Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Beelzebub


Alternative Titles

English: Beelzebub
Japanese: べるぜバブ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 60
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2011 to Mar 25, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2011
Broadcast: Sundays at Unknown
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: Pierrot Plus
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.011 (scored by 157,042 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5612
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #225
Members: 355,358
Favorites: 4,286

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 23, 2011
TheSakurax (All reviews)
Preliminary
"He's sweating alot."
"...THAT'S NOT SWEAT, THAT'S --[SPOILER]--"

Give this anime about 2minutes, and you'll already be laughing your ass off. I'm usually very picky with my comedy animes. I need them to be surprising, unique, and more than anything --weird. (Seriously...nothing normal is EVER FUNNY.)

Story: 8/10

What you get:

- A tougher-than-anyone yankee
- ...paired up with a Demon-Lord Baby (who is adorable)
- ...and is perpetually naked.
- A giant beefy man whose ability to transport people is nothing short of NUTS, not to mention GROSS and disturbing.
- VERY easily distracted Demon-Lord-King who puts Mahjong over destroying the human race
- AND MORE.

Art: 9/10
Beelzebub is so evil AND cute you read more
Dec 6, 2012
Last_Chevalier (All reviews)
Beelzebub is a genuinely funny anime. And I mean laugh out loud 'til your sides hurt sort of funny. You know you're in for a good time when we are introduced to the basic storyline in the first episode... a huge guy floating down the river spots a “handsome and good looking young man” "who cared nothing for his follow humans". He proceeds to then bestow the green haired demon baby (Beelzebub) unto our protagonist, Oga Tatsumi, in one of the strangest fashions imaginable, before taking with an impressive ballerina pirouette. Hijinks ensue when the baby's beautiful demon maid servant, Hildegarde comes looking for the read more
Feb 1, 2011
aKiy0z (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will not deny, I'll be a little biased towards this anime cuz my favourite genre is comedy and the supernatural, so this was quite the perfect show for me.

Story:
Once upon a time, in a land faraway, there was a barbaric, ruthless, defiant, demon-like bastard who thought nothing of his fellow man. And under some strange as heck circumstances, he started to raise a baby.

Correction. Not just any baby. The next great demon lord!

And so we follow this man, Oga and Baby Beel with their wacky so called 'adventures'. The story's plot is not deep or anything, however it does feature something out of our read more
Apr 15, 2011
Queen_Stars (All reviews)
Preliminary
I give this serise a 6, which may come as a suprise to others, yet carefull though has gone into this...

When the manga came out, I though it sounded promising and in all honesty, it came off to a good start; it was entertaining and the plot is actually fairly brilliant.
Unfortuantley, it slowed down. I gave up a while back, hoping to start reading when it became eventful.
Around a year ago however, I heared an anime was in production; so I dropped the manga in order to fully enjoy this serise in motion picture and erase predictability; at a faster pace, this wasn't the case.

The read more
Oct 7, 2011
Plagus777 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Beelzebub... I was eager to try it at first, found the first episode cute and from then on I found it to be progressively tedious and under-entertaining.

Story - Skipping the summary, we have a continuous series of who's tougher than who without any kind of emotional investment or deeply convincing romance. Instead we have low grade manufactured comedy that can't even crack my lips into a smile if it were as inflexible as water. It has not and I do not expect it to ever give me a laugh where I cradle my gut in my arms in joyous pain.

There is nothing here of value read more
Dec 17, 2015
Ruggarell (All reviews)
Let's get right to the central point because I writing like short reviews.

You're probably asking to yourself when picking up this Anime "Will this make me laugh so hard I can't breathe?". The simple answer is YES and let me explain why.

The names of the central characters the story of Beelzebub revolves around is Tatsumi Oga and Baby called Beelzebub. Tatsumi is a delinquent at the worst school in his area and Beelzebub is the son of a demon who was destined to take over the world. From there, wacky stuff happens in EACH EPISODE that will have you on the floor crying for laughter. read more
Jul 19, 2011
Romie-chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a purely enjoyment show full of violence and naked baby.

