Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Jyu Oh Sei


Alternative Titles

English: Jyu-Oh-Sei: Planet of the Beast King
Synonyms: Juuousei
Japanese: 獣王星

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 14, 2006 to Jun 23, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.331 (scored by 26,111 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1625
Members: 56,177
Favorites: 355

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 1, 2008
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
Not very well known or popular, Jyu Oh Sei is a hidden gem. A relatively short anime, this series went way beyond my expectations in nearly all respects.

Story

Jyu Oh Sei dispels the myth that a series has to be long in order to be good. It's only 11 episodes but the plot moves very fast and a lot of stuff happens at a good pace.

The story starts off with two twin brothers barely into their teens abandoned on a prison planet after their parents are killed. It begins as a "survival tale" with Thor, the elder brother, being the protagonist, and swiftly transitions into read more
Jun 30, 2008
Beatnik (All reviews)
Jyu Oh Sei has stupid names for characters like Thor, Odin, and Zagi of Iliad, but if you can get past that ridiculous attempt at symbolism, and other miscellaneous missteps, you'll hopefully find yourself entertained by this fast paced epic adventure.

On a colony planet far from Earth, two brothers stumble upon their murdered parents and are knocked out by gas. They wake up on a planet loaned from whoever built the sets for King Kong and Little Shop Of Horrors. That's right; the jungle tries to kill you every five minutes!

Who killed their parents? Why were they sent to a cruel planet read more
Nov 30, 2009
Ian_K (All reviews)
Jyo Oh Sei is a good (maybe even great) 29 episode show squeezed into 11 episodes. The result isn't pretty.

The foundation of the plot is a big 'ole mess of second rate science fiction concepts, including The Plant Planet, The Prison Planet, The War Between the Sexes, and others that it would be spoilerish of me to reveal. Seriously, this story kept reminding me of the Golden Age SciFi I've read. The difference is, those stories (well, the good ones anyways) fully explored their concepts and were able make interesting situations out of them. And perhaps the Jyu-Oh-Sei manga manages to read more
May 12, 2008
Kochflakes (All reviews)
Aw~~, Jyu Oh Sei...So special ...
To start, the story. I've never imagined that kind of story could exist.
Mixing Sci-fi with he...Hum...how to say it... with a "king of the "animals"", was very sought.
So: Thor and Rai, 2 little twins with blue eyes, pale skin and grey hair, discovered their parents, dead. Dispatched in an unknown planete -by important people (but who?That's a really important question in this story)-, where the law is simple: the stronger, who rule on every people on this planete (called Chimera), and rule on the "special" flora of Chimera, will be able to quit it...
After a little time to think, read more
Jun 24, 2009
JesuOtaku_ (All reviews)
On the technical side of things, the animation is Studio BONES. Which means it is awesome. This is greatly aided by the fact that the show is only eleven episodes long and can squeeze the most out of its budget, which it does.

The music is nothing particularly special, in fact it can be a little too melodramatic at times, but the opener and closer heavily remind me of 90s top 20 hits, so I can’t hate on it that much.

The acting performances are also quite well-done in this show. For the dub, I was surprised at how mellow the acting was for a read more
Jan 21, 2008
niko2137 (All reviews)
This is great anime which I happen to run across some time ago. It is very addicting with a nice twisting plot. The main action takes place on a carnivorous planet where two young brother (twins) were abandon after they were accused murdering their parents. The only why they can get back home is to become the Ju Oh Sei, the ruler of the planet to do this they have to fight to the death and take over the head postions of each of the color rings(tribes). To show any weakness on this planet means instant death. Survive or die....scary quick. But there is read more
Oct 23, 2007
Talu (All reviews)
How can I put it right? WATCH JYU OH SEI AND YOU WON'T REGRET IT.
Now I can start. :D
-
Story-
Actually I don't like Science-Fiction that much. I think it is boring. But with Jyu Oh Sei? I couldn't stop watching it! If the downloads were more faster, I could finish it in the day I started (I finished it in 2 days). Except of Wolf's Rain, this is one of the most intersting stories I've ever seen in Anime!
-
Art and Animation-
The art was really good. The picture of the views and stuff were good, but in some scene it seemed that the characters had two read more
Sep 26, 2007
Lyle (All reviews)
Story:
Jyu Oh Sei is a story about two twin brothers who were sent to a planet named Chimera. From a point of view, It's very nice, two kids who look the same have to surivive on an abandoned planet with only a poor beam knife, but the planet Chimera is full of dangers, like humen eating plants. I think the story is very good, but there have been similar situation in other animes.

Art:
I don't really complain about the art, it was satisfying enough, but the nose style is kinda getting on nerves.

Sound:
The opening song and the Ending song are really good, and they match it read more
Aug 13, 2016
Pearlescent88 (All reviews)
It seems like most people either love or hate this show. I understand why some people would really appreciate this kind of work, but I'm gonna have to go with the "hate" side.
I saw another review mentioned that this is a great show squeezed into far too few episodes, and I think that's a fair assessment- although the biggest problem is exactly HOW they squeezed it in. The Sci-Fi premise is interesting, the setting detailed and forbidding, the set up for an epic struggle to the top all you could wish for in this kind of story. However, the show never delivered on what read more
Dec 2, 2007
ukiuki (All reviews)
This anime is not too popular, but it is definitely worth the watch.

The story is really really good. There are so many plot twists, and the pace at which it moves is quick but comfortable. The story is the kind of story i like to watch, with betrayals, battles, coming of age, human nature =D

The animation is nothing special...

