAII DESU quicksand realm. Story-wise, read more
Apr 8, 2021
Idontwantto2mal (All reviews)
Seakaiichi Hatsukoi world of sexual assault and abuse
No means no? No, we haven't heard
The most important problem of this show is the fact that "romantic relationships" are not romantic, they are hysterical, built on blackmail and manipulation of the partner.
Story? What plot? No, it's just a regular slice of life. Chewing the same problems, character thoughts, experiences, and words over and over again. Sometimes office work and sexual assaults. That's the whole story.
Ritsu Onodera and Takano - this is one of the biggest problems. Takano is a man to be called an abuser. Yes Yes. Onodera tells him a thousand times that she loves him read more
Jul 22, 2012
kiisa- (All reviews)
First, I wasn't even a fan of yaoi before, but I tried Junjou Romantica and I started liking it. And then I read, and watched, Sekaiichi Hatsukoi and it totally blew me away. I've watched both seasons of Junjou Romantica once, and watched both seasons of Sekaiichi Hatsukoi FIVE times and I'm still enjoying it. Lets get to the point.

Seeing the fluffy cute picture of a yaoi couple at the top left corner of this page, you might think 'oh, another fluffy nonsense yaoi where all they do is have sex''. YOU ARE WRONG. One of the reasons why I love this manga/anime so much read more
Jun 16, 2012
EllenMelon (All reviews)
The story was perfect it made a lot more sense than Junjou and it had a lot more feeling to it. I loved the setting as well how it was set in a shojo manga department. The comedy in this series is so funny, how everyone is like dying at the department and the faces Onodera makes! It was a great story, long lost love, jealousy, romance. It was perfect.

The art is fair. It wasn't anything that stands out, other than the ridiculous faces Onodera makes XD, but it's not anything that would put you off watching it.

The sounds track was really good read more
Jul 20, 2015
tyler_thomas48 (All reviews)
This is the first BL anime that I've ever seen. All in all, I'm glad as I came across this series, as I gladly enjoyed it. While this show was written for the female audience more than the male audience, as a bisexual male, I feel I found the perfect level of enjoyment from this show. However, it has comedic aspects and a strong romance that even straight guys themselves could easily get into.

-Story- 9/10

As far as I can tell, no problems here. Even though I'm new to BL anime, I'm not new to anime in general. And still, this show seemed to read more
Dec 30, 2011
painappurut (All reviews)
If you are ready to indulge yourself in a colorful world with predictable actions, predictable lines, a cast full of bishounens, a lot of love confessions (as well as characters who desperatly try to deny their loveydovey feelings) and those superduper cutsey scenes then I would recommend this one. If, however, you are looking for awesome character building, groundbreaking ideas or something unique then you might want to spent your anime time on some other show.

I am an adult, I know all the reasons why I should not like this anime as much as I do, but I just can't help it. This is my read more
Feb 1, 2017
Ren07 (All reviews)
A very generic BL story, which I would describe as a waste of time.
Unlike other BL anime this anime goes no further than a kiss, let me remind you all character are 18+ but nothing more than that developed.

As usual the younger boy in 2 of the 3 cases was basically the same character, both being unaware of their own feelings and looking and sounding exactly the same.

Would rather this focused on 1 couple instead of 3, as this got very confusing with the character all looking alike.

How much more generic could you get than a BL story being based around literature/manga

Studio Deen seems read more
Jan 2, 2012
tendrillar (All reviews)
I want to be honest with this review, coming from a yaoi fan who appreciates character and story line as much as boy love and the occasional sex scene.
This anime is good, but its just not up to par with what I was expecting from it. It was often amusing and very cute, but toward the end grows tiresome and feels drawn out.

The story is interesting as it offers a unique perspective on the process of creating, editing and selling manga. I for one felt humbled and enlightened while watching each character work tirelessly to create and perfect entertainment for their readers. The read more
Nov 25, 2014
LisAnimeLover (All reviews)
I love Sekaiichi Hatsukoi so much!

Are you a fujoshi (yaoi fans)? If yes, you must've know this anime. Well, you can't call yourself a fujoshi if you don't know this anime.

Sekaiichi Hatsukoi is an anime TV series authorized by Nakamura Shungiku-sensei, the same author for the manga series Sekaiichi Hatsukoi Onodera Ritsu no baai, Takano Masamune no baai, Hatori Yoshiyuki no baai, Yoshino Chiaki no baai, Kisa Shouta no baai, Yukina Kou no baai, and Yokozawa Takafumi no baai. The status of the manga is still ongoing.

I give you a warn. If you are a first time user of yaoi (read or watch), I won't read more
Jul 21, 2016
kumorinohi (All reviews)
I don't have much experience with shounen-ai, but it's a genre I'm interested in and enjoy. I've watched Nakamura Shungiku's other series, Junjou Romantica, and enjoyed it. I happened upon Sekaiichi Hatsukoi while checking out Junjou Romantica's anime page on MAL, and was pretty excited to find a new story in the same "world."

STORY → 9/10
I enjoyed the stories in Sekaiichi Hatsukoi because a lot of them were really entertaining to watch, even if I sometimes wanted to shake the characters because they were frustrating. The anime opens with Onodera, the son of a literary publishing house CEO. Frustrated that his coworkers think he's only read more