Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Highschool of the Dead: Drifters of the Dead


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: High School of the Dead OVA, Gakuen Mokushiroku: Highschool of the Dead, HOTD, HSOTD, Drifters of the Dead
Japanese: 学園黙示録 HIGHSCHOOL OF THE DEAD ドリフターズ・オブ・ザ・デッド

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 26, 2011
Producers: Showgate
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 16 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.731 (scored by 129,701 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #49302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #520
Members: 205,107
Favorites: 331

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 27, 2011
Scrypt (All reviews)
If your expecting something big with high-end explosive action and a riveting zombie-apocalypse story, this is not for you.....but if your looking for an add-on to 2010's all-breast soft-porn material that was High School of the Dead then look no further as I can gladly recommend this short OVA which is titled H.O.T.D: Drifters of the Dead.

For all the hype that H.O.T.D received in 2010, you either were 'anti- or for' the franchise and all I can say after watching this short 16 minute episode is that for those who were anti-; Drifters of the Dead is just going to add fuel to your fire.

Drifters read more
Apr 27, 2011
TypeOfCicada (All reviews)
I still don't get the appeal of this series. The show seems to be 5% zombies, 95% cleavage, and this time around, it was 95% cleavage, 5% unusual sex situations.
I mean, I guess I enjoyed it... but there is no story line anywhere in this OVA.
Okay, so technically there was a story line, but it's somewhat difficult to extract.
The odd thing is that if I tell you the story line, I spoil the OVA.
Well, I'll try.

Story- 1
Yes, I gave it a one.
The group comes to an island where they're supposedly safe from the zombies.. typical, right? In this scenario, you would expect to see, read more
Mar 21, 2014
Malfegor (All reviews)
I dont really understand why i picked Highschool of the Dead: Drifters of the Dead as my first anime to review. Its probably because i watched all of HotD in one sitting and my brain isnt functioning properly anymore. Bear with me.
Drifters of the Dead is basically the studio behind the most titillating non-hentai-anime in recent memory going 'maybe we didnt deliver enough on the boobs?'
(they did)
And then they made a beach episode.
So we can have even less plot and even more fanservice than in the regular series. Sure, why not.

Story - 2
Does this OVA continue the open ended story of read more
Apr 28, 2011
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Ok, so first I think that this is gonna be an extended episode, but, it looks like something that was once rated as awesome (the 12 part episode) then it suddenly took a bad dive. So, the rating:

Story: Pathetic no.1.

Story is about them (you know whom) escaping is some deserted island paradise only to get in some kind of high because somebody put Hydrangea in the fire that cause everyone to hallucinate, not only that, it seems that everyone is in heat as well so much so that they all started banging one another with someone they fantasize about......and it ends there.

Art: Very good no.8.

Ok, read more
Apr 28, 2011
ragemon65 (All reviews)
Okay, let's give this OVA a little more preview info's

Just as the tags says, a little bit of horror, and ALOT OF FANSERVICE!!!

Story: 6 ( Normal = = )
Well, This Ova was talking about the group are heading out to an isolated island for the purpose of avoiding those mofo zombies, But this turns out to be not very good... As the island was mainly purpose to.... ( WATCH IT TO KNOW IT xD )

Art: 9 ( DAMN!! BOOBIES @@ )
Srsly, The art of this OVA, as expected from the first season, was really well, The lineart of the characters, details of everything ( I read more
Jun 21, 2011
randomguyPL (All reviews)
===========================
Highschool of the Dead: Drifters of the Dead
===========================


Do the boobs always make everything better? Probably yes, but not in too big amounts.
Why? Because we know, that the more boobs are in anime, the more it's bad.

Except hentai.

Highschool of the Dead mixed the story with ecchi. Did OVA do it?

NO...

Story - 1

Wait, what? There's actually story there? It looks, like there actually IS some sort of story. They escape from zombies on island... Pathetic story.

Art - 8

The art is like always. It's pretty good.

Sound - 9

The voices are great, like always. They really fit for characters. Speaking of which...

Character - 4

Yeah, there's everyone. Nearly. Except zombies.

We read more
Apr 28, 2011
xero-control (All reviews)
When I heard there was going to be an OVA of Highschool of The Dead I was really curious and happy about it, since I am a huge fan of the series but I got disappointed in some points. because Highschool of teh Dead was a Splatter-horror-Zombie Anime with many Ecchi Elements, but that Episode was an Ecchi-Anime with a little Zombie element at the End.

Story 7 -> It was an interesting story but I missed the Zombie-Horror Parts in the Episode.

Art 9 -> It was a very detailed Art style and everything looked awesome!

