Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nishi no Yoki Majo: Astraea Testament


Alternative Titles

English: The Good Witch Of The West
Synonyms: Nishi no Yoki Majo
Japanese: 西の善き魔女 Astraea Testament

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2006 to Jul 1, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Maiden Japan
Studios: Hal Film Maker
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.851 (scored by 4,682 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #43412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3631
Members: 14,121
Favorites: 45

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 24, 2007
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Nishi no Yoki Majo ' Astraea Testament

Manga/Anime/Novel: Nishi no Yoki Majo's original incarnation was an eight-volume, three side-story novel series done by Noriko Ogiwara. The manga incarnation, which keeps Ogiwara on the story and puts Haruhiko Momokawa on the art, is currently running in Japan, began being serialized in Comic Blade on July 9th, 2006, and currently has five volumes released. Tokyopop has picked it up, and will release it under the title Good Witch of the West ' Nishi no Yoki Majo's literal translation ' this October (2006). The anime itself ran from April 7th to June 30th of this year read more
Aug 14, 2007
elricbro15 (All reviews)
Good Witch was a show I picked up on recommendation from a friend of mine, and while I was initially disappointed, it proved itself down the stretch.

The main sticking point here was the story. Don't get me wrong, the plot itself was well-written with lots of twists and turns. However, this show was poorly paced, which is what happens when you put either some or all of 9 light novels into a 13 episode series. The first half of the show was a whirlwind, and while this is understandable considering how the main character is swept up into a world she doesn't read more
May 3, 2008
angelofutopia (All reviews)
The story itself would have been better if it hadn't been so condenced. Oddly enough I didn't think that the story was all that rushed and things were going to fast. I would have liked a breather every once in awhile though. The whole series was full of moments that you had to catch or be lost forever. As it is I'm going to have to watch the series again to catch things that I've missed.
The art was pretty good. The series was nice to look at although it wasn't anything shocking in my opionion. You could tell that they put some work into read more
Mar 21, 2008
animemangafan4 (All reviews)
Actually, in truth, this anime is one of the best short animes I have watched!! It made me want to know more and what is going to happen next~ It's very gripping and this anime is an anime that someone would really want to finish in one day because it is just that good. There may be some parts in which they drop the anime's tension by a bit, but that's all what's bad about it. But also because it is shorter, it keeps viewers interested all the way until the end and love it. I know because that happened to me. I was bored read more
Dec 4, 2009
Satokah (All reviews)
The series is great! You really won't regret watching it! Lots of love and romance and heated passionate moments for our 15 yr old heroine starting from the second episode. It's very much into fairy tales. VERY. So if you are a fantasy junkie, likes fairy tale stories, likes cute things, and is a big fan of shows where the heroine has a bunch of guys who are in love with her and she has to choose one, you will like this.

Don't be fooled by it being 13 episodes long. The story's not rushed at all and it begins and ends perfectly. My hope read more
Aug 27, 2010
MonjaElisa (All reviews)
The Good Witch of the West.
Its an anime filled with Much Romance, Drama, Mystery and Action. If you wish to see a anime with a great yet not to obvious storyline this is the anime for you.

It started of looking as nothing but some lame children anime, but as the story unfolds you will find the story interesting and you might also get addicted to it.
The expected won't happen as you watch this 13 episodes long anime.
The first episodes might not be so capturing however when you start following the story for real you might have troubles leaving your computer.

I will without a read more