Turn A Gundam


∀ Gundam

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: ∀ Gundam
Synonyms: Mobile Suit Gundam Turn A
Japanese: ∀ガンダム

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 1999 to Apr 14, 2000
Premiered: Spring 1999
Broadcast: Fridays at 17:00 (JST)
Producers: Sotsu, Fuji TV
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, MilitaryMilitary, Sci-FiSci-Fi, AdventureAdventure, SpaceSpace, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, MechaMecha
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.701 (scored by 1121911,219 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2668
Members: 33,913
Favorites: 707
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 17, 2008
Bernard_Monsha (All reviews)
Turn A Gundam marks a turning point in the career of Yoshiyuki Tomino. Caught in a severe depression during and after the production of Victory Gundam he turned out two lackluster projects (Brainpowered and Garzey's Wing). As he came out of his depression he began developing an idea for a new Gundam series to include all the alternate continuities into one the Correct Century. He succeeds with Turn A Gundam.

Breaking away from his Kill 'Em All melodramas that marked his earlier successes, he came up with a much lighter outlook which has shown in the works after. While read more
May 16, 2014
Hatul (All reviews)
This is not your average Gundam series.
If you're not familiar with Gundam and the UC universe in particular, then this is not a good place to start.
It does have a stand alone story, but it's certainly not intended for people who have little to no prior knowledge about the franchise.

This is a spoiler free review.

*Story*

This one takes place thousands of years in the future in which the only space colony left is on the moon and obviously its population has advanced technology (including mechs of course), meanwhile, the people on earth are still living in a 1930s way of life. Everything is fine and dandy, read more
Apr 22, 2011
ralfi (All reviews)
with pictures and sounds creating an imaginary world, rich and beautiful, full with doubts and questions live is providing. unfolding an epic story just with giving the actions of the displayed characters in a fully participating enviroment.
thats the way of Turn A Gundam.

i enjoyed it very much, got deeply sought in.
even more than by the literary quality of storytelling and the excellent work of all the participating visual and performing artists i was deeply impressed by the great respect toward nature and humanity as a part of it. the smallest thing was allowed to create its own beauty, the least important character was granted its read more
Jun 27, 2009
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
Story and Characters

Initially, Turn A Gundam started as a total departure from the normal Universal Century Gundam formula. Set hundreds of years from the traditional gundam storyline, the earth has just began to recover from the depredations of the gundam wars, and the old earth citizens who escaped from the moon are planning a return to earth.

Our protagonist Loran, is one of three "advance scouts" sent to earth by the Moon's queen, Dianna, to figure out if the planet is (1) habitable (2) worth returning to. This is his story. On the way he learns about earth, the moonrace decides to return and he inevitably read more
Apr 30, 2017
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
Ever since I reviewed Gundam Build Fighters series aka the modern era for Gundam I wanted to check out the Gundam franchise again because Gundam Build Fighters series was the series that re intrudes me to the Gundam universe. At the time the only Gundam show that I saw before GBF is Gundam 0079 and a bit of Gundam Wing. Over the course of last year I started to watch the Gundam universe from 00. Wing, Seed, Iron Blood Orphans and so on. Some were great and others range from mediocre to bad. Now out of the all the Gundam shows Turn A Gundam is read more
May 14, 2018
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
The mid to late nineties was a dark time for the Gundam franchise. After several flops for once famed director, Yoshiyuki Tomino, he seemed to be on his way out from the anime community. His interesting blend of politics, misanthropy, and cynicism was finally losing its novelty. After the poorly received Mobile Suit Victory Gundam, Tomino entered a several year hiatus. The hiatus seemed to have no end in sight until he came back in 1999 with Turn A Gundam, arguably the strongest written anime Tomino has ever produced.
Turn A Gundam is a rejection of Tomino’s prior Gundam entries in many ways. While read more
Apr 5, 2008
Huntsman (All reviews)
I had a few recommendations for this series, telling me this was a great Gundam Series. Unfortunately I can't agree.

The series takes place a few thousand years after previous Gundam Series. After a great war many humans fled to the moon, the remaining humans on earth slowly struggled to survive. Eventually the earth civilization resembles the early to mid 1900s. Then the Moonrace comes back to the earth claiming a right to live on the planet. War then erupts between the moonrace and earth.

The overall story was the best part of the series. I liked the new plot to read more
Dec 7, 2019
Manthors (All reviews)
[2nd Edit] Turn A Gundam is probably the Gundam series with most diverging opinions out there. I watched every Gundam released and, unfortunately, Turn A didn`t click for me. Overall is the most confusing Gundam out there, with the less interesting plot (although extremely original), the most confusing background scenario, and with the least interesting characters. More bellow.

