Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mobile Fighter G Gundam


Alternative Titles

English: Mobile Fighter G Gundam
Synonyms: Mobile Fighter G-Gundam, Kidou Butouden G Gundam
Japanese: 機動武闘伝Gガンダム

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 49
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 1, 1994 to Mar 31, 1995
Premiered: Spring 1994
Broadcast: Fridays at 17:00 (JST)
Producers: TV Asahi, Sotsu
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 26,229 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14282
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1888
Members: 48,592
Favorites: 804

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 11, 2008
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
The story itself is simple and fun, and minimally engaging. I like how it has unpredictable elements in it and you don’t really expect certain things to happen. The premises within the Future Century universe where games, politics, and wars is handeled through the Gundam Fight is quite an interesting concept in my personal opinion, because I frankly think that’s how things should be. We wouldn’t have war, and it’d be pretty entertaining. But sadly, the people on earth will be collateral damage as a result.

The presentation of the culturally diverse cast is of course where the Ring ni Kakero influences come into play. Certain read more
Apr 26, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
The Gundum franchise has long been hailed for it's depiction of war, the human condition and of course awesome mecha fights. Although the quality of titles vary from one to another when viewed in accession, the core themes regarding war was still always factored in. So when a title like Fighter G Gundam comes along and breaks this commonality it's quite easy to see where the harsh criticism of it comes from. Being the 1st title in the Gundam franchise to really dabble in unfamiliar territory, what we get is a balls to the wall battle shounen that left out the essentials but only retained read more
Feb 20, 2007
OtakuFreak (All reviews)
Well, it's been a while since I wrote another review, and yes it's a Gundam review. I'm the person who has pretty much watched them all (not all but hey, I know all the ones that came out in the USofA). Okay what you have here in front of you was the first of its kind in Gundam History. While after the release of Mobile Suit Gundam Char's Counter attack, a few people in BANDAI came up with a new concept, fuse Martial Arts with Gundam, and hence for became Mobile Fighter G Gundam. No one thought that this would work but it did. Though read more
Apr 30, 2008
godlikeng (All reviews)
G Gundam, one of my favorite Gundam Alternate Universe series. Unfortunately, this series does not get the love it deserves as compared to the newer ones. Although it is named G Gundam, it is in no way a Gundam at all. (Excluding the designs and premise >_>)

Gundams get into one-on-one brawls in the tournament called the Gundam Fight and beat their respective opponents one by one until they win the tournament. The fights are very super-robot-esque, with lots of hot-blooded shouting and super moves, including finishers such as SHINING FINGER! They even come with their own cheesy incantations to be recited before execution.

Story
The show read more
Oct 12, 2013
justchill (All reviews)
wow

um
wow

g gundam has made me ask myself such questions as "who are these 4 new characters who have been introduced out of nowhere only to die 5 minutes later?" and "is that a horse controlling a gundam?"
g gundam has been a constant reminder of my own shortcomings as a human being. as i stare into the screen, g gundam stares back. 49 episodes i watched in a tiny window without sound or subtitles to gather clips of mechs doing whatever, and maybe some of anime girls opening / closing their eyes. i have seen things no one should see. there is literally an episode where read more
Jul 5, 2009
unclesnapple (All reviews)
G Gundam is an anime that is stylistically very different from most of the other Gundam timelines, disregarding a lot of the more serious and realistic aspects of the metaseries. At first, the mesh of Gundam with martial arts and silly-looking robots might be off-putting to hardcore Gundam fans, but once you embrace the show for what it's trying to be, it turns out to be pretty good.

When you think Gundam, you probably think about war and a serious space opera with minimal wackiness and very little in the way of anime-style expressions. G Gundam, for better and for worse, does a complete 180 read more
Jun 1, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
It's not impossible for me to like an anime based on it campiness. It just...happens so rarely. My idea of camp consists of 80s/90s action films, 70s-80s porno films, 80s horror films, the new Godzilla movie, Dredd, the first 2/3 of Umineko, the 90s Zorro film, etc. etc. And you know what they all have in common? They're not f*cking Sunrise mecha!

Seriously, I never got the appeal of these things. Sure Geass was entertaining back when it was fresh and you were new to anime, but not only has it gotten more dated and boring than Independence Day overtime (and by the way, why are read more
Apr 27, 2009
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
What do you get when you cross a classic Hong Kong style martial arts movie with the Gundam Franchise? Mobile Fighter G Gundam - a very unique Gundam series which for many reasons I'm really glad I watched.

The setting is in the future where each country vies for the right to rule space by participating in a "Winner Take All" Gundam Fight on earth every 4 years. It started out slow (6 rating) but the pace picked up throughout and the last 10 episodes flew by. Although parts of the series are predictable, there are plenty of plot twists to keep us entertained, Cliches and read more
Aug 16, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Other than SD Gundam (may it burn in the fires of hell) Mobile Suit Fighter G Gundam is the black sheep of the Gundam family. It has no complicated politics or commentary on the futility of war or the psychological damage that a soldier endures. Instead we get ethnic stereotypes, over the top fights, and absolute grade A cheese! If you are in a light and playful mood and want to watch something delightfully idiotic, here is G Gundam!

Plot 5/10

The plot takes place in the future of course, but this future is not a part of the main Gundam series canon and exists in its read more
Jul 10, 2015
Rage-The-Dragoon (All reviews)
The oddball of the Gundam Franchise.

