Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ao no Exorcist


Alternative Titles

English: Blue Exorcist
Synonyms: Ao no Futsumashi
Japanese: 青の祓魔師(エクソシスト)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 17, 2011 to Oct 2, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 442,473 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7122
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #15
Members: 726,143
Favorites: 12,121

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 5, 2011
ILYUHA (All reviews)
Preliminary
A classic Shounen,what else to say. I think a lot of studios thinks about making anime about son of satan. But then they said "Oh no. It will be too stereotyped" When A-1 pictures said "hm...why not?".And they weren't mistaken. Now we have one of greatest anime of summer 2011. I enjoyed it so much and I hope you will too.

Story 9/10:
+:The story is just masterpiece. As i said, it stereotyped,but it does not affect at fun of watching. You just watch and say "oh Sh**t! That was awesome!"
-:The story little bit slowly accelerates. I mean when you watch 1-2 episodes you think read more
Nov 27, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
"Satan has been the best friend the Church has ever had, as He has kept it in business all these years!" - Anton LaVey

One of the constants of many religions is the idea that sin and evil stem from a higher power. In some cases this means another deity that works in opposition to all things good, but for Christianity, Islam and Judaism such things are viewed as the domain of Satan (or "Lucifer, Fallen Angel, Prince of Darkness, Bringer of Light, Ruler of Hell, Lord of the Flies, Father of Lies, Apostate Supreme, Tempter of Mankind, Bringer of the Apocalypse, Old Serpent, Prince of read more
Jan 21, 2012
Randomman (All reviews)
I started this show with high hopes; needless to say I was let down. I liked the aesthetic, the characters seemed ok and I liked the premise. All signs pointed in a positive direction.

Unfortunately, that's exactly what this show lacked: direction.

Aside from establishing the premise, very little is done to advance the plot throughout the show. Most of the show is episodic, and the archs don't build up to anything. It really seemed like the creators didn't know where it was all supposed to go.

One of the things that disappointed me was the fighting, or the lackthereof. From the beginning they establish a universe with read more
Aug 3, 2014
sjvgrift (All reviews)
Story: 5
An interesting enough premise, but Blue Exorcist turns out to be just another school-setting shounen with a main character with the typical daddy complex and a shallow/unfinished romance.

Art: 5
The colors were bright, which is always enjoyable, but the character designs were lacking and some features came out awkward-looking. Ex: Shura's oddly boxy midsection and Yukio's unusually wide face

Sound: 3
None of the OSTs stood out to me, but I loathed the jazzy opening.

Characters: 4
I really enjoyed Rin and Shirou's relationship, and Shiemi's smidgen of character development was nice to see. But there was little depth in the characters otherwise. Instead, the writers took the read more
Oct 4, 2011
Chrono1219 (All reviews)
Ao No Exorcist is set in a battle of exorcists versus demons. It is a typical shonen with a good main character as the backbone.

The backdrop of the story is that Rin and brother Yukio are the sons of Satan and a human mother. Rin inherited the demonic powers, while Yukio didn't. They are taken in by the current Paladin, Shiro, who raises them as sons. Soon, they are thrust in an ongoing battle of the Exorcists versus Demons. The story gets off to a very fast start, but from what I understand, lack of material for the spots the manga covered caused some read more
Dec 7, 2013
ForeverFizz8 (All reviews)
Ao no Exorcist is a short shounen that has become memorable. That's not the same as saying it's great though. Here's why.

Story (6/10):
Rin and Yukio were raised by a priest, yet are the sons of Satan. Sadly, it turns into more of a school setting- based anime. While there are still some good, fast action scenes, there are too many plot holes as the story goes on. They train to be exorcists in this school, even though they are part demon themselves, so that becomes a large plot device. One of the better ones too. It's OK, nothing spectacular.

Art (8/10):
I love the art. It complements read more
May 4, 2011
Redvines32 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review has been edited quite a bit. Ok, first off, this anime does not seem to following the manga closely anymore. Up until ep 13 it was, but after that, who knows where the story will go~

Story 9: The story was so tightly packed into the first three episodes, it felt like I was watching some kind of epic movie. I'll admit the basic plot has been done before, we have all had our share of Son's of Satan, but it still manages to be interesting anyways. Somehow it has that spark which makes it amazingly unique, yet it still read more
Jun 7, 2011
HououinKyouma (All reviews)
Preliminary
Generic, generic, generic. This anime oozes from genericism.

Story: 2, Character: 2

Your typical shounen story done a million times, only now with exorcists.

The story starts as Rin, the protagonist and the guy who gets the most favorites of the show in MAL, becomes an exorcist because of certain circumstances (I don't want to spoil you why).
He enrolls to an academy, which deals with many things, along how to become a full fledged exorcist.

Sounds interesting at first? Well, NOPE.

The execution is so generic and bland.
*We have a protagonist who is short tempered and likes to fight alot? check.
*His brother is a cool calculated guy who read more
Sep 12, 2011
Jokke (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hey guys, this is my first review on this site and frankly it's my first review I've ever written so here it goes.

Ao no Exorcist is an classic shounen anime as you may know judging by the hype it has gotten. Well to cut to the story, it revolves mainly around Rin whom is a demon spawn living in a chantry with his father, brother and a bunch of munks/exorcists.

