Hokuto no Ken
Fist of the North Star
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Fist of the North Star
Synonyms: Seikimatsu Kyuseishu Densetsu: Hokuto no Ken, HNK
Japanese: 北斗の拳

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 109
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 1984 to Mar 5, 1987
Premiered: Fall 1984
Broadcast: Thursdays at 19:00 (JST)
Producers: Fuji TV
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, Martial ArtsMartial Arts, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.011 (scored by 2348723,487 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1371
Members: 81,244
Favorites: 1,771

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 12, 2009
nicepants (All reviews)
When I first started Hokuto no Ken, I did not know a thing about Fist of the North Star. I had heard the name before, and I knew it was a popular franchise with bloody exploding heads. When I started watching the series, it looked so incredibly 80s.

In fact, the Shin arc made me stop watching it for a while. The endless mooks in poorly drawn 80s style really turned me off. A few weeks later, I decided to try it again. I am so absolutely glad I did. Hokuto no Ken is a post-apocolyptic epic, and I don't use that term lightly.

The story is read more
Apr 19, 2010
linearrush (All reviews)
I remember first watching Fist of the North Star in the action channel. I was but a little kid at the time and I really did not know what was going on. Unfortunately, the exploding heads and cussing was a deterrent at the time and I stopped watching it.

Fast forward almost ten years later and I decide to watch it and honestly, I am glad that I did.

The story is fairly simple. It takes place in a post apocalyptic world where the strong live and the weak die. Crime is at an all time high. Bandits and cut throats kill, pillage and rape to no read more
Apr 7, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
[SPOILER WARNING]

After the nuclear apocalypse of 199X, Kenshiro begins his quest to rid the world of evil & bring hope to humanity. Initially, North Star begins as a revenge tale where Kenshiro is searching for his fiancé Yuria whose been kidnapped by his rival Shin. Afterwards the story then focuses on Kenshiro's destiny to bring back peace to this "age of power" where humanity have become savage & desensitized to love & affection.

Essentially, most humans are now primitive causing murders for the sake of resources such as food. Only those with power, ambition & a cold heart can survive this wasteland. As a savior read more
Mar 30, 2012
hhrkop (All reviews)
Preliminary
I started it because I like post-apocalyptic stuff. But I have no idea why and how I've continued almost to the end.

It's repetitive as hell, something akin to DBZ in a desert. Except the fights are more boring and only last for 1-2 episodes each. Every character is one-dimensional and story is about big muscular men who fight each other for world dominance, nothing else.

If you are bored wit first episodes, drop it. It never gets any better/different.

Not recommended under any conditions. Unless maybe if you're 3 years old.
Jan 15, 2009
animegorey (All reviews)
Having watched the movie, which is the condensed version of the series, and now actually watching the 36 episode series from Manga Entertainment, I find that this is one of the corniest/greatest animes that I've seen. I love it. I really like the opening theme that has thundering bass drums that ride you thru a monta'ge of violent clips of the anime. Kinda makes you want to fight, or at least watch one. This has alot of violence that is gorey at times and corny at times. Ken can pretty much do anything. He's a Japanese, Rambo looking, Bruce Lee sounding BAD ASS. Story is read more
Jul 7, 2008
yardakani (All reviews)
this was the anime I watched when I was only six years old and recently I watched it again from the strart to the end and I'm still trying to enjoy it.

it is about after a nuclear war that brings desaster to the earth and appearance of martial artists from long times ago.

the main character is fantastic and has become my hero till now.
I kinda feel like being in kens place when watching mostly when he is angry and tries to fight back seriously.
putting all things aways I have watched it 16 years and now and I can say I really enjoyed it every time read more
Feb 2, 2016
Deago (All reviews)
I watched them; watched all these 109 episodes; these episodes that made me suffer; suffer from the repetition...repetition...REPETITION!
This is one of the most anime I ever encountered that suffer from this problem; the repetition; the repetition of episodes events, the repetition of same kind of the damn villains, the repetition of animations...
But isn't this the case with most long-ass anime? Fillers right?
No! People who watch this anime will go through alot of meaningless repetitive fillers AND filler-like canon episodes, fillers are skippable; but some episodes sometimes provide a small piece of info related to the actual plot, which sucks.
These boring episodes tend to be like:
-Evil read more
Apr 11, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

This is a review of Fist of the North Star the anime series, not the movie. I am talking about the original 109 episodes of GLORY that follow the original manga! Time to examine the anime that completely changed everything and was HUGELY influential on every other anime in the 1980s!

Firstly, we need to get a little bit of background and history out of the way. This anime ran from 1984-1987 and was based on the manga that ran from 1983-1988. That means that the anime did have to create some filler to keep it from catching up to the manga, but amazingly enough this read more
Nov 8, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
Currently everyone knows or heard of the three most popular anime that dominates this decade: One Piece, Naruto and Bleach. This is essentially the case for most decades, being the 80's most prevalent anime Dragon Ball, Saint Seiya and Hokuto no Ken - or Fist of the North Star. This may leave potential audiences wondering whether these are worth their time, and in the case of Hokuto no Ken, I can definitely recommend it for viewers interested in action based anime.

~Story~

The story is simple, having its setting in a post-nuclear apocalyptic world in which humanity regressed, where slavery and struggle for survival is commonplace. Martial read more
Oct 28, 2017
GrayRealm (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright. I dropped it after 29 episodes. I'm not sure if I'll pick it up again.