G Gundam is probably the most child friendly Gundam Series there is.
As a kid I alway's felt I watched these shows in the wrong order. because I saw Gundam Wing when I was 14 and G Gundam a few years later.

While it tries to give us a serious story like most Gundam series It's sometimes hard to keep that serious tone. This is because each country has their Gundams Gimmicked towards somethings that (usually) relates to their country. This causes them to range from serious, creative, to silly and absolutely bizarre designs.

G Gundam sadly did seem to suffer from read more
May 23, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
So yeah, Tomino pissed off Sunrise so much they decided to fire him from Sunrise. Of course, they wouldn’t let this be the end. Oh no, instead they decided to do something insane. They would shift to a more Super Robot-Esque feel, with tournaments, over the top attacks, and lots of ham! And of course, they had the whole little thing planned out so that it would all serve as a giant toy commercial. A simple plot with a tournament would be used, and they even got a newbie director so they could easily control him.

Sunrise made just one little mistake. See, the director they read more
Feb 22, 2009
lihnel (All reviews)
All of the Gundam fight episodes are superb, I have no negative comments about this anime series, it really satisfy my heart whenever I watch this anime, this series is also very heart warming anime, you will fall in Love, you will appreciate the true meaning of Friendship, and your heart leap in happiness, this series has lots of good lessons, THIS IS ONE OF THE ANIME/GUNDAM SERIES LEGEND, I EXTREMELY recommend this to all Anime lovers and Gundam series lover. I will never forget this anime, this is ONE of the best anime forever!!This is really worth watching, even how many times you watch read more
Jul 16, 2013
Phaetons_Folly (All reviews)
G Gundam is by far the most experimental of the main Gundam shows to have been created. Many fans from the West first encountered G Gundam when they were kids watching Toonami, so this show has a strong nostalgia factor for many who have seen it. However after recently re-watching this show, I can confirm that it still contains the same charm and energy I remembered as a kid and it is still one of the most enjoyable anime I have ever watched. It contains some amazing fights, and also has some amazing intentional and unintentional humor.

G Gundam is set many years read more
Jul 24, 2010
Popaglockin (All reviews)
This is the worst ever robot and the main character is a DEMON CASHU! I am really serious that they call him this all throughout the show and it gets really annoying but that doesnt stop there. Most of this show is making no sense or just being silly, like trying to copy bleach but with robots and humans living together.

The Story is a bunch of humans fight in this robots which controls the movements of the robots outside and they are commanded to by there nation. Its so stupid why would nations fight robots like a sport, we dont decide issues with soccer. They read more
Dec 24, 2018
Pockeyramune919 (All reviews)
I had a lot of fun watching this show, from start to finish.

I admit that I’m a bit biased, because I love G Gundam on concept alone, so the only way I’d hate it is if the execution was completely botched. Before watching the show, I knew of the Gundam featured in the show and I was absolutely enthralled by the outlandish designs. There’s a windmill Gundam, a mermaid Gundam, a Sailor Moon-esque Gundam, and even a Gundam made out of a Gundam face. I actually owned a Gunpla of the Sailor Moon-esque Gunda, the Nobel Gundam, well before I started watching the read more
Mar 8, 2014
TheManiacalGamer (All reviews)
What happens when you make giant robots fighting each other 10 times manlier? The result is called G Gundam. Now if you don't know about the Gundam series it's basically about people who fight in large robots called Gundams and each one is unique in each series. Yet G Gundam, set in an alternative universe from the main series of shows, still manages to deliver. The story, at times, can be very predictable yet enjoyable because of the nature of the show. The pacing never felt rushed or slow because of how unique the episodes are from each other. Now the art style is your read more
Jun 22, 2018
LaLeLuLiLo (All reviews)
G Gundam is the first main title to take place out of the universal century, and probably the title that diverged from what the essence of gundam was about. It removes several aspects of what made gundam into the genre of real robots, while at the same time putting aspects of the super robot genre. In essence it tries to be a hybrid of the too while also incorporating aspects of martial arts anime and live action movies. It’s through this blend that G gundam has also been able to garner this aura of campiness. While camp is fine, i firmly believe that there should read more
Jul 3, 2019
slackjawmaw (All reviews)
Mobile Fighter G Gundam is a cheese-fest of epic proportions. If you want to see cartoonishly over-the-top mecha battles, you've come to the right place. My recommendation comes with a slight warning however, as this show is a bit of a slow burn.

The show kind of has 4 distinct parts: the introduction arc, the conflict reveal arc, the tournament arc, and the big nutty finale.

The introduction part of the show is about 14-16 episodes and it can be a chore to sit through depending on your feelings towards old, 90's, episodic anime. It feels like a Saturday morning cartoon, basically. It's not terribly exciting and read more
May 4, 2013
sturver (All reviews)
One of my top favorite Gundam other than Gundam Wing. Wish the creator made a 2nd season to this. I highly recommend all Gundam fans to watch this. Just some simple classic Gundam
Jul 7, 2014
AnimatedBunnies (All reviews)
OK. Now this is just my opinion but I have come across others with the same opinion. If you have been recommended a multitude of Gundam series, watch this one last. I do say that for good reason. Every time I've seen reviews of Gundam series I have seen people writing that they have seen Mobile Fighter G Gundam first and the other series they have seen don't compare. this is not to say that they aren't great but if you watch this first, there will be a feeling that something is missing in all the others. It's not that I'm biased but i have read more