Story: If you are familiar with the UC, you will see a lot of references here. I strongly advise you to not see Turn A if you are not familiar with the UC. The story is already too much of a mess even if you know it. Here read more
Aug 1, 2016
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*SPOILERS FOR TURN A GUNDAM. YOKO KANNO DID THE MUSIC. THIS REVIEW WILL ALSO BE REALLY LONG, BUT PLEASE BEAR WITH ME*

So, you've just finished making Cowboy Bebop! The century is turning as we speak! A famous writer presents an idea for a new Gundam show! As you know, some of the last few Gundam works haven't been so successful. Plus, your budget won't be as high this time around given Bebop. Do you take the risk and hope it becomes as successful as Gundam Wing? Do you let it die like some of Yoshiyuki Tomino's other works? Do you think you can pull it read more
Jun 27, 2011
unclesnapple (All reviews)
One thing that has kept the Gundam metaseries relevant over the decades is the fact that it can completely change the setting, style, and characters from series to series yet still feel like a Gundam show as long as it retains some key elements. The great flexibility of Gundam is shown yet again with Turn A Gundam, a series that is not without weaknesses but still successfully tries to separate itself from the Gundam pack.

When I first started watching the show, I immediately connected with most of the extremely likable and interesting characters. Sometimes, it takes a while for characters in a Gundam show to read more
Jan 14, 2015
Nyren (All reviews)
The Mobile Suit Gundam series has existed since 1979, so 36 years old as of the end of 2015 later this year, and in that large span of time, Sunrise and Bandai have put out a vast array of Gundam anime. And for the 20th Anniversary of Gundam in 1999 they released the first Yoshiyuki Tomino(Creator of Gundam) series since Mobile Suit Victory Gundam, Turn A Gundam. And even when placed against the myriad of Gundam series, and even the black sheep Mobile Fighter G Gundam, Turn A Gundam is a bit of an oddball.

It is a well known fact that Gundam often portrays large read more
Jul 31, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
Preliminary
With the creator and director Tomino coming off of severe depression, the Gundam series went a different direction. The first being Victory Gundam and the second being this one in Turn A Gundam. This would be the eighth installment in the Gundam franchise and has been confirmed that Turn A takes place thousands of years after the events of Gundam in the Universal Century.

Our setting is Earth in which it and humanity has finally recovered enough after the Gundam wars. More so, the people living in space want to return to Earth. The main protagonist, Loran, is one of three sent by the moon queen read more
May 22, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Turn A Gundam was created to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the Gundam franchise and is directed by Yoshiyuki Tomino. Being of a different continuity than the Universal Century timeline, Turn A made for some of the best material I seen for an alternate continuity to the Gundam franchise thus far. Rather than try ripping ideas from the Universal Century continuity and/or get into overblown antics like Gundam Wing, SEED and G Gundam, Turn A Gundam implements its own ideas and mecha designs to a great extent here.

Turn A depicts a time thousands of years in the future where the space battles of old have read more
May 26, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
Pretty much all franchises have at least one show that you kinda have to wonder “What the hell were they even thinking?”. Gundam actually has two of these. The first was G Gundam, which I’ve already reviewed and as I said, it was awesome. But then there’s the other one: Turn A Gundam. Ironic given that Tomino actually came back for this show. I don’t know how he managed to do this considering his fallout with Sunrise, but whatever. Anyhow, let’s see what this mess is all about.

Story:

The setting is probably the most unique thing about this show. It’s set in an almost steampunk like read more
Aug 8, 2016
MakotoLee (All reviews)
A unique entry in the Gundam universe, it deviates from the conventional Gundam tropes to deliver one of Tomino's best works to date. An exceptional story supported by an amazing soundtrack make this work one worth watching.

The art however is somewhat dated and would be vastly improved if an HD remaster were released. The MS designs by Syd Mead might turn a few Gundam fans away (some of them are sinply bizzare), but the series doesn't need to rely on flashy MS designs to bring you into its story and characters.

It is worth mentioning this series does attempt to work off of all Gundam series read more
Apr 25, 2012
Kotori_Sonoda (All reviews)
Turn A Gundam (along with Mobile Fighter G Gundam) may stand out as the oddballs of the Gundam universe.
Set in a time period resembling the industrial revolution, Turn A pits mobile suits VS fighter planes. Weird, huh?
Another oddity is the lead suit, Turn A or "White Doll" as it is often called. Instead of having a V-fin, it has a mustache. It may turn you down at first, but soon you'll grow to love it. The Turn X, the enemy counterpart of Turn A, is pretty nice as well.
The characters are memorable too. There's Loran Cehack, the pilot of the White Doll; Lieutenant Harry, this read more
Mar 30, 2020
kesafat (All reviews)
Well, It's not even close to describe this work as a good under-rated Gundam... .
I hadn't ever seen an unsaturated work to come close to Serial Experiment Lain in term of masterfully harmonized design style, animating style, music style,voice acting style, narration style,, and directorship in one word. they are each different tasks done by different genius artists but in the end it's the director who if not lead, approves of them and puts their work together. so it should be regarded as a whole. Yoko Kanno sure did a great work here but it wouldn't have worked if the other sections where not harmonized read more
Oct 21, 2019
supedeglupe (All reviews)
I personally think this Gundam is the most successful of all of them. Because it is so different. It gave me the atmosphere I truly desired, getting to appreciate humans living in harmony with earth. The pacing and adventure of this Gundam is also unparalleled. I didn't have to see someone being deployed or read drab dialogue in a war room every episode to still love it. The abundance of characters were not a jumbled mess like most of the Gundam series.

While characters do feel very one dimensional or whiny and confusing in most of the series, (i guess for children to easily understand,) read more