The theory of the story is good, but not well made, a battle between exorcists and demons, a struggle to fit in where you should not belong, a strive to be the read more
Apr 24, 2011
l3reezer (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let it stand that I have not given the manga any read whatsoever so I'm not sure of any kind of discrepancies, but I would have to say that from my experience with manga|anime comparison in general, I think A-1 Pictures has done an outstanding and top-notch job with the anime adaptation of Ao no Exorcist. To note, I have given every criteria of this review a 10 except for the story, which I granted a 9. Normally, the rating of a 10 seems to be very esteemed to me, just because it represents a perfect score. However, myanimelist's linguistic translation of the "10" as read more
Jun 28, 2011
ilsoluin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ao no Exorcist is fun and you should watch it. As for those who are looking for a more in-depth review:

Summary:
In one sentence, Ao no Exorcist is about a rowdy rambunctious teen who not only discovers the existence of "demons", but is actually the son of Satan himself, and decides to attend a school of Exorcism to strengthen himself and learn to control his demonic power.

Story (6):
Extremely predictable and unoriginal. For those who are not afraid to be disappointed in a story they've seen many times in many different places, this anime is still quite bearable. I won't go into detail, but for read more
May 2, 2011
SmoothCoffee (All reviews)
Preliminary
Meet Rin. Rin is the son of Satan. Rin is training to become a demon exorcist- talk about ironic.
Overall, this anime so far has been extremely entertaining and actually has had some surprises, which makes it more enjoyable.

Story: 10
The storyline in connection with the characters and their motivations actually seems believable. It's not some far-fetched concept with characters that don't do anything at all related to the plot. The way the story of Ao no Exorcist is connected by and through the characters if very realistic and makes the story very enjoyable to watch.

Art: 10
I really like the art style, it has angular read more
Apr 18, 2011
Sketchy54 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I ‘m making a Review just after watching 1 episode.
I first heard of Blue Exorcist (Ao no Exorcist) few weeks ago in the new issue of Shonen Jump issue 5 April 2011. They introduce it as a new series. I thought it looked pretty awesome. The main character looked pretty good. So I start to read a little of it. But yesterday I just finished watching the first episode of Blue Exorcist, and I must say it was pretty awesome. I love it. The story and plot got my hooked.

I liked the sound of the voices. They match the read more
Sep 7, 2011
Shemyaza (All reviews)
Preliminary
[SPOILER ALERT] I expected you to have watched past ep16(which is when I dropped this anime) already when reading this, so if you have not you may want to skip this review
As many people say, Ao no Exorcist is heavily clichéd in many aspects so I might as well point them out first
We have a hot headed protagonist(+1) who hold immense power he could not quite control(+1), use a sword(+1) that is not any random sword but a special one assigned especially to him(+1). Protagonist is fighting against the biggest embodiment of evil there is(+1) for revenge of his father(+1) who died trying to protect read more
Nov 27, 2011
Daimyo (All reviews)
Well guys let’s start off with the awesome characters in this awesome manga. First and foremost we have Rin Okumura our principle protagonist, followed by his younger twin brother Yukio Okumura, and then we have Rin Okumura, and then Yukio Okumura, Rin Okumura again, some blond haired chick, random people and some dude named Shiro (and guess what he has white hair, har har har… weaboo) oh and did I mention Rin fucking Okumura. Theatrics aside, we essentially only have two or three characters with important roles throughout the whole TV show. The rest are just ballast. However, seeing as this is a review and read more
Apr 30, 2015
Randomshell (All reviews)
At first I became curious of this anime. Seemed a lot of people wanted to watch it and the name "Ao no Exorcist" Popped up everywhere. It was always in my recommended bar. Finally i decided to watch it and now that I have I feel like it was a complete waste of time.

I'm sure the manga is great. I thought the basic story was a good one. Son's of Satan and then coming of age to inherit his powers, Great! The anime had a few great things in it. Some parts of the story was really beautiful but when you put it all read more
Jan 22, 2012
xMintyPie (All reviews)
(Scroll down for my... second review.)

I don't know how to rate this anime. I feel guilty for even liking it all. Everything is so cliche. If you based a drinking game on this show, where whenever someone or something cliche came up, take a sip. You'd be sick for the rest of your life. So why did I even like this as much as I did? I don't know! As a reviewer, it frustrates me not to know what I even sort of liked about a show, so in this review I'll be attempting (probably in vain) to find that reason.


Story~
Nothing new. We've all seen read more
Sep 14, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"I'm going to beat the sh*t out of Satan!!" - Rin Okumura.

If there was an award for the most pure shonen of all time, that award would not belong to any of the big names in the business... No, One Piece, Naruto, Bleach, and any other series that comprises the collective of instantly recognizable "shonen" can't touch the perfection with which the myriad of shonen tropes were implemented in Blue Exorcist.


Artwork and Animation: 8

As with most A-1 Pictures productions, Blue Exorcist looks very good. The traditional animation, particularly with the signature flames, is very crisp and smooth. There are a few moments where the read more
Apr 9, 2014
Saulami_Jedi (All reviews)
Ao no Exorcist (Blue Exorcist)

The first impression of this show was impressive, especially the first episode. An incredible start that set the scene for the series which had me hooked. (Including the theme song!) Sadly as the show progressed, my interest began to waiver. It has to do with the bulk of the characters and lack of progressive to flesh out the main story arc which really disappointed me.

Character and Plot development. (4.5) Rin is the MC (protagonist) of this story and by far the most interesting character alongside his father Shirou Fujimoto. The rest of the cast isn't really worth mentioning because they read more
May 12, 2011
anthell (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since the beginning of Broadway show themselves, shows has always follow trends of the era. This anime is reflects absolutely nothing of its tittle, but more of the current trend of today's fantasy.

When i started watching it, i was hoping for more of dark exorcist kind of anime. A much darker and eerie reincarnation of the son of satan , born and raised humble followers of God. But this hope was soon shattered in episode 2....

First of all, before you start thinking about exorcism and stuff, you should instead begin with looking at fairy tail. You see, the idea of church style exorcism here read more