Sound 8 -> I can't complain about something, thpugh some voices read more
Jun 1, 2011
ebasilio (All reviews)
WHAT NO ZOMBIES ! Yeah I said it! Well almost but all jokes aside I really enjoyed H.O.T.D. I am intrigued with the idea of a zombie apocolypse but this OVA did nothing for the anime. It might have even knocked it down a peg.

Lets face it, H.O.T.D has alot of zombies and blood but if anything else it has more breasts out and about. This OVA was just on the border of almost being porn. There were so much cleavage I was almost a tad bit uncomfortable. The whole episode was nothing but a dedication to fanservice. There's nothing wrong with that but I read more
Nov 22, 2011
The_Fire_Within (All reviews)
Ok, ok... This is the proof that even with glorious girls and a lot of "almost-raping-you ecchi" an OVA can bore you to tears.

If the level of fan service in the series is too much (yes, I think that there can be too much fan service in a series), in this it is ridiculous. Far from being funny or getting anyone (over the age of 18) horny, the over-exploitation of sexuality in the ways used here is so unrealistic and immature that borders the vulgar and grotesque, plus the depth of every character was was sent to oblivion, making them no more than "porn read more
Aug 21, 2011
YasuiWainnoKishi (All reviews)
A calm episode without zombies in wich HotD crew spends a day on the small island's beach. Ecchi and humorous.

But it's not even worth mentioning. It's not very funny and it's not very hot.
The story doesn't evolve in it in any way nor the relations between characters. It's pure and silly ecchi breast action involving all female main characters halucinating, but it's not even interesting.

The only reason I could think of that somebody could watch this OVA is for seeing Miss Shizuka's nipples. :] Fortunately it's short and there's only one episode so I didn't have to watch more of this kind of OVA's to read more
Jun 22, 2012
Xai16 (All reviews)
All our favorite characters providing the ultimate fan service! THANK YOU! My favorite highlights: "REVOLUTION! REVOLUTION!", the pairings at dawn just before the halucinations stopped (Rei and Saeko was perfect), and, of course, Takeshi's halucination. LMFAO!!!
Jun 24, 2014
LawfulEngineer (All reviews)
Well the HOTD is my first ecchi anime to watch, and it happens to be one of those anime that is actually very enjoyable, even if the boobs of the women, are massive, and jiggle more than jello. But this review is just for this OVA.

There is no need to write anything long or fancy for this, because the episode is straight forward. Basically, this episode is about how the gang arrived at an island and had a wild and crazy night due to "something" in the air. There is no real plot to it and it is all about just read more
Oct 24, 2017
Ch0ke (All reviews)
Anime, as an artform, has existed for 100 years now and as the medium evolves so does the quality of shows. However, in protest of this arbitrary rule, Highschool of the dead: drifters of the dead has reached the pinnacle of anime, no, art itself. I truly believe that Highschool of the dead: drifters of the dead is the absolute peak of human creativity; the passion and love put into the OVA coming through in its impeccable presentation. The lively animation of the character's voluptuous assets is a feast to the eyes whilst the story drags you in, making you wish you were in the read more
Jun 1, 2011
Dunkjoe (All reviews)
They might as well make this OVA into a hentai.

Story: Like a hentai, there's near no storyline.

Art: The art is quite bad compared to the original series, I can see quite a number of 2D drawings. But the coloring is good, for the most part.

Sound: Sound was ok, the best part of this ova imo is the ED. The OP doesn't fit in the progression in this OVA. Voice acting was ok for the most part, but the narrator at the front sounds a bit strange. I thought it would be the main male lead's (normal) voice.

Character: For the most part, they stayed true to read more
Aug 2, 2015
swaegmasta (All reviews)
i really liked this anime until all of the scenes started showing "plot", by plot i mean tits and ass everywhere.it seemed to be a cool anime but then after speculation i realized i dont really like it when all the waifus are pulling out their jalopys in every damn scene.but overall 10/10.
Feb 19, 2012
PhaiaFox (All reviews)
Just as I thought HotD coudn't become any more ecchi, this OVA appeared XD Even though this really had nothing much to do with the original story line in my opinion, I enjoyed watching it! :D Like I said it's a very ecchi episode, but some of the things that happened made me LOL forever XD
I don't think I can really say much else about it, if you've seen HotD and you liked it, or if you're in for a good laugh and don't mind lots of ''almost-nudeness'', then I'd say; watch this! ;)
Aug 27, 2013
straggy (All reviews)
This OVA is definitely made for people that enjoyed Highschool of the Dead, which I can definitely say I did. This is one of my favourite anime series (I originally watched the entire thing and the OVA in one sitting because I literally couldn't stop) and rewatching the OVA now that the English dub has finally been released really reminded me of why I love this series and this little extra snippet we got.