This is a classic influental anime, that has historical value. However... it turned out to be much worse than I expected. Much, much worse. There are old hidden gems like Devilman Lady, and this is not one of them. Poorly made characters, recycled animations (tons of recycled animations), lots of time wasting techniques employed to cut costs. Designs of characters aren't bad, but that alone doesn't help.

The main reason for watching it is some historical value or if you saw it as a kid, and seeing it again make you read more
Dec 12, 2015
Ruggarell (All reviews)
This is pretty much the first review I've EVER done on this website so be gentle with me. I had to write this because I want everyone on MAL to watch it.

Hokuto no Ken to me is simply put the pinnacle of shounen. Some say that it's either Dragon Ball or Dragon Ball Z, but not to me. It is so good that it can make a grown man cry from the beautiful story. I watched Hokuto no Ken way back a few years ago and since then my love for it never went away. For every Shounen Anime I watch and complete, I read more
Feb 14, 2008
DARGONTeraAlpha (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you can get past the lame opening theme song and the horrific distorted gory fighting graphics that make up the introduction to the series, you may find that there is actually a plot.

In short form, the story is based on a power struggle created by a martial arts master who had no son to pass on his art to in the traditional fashion. His remedy for this situation was to adopt four young boys and train them. Since only one of them could be the master’s successor, the four adopted brothers had to battle for the title by defeating the other three.

The read more
Feb 7, 2020
stingzy (All reviews)
Do you want to be manly?

Are you feeling tired of high school girls in miniskirts and pre-pubescent skinny high school boys that pander to every single weeaboo on both sides of the pacific? Tired of being spoonfed the same Isekai and moe shit year after year. Stop whatever you are doing, pull up your pants, close your hentai tabs, slide the chair back and stick around as Fist of the North Star teaches you the art of manliness!

I watched this anime, no this MANime and a foot-long beard popped out of my glass chin, my max bench increased by 100lbs and my testicles doubled in read more
Jul 22, 2014
GreatWarlord (All reviews)
From my personal Bias I would've gave this Legendary Series overall a 10, however I have given it a 9 because I can't ignore the faults others may find in it such as it having Plotholes similar to Dragonball Z or the Animation itself etc.

But enough about the "bad" things and instead I'll focus on the good things. The memories of me watching this series the first 36 Episodes in Dubbed on Youtube and then the rest in Subbed on Megavideo back in 2011 when I was 16 are perhaps timeless; it was the greatest experience I had as an Anime fan that can never read more
Mar 4, 2018
Hematospermia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hokuto no Ken is an anime that was so far ahead of its time that I'm not sure we're even in its time right now.

It's easy to dismiss this anime as a product of a bygone time where people's anime tastes were less refined and they would accept the complete lack of character development and repetitive nature of Ken's trials and tribulations. And, to some extent, I agree. The only thing that distinguishes one episode from the other is the ridiculousness of the villain that Ken will ultimately defeat with his Hokuto Shinken martial arts style. However, this seeming negative is actually a positive. read more
Apr 26, 2019
EnGethneer (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've watched so many clips of the anime that while reading the manga I found dozens of parts I already knew despite not having exactly watched it in a precise order. Basically I've done more that watching the anime now that I've read half the manga. So I'm not sure if I should put "completed" on the anime or not.

Watch the anime, it looks perfect.

Read the manga.

Then watch the anime again, it looks like cavemen were doing a mockery of the manga with graffiti. And the anime is half the manga. This is long, mutilated, stretched, counts on the hateful bad guys and the gore, read more
Dec 26, 2016
inaji1 (All reviews)
what can be said about one of the Greatest MANimes that hasn't been already said, probably one of the best, although some said it was ripped off by another great MANime, Ramenman, but amplified by 10 this is the Gold Standard of all MANime.

if you finish this series you will become a man if you already weren't before..even if you're a girl

as User Stingzy said if you watch this great MANime of the 80s you will indeed have all those things happen to you

and if you want a rest from all those giggle and peace sign schoolgirl BS this is the perfect remedy
Jan 13, 2013
Shura-shurato (All reviews)
ATATATATATATATAWATHAAAAAA( you're already dead)! Those are the words from and revered anime charachter, and an EVEN MORE legendary anime show wich was at its height in japan in the 80's and very populair. I saw the HoK movie from 1986 first before i even knew about the serie's, and man am i glad that i have seen the show from biginning till the bloody end, and the whole serie is somewhat bloody! about the Animation, i din't care much cuz it was that time, what loads of kids these days cant appreciate from oldskool anime! Storywise , excellent, loads of twists and turns, disputes, read more
Mar 18, 2017
InkSpider (All reviews)
NOTE: There are going to be some spoilers in this. Yes, I know I’m not supposed to do that on this site, but I can’t critique Fist of the North Star to any satisfying degree without talking about certain specific details. If you don’t want the show spoiled, stop reading now. If you don’t care, go right ahead.
The Positive Side: This is a show about a man who looks, and talks, and fights like Bruce Lee, traveling a nuclear wasteland and making comically evil people explode with his fists. For what it’s worth, Fist of the North Star embraces what it read more
Sep 12, 2012
Donwun (All reviews)
People who usually claim to have seen FOTNS for the most part are actually referring to the 1986 feature length animated movie of the same name and not this particular 109 episode TV series……..and when they become aware of this long running TV version of that movie people may very well assume this series just to be a dragged out gore fest version of the movie.

They may think to themselves how could you make that 109 episodes!?!

Well I’m here to tell you that…yeah….there is a little bit of truth in that line of thinking HOWEVER that movie only scratches the surface of the underlying story read more