"This is a story of a delinquent high school student who ended up having to raise a baby due to unexpected occurances, but this isn't just any baby, it's the Demon King."

That is what you'll hear at the beginning of each episode. It is a constant reminder of what the show is about... as if we'd forget. The show is pretty random throughout, but the show does carry an underlying plot, so not everything is random. And by random, I mean each episode has some kind of different aspect that needs to be learned read more
Dec 12, 2015
Nalexie_ (All reviews)
Plot/Story: 10/10 I just want to start off by saying that this anime is SO fucking funny. You'll be laughing in the first five minutes. Unless you know......you don't have a sense of humor. Super original and unique plot. You got this yakuza looking guy looking after a baby. I mostly watched this just for the comedy.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Art: 8/10 Very good art. Not too shabby.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sound: 9/10 Nice voices. The baby's voice is adorable.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Characters: 9/10 Super likable characters. Most of them are so funny. Decent character development.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Overall: 8/10 If you like to laugh. Watch this anime. If you're one of those people who THINK they read more
Aug 4, 2013
shaun2thet (All reviews)
Raising a baby isn't as easy as some people might make it seem, especially if the child is the son of the Demon King. His urination has the power to flood the entire country of Japan, oh and make sure to stay within 15 meters of the baby otherwise you will suffer an electrical shock that will instantly electrocute the life out of you.

Beelzebub is a 60 episode anime series following the high school delinquent protagonist, Oga Tatsumi, whom one day sees a big guy floating down the river, split in half, and is thus given the responsibility of raising the demon baby, Baby Beel. read more
Dec 10, 2011
Charliegone (All reviews)
Preliminary
To put it simply Beelzebub is a show that has overstayed it's welcome. The first several episodes are enjoyable, exciting and funny, which is why I watched this show until now.

Sometimes shows should be given some time off to keep us interested at times, I felt that way towards Bleach and now with this one. It's just become way too predictable. The gags aren't funny anymore, the animation hasn't improved one bit, in fact, I think it's worse! What's going on with this show? Just feels so empty now. I've decided to drop this, which is a shame, since it had some potential.

The read more
Apr 19, 2013
Kuribohhhh (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'd like to start off by clearing one thing up.

I like Beelzebub.

I like Oga, the unbeatable 16 year old delinquent with his ass-pull power ups, and I absolutely adore Baby Be'el, who - for a baby whose only forms of communications seem to be the phrase 'Dabuh' and the victory sign - is one hellishly insightful character. I like watching Oga destroy everyone that happens to march in his way in sadisticly inventive ways. I really like the visceral beauty that is Beelzebub, and giving it a 4 out of 10 must seem extremely outlandish after such statements.

The thing is, what makes Beelzebub work for read more
Dec 21, 2011
chickclick (All reviews)
Preliminary
Beelzebub is a great Anime in every category. Each and every episode will make you laugh your ass off. Actually, I randomly watched an episode from this anime and straight up fall in love with it.

Story: 10/10
-Story is not completely original but overall it seems as though (a naked baby hanging on the back of a teenage delinquent).
- The baby is absolutely NAKED. (You can see his private parts).
-Transportation is quite amazing done by Batim do Emuna Alaindelon. He is a dimensional transfer demon who split him-self up and can transfer anyone who enters within him to the demon read more
Oct 11, 2018
bridgetheman (All reviews)
This anime to me is a classic of its time. Airing during what I am going to call the golden age of shounen. I believe this show put up with the best of them, gintama, Naruto, even bleach by the end. The story starts off with our delinquent (oga) getting into some trouble, like he will do for much of the series. When all of a sudden he stumbles upon 'beel'. Oga our Being the son of the demon lord he has many powers (which they likely took from Pokemon the original series) with him being able to shock our main man.Through the series read more
Feb 20, 2011
grakara (All reviews)
Preliminary
Beelzebub, a story about a ruthless defiant who doesn´t care about his fellow man at all, paired with the baby of the demon king.