Whilst this OVA doesn't necessarily have much of a storyline, and definitely doesn't continue the story from the original series, it does a great justice as a comedy short. It's 15 minutes read more
May 1, 2016
God_of_Salad (All reviews)
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOBIEEEEEEEEES
to many boobies
Ass
Ass
Ass
to many ass
5/10
Story quite stupid. There is no action at all . A lot of tits and ass . So the episode which to watch "on one hand "
total poorly
[PL ]
Dużo cycków dupek. czyli odcinek wyszedł tak że ogląda się go "na jedną rękę"
Zero akcji. czyli ogółem słabo.
Kurde pisze mi że za krótka recenzja.
Dalej tak pisze
co mam zrobić
pomocy, niech ktoś pomoże
dobra emotikony pomagają
╔══╗♫
║██║ ♫
║(O)║ ♫
╚══╝ ♫
_ad88888888888888888888888a,
________a88888"8888888888888888888888,
______,8888"__"P88888888888888888888b,
______d88_________`""P88888888888888888,
_____,8888b_______________""88888888888888,
_____d8P'''__,aa,______________""888888888b
_____888bbdd888888ba,__,I_________"88888888,
_____8888888888888888ba8"_________,88888888b
____,888888888888888888b,________,8888888888
____(88888888888888888888,______,88888888888,
____d888888888888888888888,____,8___"8888888b
____88888888888888888888888__.;8'"""__(888888
____8888888888888I"8888888P_,8"_,aaa,__888888
____888888888888I:8888888"_,8"__`b8d'__(88888
____(8888888888I'888888P'_,8)__________88888
_____88888888I"__8888P'__,8")__________88888
_____8888888I'___888"___,8"_(._.)_______88888
_____(8888I"_____"88,__,8"_____________,8888P
______888I'_______"P8_,8"_____________,88888)
_____(88I'__________",8"__M""""""M___,888888'
____,8I"____________,8(____"aaaa"___,8888888
___,8I'____________,888a___________,8888888)
__,8I'____________,888888,_______,888888888
_,8I'____________,8888888'`-===-'888888888'
,8I'____________,8888888"________88888888"
8I'____________,8"____88_________"888888P
8I____________,8'_____88__________`P888"
8I___________,8I______88____________"8ba,.
(8,_________,8P'______88______________88""8bma,.
_8I________,8P'_______88,______________"8b___""P8ma,
_(8,______,8d"________`88,_______________"8b_____`"8a
__8I_____,8dP_________,8X8,________________"8b.____:8b
__(8____,8dP'__,I____,8XXX8,________________`88,____8)
___8,___8dP'__,I____,8XxxxX8,_____I,_________8X8,__,8
___8I___8P'__,I____,8XxxxxxX8,_____I,________`8X88,I8
___I8,__"___,I____,8XxxxxxxxX8b,____I,________8XXX88I,
___`8I______I'__,8XxxxxxxxxxxxXX8____I________8XXxxXX8,
____8I_____(8__,8XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8___I________8XxxxxxXX8,
___,8I_____I[_,8XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8__8________8XxxxxxxxX8,
___d8I,____I[_8XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8b_8_______(8XxxxxxxxxX8,
___888I____`8,8XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8_8,_____,8XxxxxxxxxxxX8
___8888,____"88XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8)8I____.8XxxxxxxxxxxxX8
__,8888I_____88XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8_`8,__,8XxxxxxxxxxxxX8"
__d88888_____`8XXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8'__`8,,8XxxxxxxxxxxxX8"
__888888I_____`8XXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8'____"88XxxxxxxxxxxxX8"
__88888888bbaaaa88XXxxxxxxxxxxXX8)______)8XXxxxxxxxxXX8"
__8888888I,_``""""""8888888888888888aaaaa8888XxxxxXX8"
__(8888888I,______________________.__```"""""88888P"
___88888888I,___________________,8I___8,_______I8"
____"""88888I,________________,8I'____"I8,____;8"
___________`8I,_____________,8I'_______`I8,___8)
____________`8I,___________,8I'__________I8__:8'
_____________`8I,_________,8I'___________I8__:8
______________`8I_______,8I'_____________`8__(8
_______________8I_____,8I'________________8__(8;
_______________8I____,8"__________________I___88,
______________.8I___,8'_______________________8"8,
______________(PI___'8_______________________,8,`8,
_____________.88'____________,@@___________.a8X8,`8,
_____________(88_____________@@@_________,a8XX888,`8,
____________(888_____________@@'_______,d8XX8"__"b_`8,
___________.8888,_____________________a8XXX8"____"a_`8,
__________.888X88___________________,d8XX8I"______9,_`8,
_________.88:8XX8,_________________a8XxX8I'_______`8__`8,
________.88'_8XxX8a_____________,ad8XxX8I'________,8___`8,
________d8'__8XxxxX8ba,______,ad8XxxX8I"__________8__,__`8,
_______(8I___8XxxxxxX888888888XxxxX8I"____________8__II__`8
_______8I'___"8XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8I'____________(8__8)___8;
______(8I_____8XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8"______________(8__8)___8I
