Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kamisama Kazoku


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kami-sama Kazoku
Japanese: 神様家族

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 18, 2006 to Aug 10, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.201 (scored by 18,894 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #29602
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2136
Members: 40,040
Favorites: 89

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 13, 2007
Archaeon (All reviews)
Now here's an unusual anime concept.

I wasn't too sure what to expect from this series as the conecpt seemed a little unusual for an anime - the story not being about angels or gods dealing with humans, but rather the son of god learning what it means to be human.

The show is well written and moves along at a nice pace. The story itself is quite intruiging, and the main characters develop quite well throughout the show.I especially enjoyed the fact that the show evolved to include darker themes towards the end

The animation is of a very high standard, and the opening music is a read more
Jan 13, 2009
MoMo-Da-Gr8 (All reviews)
I loved this anime so much! :D

Summary of Story:
Samatarou is not just an average high-school boy, the truth is that he is the son of a god, his mother is a goddess and his sisters are candidates to become goddesses. They are living in the human world, because they want their boy learn about the human customs and the habits of the creatures that they are protecting, so that in this way Samatarou will become a better god. Tenko is a angel assigned to look after Samatarou. She's born the same day, same year as Samatarou and have been close friends ever since. Life seems read more
Jun 5, 2008
ethann (All reviews)
Kamisama Kaoku is about the God's family who lives on earth and the life ofGod's son who falls in love with a girl from his high school. And the twists that come about as he realises his feelings which he has for his life-long friend and guardian angel.

I think the story is unique, it is definitely your fantasy-romance kind of anime. There was a good deal of romance in the anime and the drama was present as wellso if you are a romance-drama fan you might like it. However, the story does not have an outlying plot that encompasses the whole anime so there read more
Jul 27, 2009
BurningLeaves (All reviews)
I wasn't expecting much from this series but what I got really surprised me. This seems like the complete opposite of something I would enjoy but it turned out to be very well thought out, cute and tender.


Story 8 It does have a bit of a juvenile feel to it, but thats what an anime like this is supposed to be like. This series did not disappoint and did not lead off with a cliff hanger or unanswered questions. Though I would love to see a second season, this stands up on it's own just fine.

Art-9 Not the typical style I usually like, read more
Sep 8, 2008
mcjazzman32 (All reviews)
As per usual, I’m not going to bother reviewing Kamisama Kazoku like everyone else. Rating anime by categorical aspects is boring – rather, I like reviewing anime based on their perceived category. This anime is a romantic comedy and I was looking for a light-hearted romance when I came across it.

Now, most anime centered around romance, whether it’s good or bad, usually falls into a flurry of clichéd events, situations and dialogue that’s sometimes so automatic, you can see it coming when you read the episode title. However, surprisingly, Kamisama didn’t fall into many of those traps and, to be frank, much of the material read more
May 13, 2009
dumbasshole69 (All reviews)
I watched this show while at the same time mocking it... there were just too many scenes that were pathetically done. This show is about the son of god whom is living in the human world to learn more about them so that one day he'll become the perfect god with the understanding of human beings, thus training. He appears to be 15, so of course; he's going to a high school. He has a companion, an angel who helps/guides him while he's training to become this perfect god. The angel appears to be madly in love with the son of god. Kamiyama, the son read more
Oct 7, 2008
shoebox (All reviews)
Kamisama Kazoku is a funny, and enjoyable romantic comedy series. The story of the series is very light and unique, but like many 13 episode long series, there are some loose ends to the plotline. The story focuses on Samatarou (god candidate) and Tenko (his guardian angel), and their experiences living in the human world. However, Samatarou's meddling family creates many amusing problems for him as he wishes to experience everything on his own.

As a series, the quality of the artwork in the anime is good and pretty simplistic, and the voices are very good and include many notable seiyuus. read more
Mar 31, 2009
mistah-manila (All reviews)
Well this anime has only a few episodes, but it provides. The humor in here was okay, mostly around the center of the series. Other than that, that's it. Not much closure on the romance and the ending is slightly flawed (basically my main complaint to all amine: "the ending was not good enough!'').

Basically 7.5 - 8/10, it has a pretty good pace and leaves you with some laughs. Kamisama Kazoku is something you would watch if you just got into anime or you're really bored.
Jun 12, 2010
Vaynard2000 (All reviews)
Samatarou is the son of a god and a goddess and his sisters are candidates for goddesses. They are living in the human world, because they want Samatarou learn the customs and habits of the creatures they protect, so that it becomes a God better, more just and wise
Tenko is an angel in charge of observing Samatarou. She and Samatarou born on the same day and year and have since become good friends. Life flowed normally until Samatarou falls for a new student named Kumiko. The confusion is armed when he decides to make her fall for him ... without using his powers ...

A romantic read more
Aug 4, 2016
Fire (All reviews)
We all take things for granted, be it the fact that we live in a comfortable, large house, or that we have caring relatives and friends who all care very much about us. We never really stop to look at the bigger picture, seeing just how much is behind our lives and how much we are supported even without realizing it. Kamisama Kazoku (God/Divine Family) is a story about... well, family, as the name suggests. It raises questions like what really makes a family, and how important family actually is. But it's not only about that, it's also explores relationships and maturity, and how they read more
Sep 10, 2015
wbtrashking (All reviews)
It took me a really long time to sit down and actually get into watching this show. It feels a bit like a traditional gag/romance anime, with the caveat being something pretty typical: a focus on angels and gods. What's different about it, and thus attention-capturing, is that the son of god has to come down on earth and learn to appreciate humanity, as a bit of a trial.

The love-triangle is a bit hard to get into, as it feels stilted and strained. The main character can also be quite frustrating! However, after several years of having seen only the first few episodes, I powered read more
Jun 24, 2017
MisakiOji (All reviews)
I Love The Anime
If In Clay From Outer Cover and the scorenya Not convincing But when I try to watch Justru unexpected.

Character design, cutting each scene and placing sounds to the atmosphere that is given is not perfect
But more value than this anime is a rather unique storyline where serious scenes are mixed with comedy atmosphere.

This anime tells a family of gods who are trying to live in the human world
And among the members of the god's family there was an angel who loved one of the family members there, knowing that this angel was from birth to adulthood raised there and the family member read more