At first i was skeptical about it, but still gave it a try due to the ratings that the manga had. And if i may say so, i wasn't let down the least.

The mixture of action, comedy, supernatural and maybe a little drop of romance makes up a delicious meal.

The story begins with Oga being chosen as the parent of the demon king's son, Beelzebub IV. Oga who sees Beel-bo as nothing more than a nuisance tries to get read more
Oct 8, 2017
logyloo (All reviews)
Don't waste your time watching Beelzebub. It is 60 episodes of boring stories and nothing interesting nor funny. I gave Beelzebub a 3/10 overall.

The story, which I wouldn't even call it, was terrible. The concept is interesting, but the story goes no where. When I first started watching the anime I enjoyed it quite a bit. However, I was expecting them to go into Hell and go on some crazy adventure. None of that happened. It was just the main character, Tatsumi Oga, taking care of a demon baby and going to his delinquent school.

The art was standard anime art and there isn't much to read more
Feb 25, 2011
reidesu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now, LET'S BEGIN! Beelzebub huh? Ever since I saw it in the upcoming spring anime, It never really caught my eye. That is until it came out.

The first episode will leave you in tears. I'm serious! You'll be laughing so hard that you will begin to cry! The whole concept is hilarious! Definitely watch this anime if your looking for a good laugh!

Story:
Well as funny as the show is, the story is kind of weird. Really not something that I would have expect when I saw the anime at first. It's basically about this normal teenage kid who under certain circumstances is raising a, to read more
Feb 13, 2015
Giannini (All reviews)
"Let me tell you something good—Beel won’t destroy the human world, do you know why? It’s because I’m his parent, I won’t ever let him do something this stupid." - Tatsumi Oga

I shall go straight into this, hopefully it's an alright review.

Story: There are many stories about devils/Satan and such, but this one is a bit different. Satan sends his baby to Earth to pick a strong person who then will raise him to be able to destroy Humans. He then picks Oga Tatsumi, a delinquent, and faces many tough challenges of raising Beel.

Art: The art of Beelzebub was nice. Good colors, backgrounds, details, read more
Jan 24, 2013
explicit707 (All reviews)
This anime started out great. It has a lot of comedy that works well. In fact it was the comedy that really drove it for me. There is a story of sort, but the storyline is the weakest element in this series. The idea is great, but all in all it's a fair delivery at best.

The main character is an incredibly strong delinquent. The connection he forms with Beel is pretty solid, and their relationship is key to the story. The supporting characters are all delinquents as well, and though they have a lot of humor they are all lacking. The fight scenes build up read more
Mar 17, 2012
Thatguy31 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello everyone, welcome to my beelzebub anime review...*seethe*... if any of you remember my manga review then you'd think I'd br praising this too right? WRONG!! I CAN'T STAND THIS ANIME ADAPTATION, I SWEAR BEELZEBUB'S GOT THE WORST LUCK IN THE WORLD TO GET THIS PILE OF GARBAGE AS A ANIME ADAPTION!! well, I'm going to beging being a bit more mature reviewer here and explain to you why I despise this piec of sh- anime, so much, while I have nothing but love for the manga.

Story: Its pretty much the same, which really should make me hate it less, but its exactly this read more
May 18, 2017
Honbloc (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overall a very good anime, so funny to watch easy to grind the whole series from what i can watch, the only problem it is for me is that the baby is naked pretty much all the time except where the episode is made it a problem that he needs to be covered up specifically

Characters are so fun to learn about and everyone tries there hardest to be badass but cant be more hardcore than the main character with the baby.

Art and Sound are both key for me to keep watching and when watching it looks fresh and clean