______8P'_____(8XxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8I'________________8,_(8___:8
_____(8'_______8XxxxxxxxxxxxxxX8'_________________`8,_8____8
_____8I________`8XxxxxxxxxxxxX8'___________________`8,8___;8
_____8'_________`8XxxxxxxxxxX8'_____________________`8I__,8'
_____8___________`8XxxxxxxxX8'_______________________8'_,8'
_____8____________`8XxxxxxX8'________________________8_,8'
_____8_____________`8XxxxX8'________________________d'_8'
_____8______________`8XxxX8_________________________8_8'
_____8________________"8X8'_________________________"8"
_____8,________________`88___________________________8
_____8I________________,8'__________________________d)
_____`8,_______________d8__________________________,8
______(b_______________8'_________________________,8'
_______8,_____________dP_________________________,8'
_______(b_____________8'________________________,8'
________8,___________d8________________________,8'
________(b___________8'_______________________,8'
_________8,_________a8_______________________,8'
_________(b_________8'______________________,8'
__________8,_______,8______________________,8'
__________(b_______8'_____________________,8'
___________8,_____,8_____________________,8'
___________(b_____8'____________________,8'
____________8,___d8____________________,8'
____________(b__,8'___________________,8'
_____________8,,I8___________________,8'
_____________I8I8'__________________,8'
_____________`I8I__________________,8'
______________I8'_________________,8'
______________"8_________________,8'
______________(8________________,8'
______________8I_______________,8'
______________(b,___8,________,8)
______________`8I___"88______,8i8,
_______________(b,__________,8"8")
_______________`8I__,8______8)_8_8
________________8I__8I______"__8_8
________________(b__8I_________8_8
________________`8__(8,________b_8,
_________________8___8)________"b"8,
_________________8___8(_________"b"8
_________________8___"I__________"b8,
_________________8________________`8)
_________________8_________________I8
_________________8_________________(8
_________________8,_________________8,
_________________Ib_________________8)
_________________(8_________________I8
__________________8_________________I8
__________________8_________________I8
__________________8,________________I8
__________________Ib________________8I
__________________(8_______________(8'
___________________8_______________I8
___________________8,______________8I
___________________Ib_____________(8'
___________________(8_____________I8
___________________`8_____________8I
____________________8____________(8'
____________________8,___________I8
____________________Ib___________8I
____________________(8___________8'
_____________________8,_________(8
_____________________Ib_________I8
_____________________(8_________8I
______________________8,________8'
______________________(b_______(8
_______________________8,______I8
_______________________I8______I8
_______________________(8______I8
________________________8______I8,
________________________8______8_8,
________________________8,_____8_8'
_______________________,I8_____"8"
______________________,8"8,_____8,
_____________________,8'_`8_____`b
____________________,8'___8______8,
___________________,8'____(a_____`b
__________________,8'_____`8______8,
__________________I8/______8______`b,
__________________I8-/_____8_______`8,
__________________(8/-/____8________`8,
___________________8I/-/__,8_________`8
___________________`8I/--,I8________-8)
____________________`8I,,d8I_______-8)
______________________"bdI"8,_____-I8
___________________________`8,___-I8'
____________________________`8,,--I8'
_____________________________`Ib,,I8'



Jul 29, 2012
hartosi (All reviews)
This was a lack luster attempt at maintaining my interest in the series.

The mangaka and the animators have moved on to other projects with little mention of continuing the series.

If it is still on their 'to do' list, there are no indicators it will be anytime soon or for that matter, any better than this episode.

Echhi? Yes!

But, as with all apocalypse (death by zombie) genres, I have yet to see a good series that has a well established beginning (character establishment during the 'event' and the creation of the 'new' reality), a solid middle (development of the cause and effect and further read more
Jun 15, 2013
xPhantomhive (All reviews)
Well, let me just say this: Drifters of the Dead is basically a filler episode, full of jiggly boobs and yuri action. It doesn't have any of the kickass zombie apocalypse action that most of you were probably expecting.

That's all.