The opening and ending themes are really good, especially the ending theme. The background music was good as well, but the reason why I didnt rate the sound a 10 is because the animation sequence during the ending theme should have been more elaborate to reflect song. read more
Feb 26, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Jyu-Oh-Sei is a good example of a well written Science Fiction. It has a complex, well thought out plot that, like any good sci-fi, explores human morality. It has strange societies, incredible super-science, compelling character drama, and everything else fans of the genre could want. However, it is also an example of how a good story can fall short of its potential when it is short on time.

In a distant future, human beings inhabit terraformed planets after using up most of Earth's resources. They can no longer reproduce normally and the average human life span has been drastically reduced, those who don't have a read more
Aug 20, 2017
Swiftshooter13 (All reviews)
Nostalgia is a distorted lens in which we attempt to recall past events in an optimistic light despite the thoughts/feelings we may have felt at the time. Rewatching an anime after an extended period provides the viewer with the perception of experiencing a show as if it was their first time, providing useful insight into the human psyche. In this regard, we can compare the two experiences and determine the validity of one's nostalgia and whether or not it is warranted or a fabrication.

**SPOILERS AHEAD**

Jyu Oh Sei: Planet of the Beast King attempts to produce shock and anguish by eliminating Thor and Rai’s read more
Aug 10, 2010
deleteme234 (All reviews)
Left me speechless...

Story:

Jyu-Oh-Sei: Planet of the Beast King, is a relatively short science fiction anime about two twins whose parents are murdered and are abandoned on a deadly planet where criminals are sent to die known as Chimera. Vicious plants rule this planet, and tribes of humans are forced to fight each other, until a hero is granted the title of Beast King.

Nothing though, is what it seems, as proved in the final episodes of this grand show. Jyu-Oh-Sei is an unique and epic masterpiece, and tells an unforgettable story. The ending amazed and shocked me due to its sad nature. Go into Jyu-Oh-Sei expecting read more
May 20, 2008
IcePrincess1513 (All reviews)
This anime honestly surprised me with how awesome it was.

I was online and I happened to come across the opening theme for this anime and when I saw it I decided that I was really bored so I went ahead and watched it expecting to be bored out of my mind after the first couple episodes. I wasn't.

Though I wish it could have a been a bit longer I liked how they developed the story in only 11 episode, true, some parts could have used more detail, but none the less, the plot was carefully unraveled and kept you guessing until the end.

Even read more
Oct 27, 2016
Sumirerireri (All reviews)
(it's Ok, no spoilers here)

It is really difficult to say if this is a good anime or a very bad one.

Let's start with the good aspects.
This anime is very easy to watch. it's short, the plot develops very smoothly and the main premise is very good. A boy who's parents are killed and he is sent to a wild planet without a clue of what's going on around him. When he thinks he has figured out how he should work his way out of the planet in order to find out the answers he's looking for, he starts to discover that things read more
Aug 18, 2012
HybridMedia (All reviews)
So…this is somewhat a fascinating sci-fi anime title from Studio BONES, the guys that brought you Wolf’s Rain, Eureka Seven & Xam’d, based on the manga series written and illustrated by Natsumi Itsuki.

On that, the plot of the series is that three hundred and fifty years have passed since humans first settled the Balkan star system, located approximately 150 light years from Earth, where a number of planets have been "terraformed" to resemble Earth. Two 11-year-old twins, Thor and Rai, live on the space colony Juno until they come home to find their parents have been murdered. The unknown assassins drop Thor and Rai read more
May 20, 2011
EzmierTheSwift (All reviews)
Let me just start by saying until LITERALLY the day before I watched it, I had no idea this anime existed. Honestly, I had no expectations, no idea what it was about, or anything. I simply saw a picture of Third and wondered what he was from.

It is very rare that I will give an anime a 10. Especially across the board. Normally, they range between 5-8. This anime earned it. Some people like those animes that drag on and on...this anime was the perfect length. Short, sweet, perfect.

Let's start with the story. Seems simple enough. Twin brothers from the distant future live an ordinary read more
Apr 14, 2012
CongressTart (All reviews)
Before you begin watching this anime, think to yourself. Are you ready to be depressed? Because that's exactly how this anime makes you feel. This however isn't a bad thing as it is also a wonderful story. If you are in the mood for a happy-go-lucky anime. I wouldn't watch this one for the time being, however it is a must see.

Story: 10

Jyu-Oh-Sei is set in a futuristic time and there are humans living on other planets outside of Earth. There is plenty of symbolism in this anime like power, greed and control. Although futuristic, this anime combines both futuristic and historic elements. The story read more
Nov 2, 2008
Ruie_Lyon (All reviews)
Watching this anime the first time might not make you appreciate it for what it's worth. You might get hooked up with the songs which also happened to me and be fascinated with the characters. Although of course what is really worthwhile is the story, if you liked the vague story the first time you'll love it the second time.
In a time when all of man kind is supported is supported by artificial things. And no one has seen what real nature is like man, the life expectancy of an average person has decreased read more
May 31, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Jyu-Oh-Sei was an anime that felt like it could have worked better if it had more episodes to properly develop and flesh out its characters. The anime creates a Lord of the Flies scenario for Thor as he finds himself forced to survive on a penal planet he was tossed onto following the murder of his family and struggles to retain his humanity in an environment where survival of the fittest is key. The series does do a decent job in painting the type of harsh world that Chimaera is with the plant life being quite hostile and finding it tough to judge who to read more