Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko


Alternative Titles

English: Ground Control to Psychoelectric Girl
Synonyms: Electromagnetic Wave Woman and Adolescent Man
Japanese: 電波女と青春男

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 15, 2011 to Jul 1, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Starchild Records, TBS
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Shaft
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.261 (scored by 87,798 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25682
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #412
Members: 197,069
Favorites: 888

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 11, 2011
Wittgenstein (All reviews)
I don’t make it a point to write reviews, but I particularly enjoyed Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko, and, upon seeing its subpar ratings, felt somewhat obligated to defend it, so, here goes:

Art:

Wonderful, wonderful artwork. I’m a stickler for art, having dropped numerous series simply because I couldn’t stand the way they were drawn, and Denpa Onna definitely wins in this category. Shaft has outdone itself – colorful, lively scenery, vibrant, multi-toned characters, and, in general, great color schemes, compositions, and dynamism in each frame. It’s not quite 5 cm/s, but I daresay it’s approaching that level.

Soundtrack:

I usually neglect this category, as I find it read more
Jun 30, 2011
8thSin (All reviews)
This review exists within the internet, authored by a SHAFT fanboi.
It functions only as a test ground for me. It is also a spoiler zone in this page.

Under the current assessment of the series, it is a "9/10".
This was determined by my reaction to audio-visual investigation of the SHAFT seishun anime.
Patience is the closest thing viewers have to salvation.
However, accelerated exposure could amplify the viewing experience of a class-2 audience.

A collective of readers that has forgotten it is a collective of voters... That is you.
Members of the self-unaware, clueless MAL users under aliases are not permitted to vote "Not Helpful" on this review.
Injection of corrective read more
Jun 20, 2011
DangoSage (All reviews)
Let's say you have a drinking problem. Instead of admitting that you have a problem, you blame your drinking because your wife nags at you, or because the devil told you to do it, or some other excuse I could not think of because I do not have drinking problem. (No, I'm not in denial here, I seriously don't have a drinking problem)

Reality distortion

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko deals with characters who distorts reality to their own convenience to escape facing the inconceivable truth. As normal human beings, we usually believe our perception of the worlds within and around us is "true."

The story revolves around read more
Oct 8, 2013
DreamyGhost (All reviews)
A really casual one, it was a totally random choice, but I don't regret it though. So what's it about? It may not have an incredible climax and everything... Instead, this anime focuses more upon reflection. It's simple: just take a teenager who wants to enjoy his high school years to the max and add an odd girl to whom he begins devoting his time, in order to get her back to real life.

Makoto's first time in a big city made him create big expectations about how his life would be from now on. He wanted to meet girls, spend time with them and read more
Jul 5, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
A problem that a show with interesting premise or quirks can run into is getting far too wrapped up in itself. A show can become contrived, focusing on playing around with its quirkiness; forgetting that there is a story to be told. Such is the case with Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko, a charmingly eccentric show that ultimately gets deflated by the eccentricities that made it appealing to begin with.

Denpa Onna is a bizarre show, to say the very least. It centers around Makoto Niwa, a somewhat sarcastic young man who goes to live with his aunt Meme; having certain expectations of his new life. read more
Jul 26, 2011
Wilio (All reviews)
I hate Shaft, I really hate this studio. For every good show they make, there must be some 5 mediocre ones in between. However, I still love their artsy touch and the way they handle most dialogues that is much present in Denpa Onna. Yet, there’s something lacking in Denpa Onna to make it good and that is a focus. It’s a shame really, because this anime had such a great start. I find it sad that they had to ruin it in the second half.

Based on a light novel, the story shares some similiraties with the Haruhi Suzumiya. Most notably, the two main characters, read more
Sep 13, 2013
Simonian (All reviews)
The central problem with 'Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko' is the way it treats the supernatural. It attributes normal, everyday occurrences to aliens, espers, clairvoyance etc. Had a bad day at school? Must be god's fault. Achieved something you've never even dreamed of achieving? Must be your esp abilities. Amnesia? Aliens. Cute girl smiles at you? Fate.

You can pretty much see that this kind of storytelling is going to get ridiculous after a few episodes and sure enough that's exactly what happens in this anime. Despite the "Sci-fi" tag, there's no attempt at any scientific explanation either. Things that have no basis in reality and read more
Feb 26, 2014
teanut (All reviews)
In one of the opening scenes of this anime, a certain character welcomes the main character (along with the viewers) by saying "Welcome to the city watched over by aliens." After watching this I have come to realize one thing: how horribly distasteful these aliens are.

Seasoned anime fans will take notice of the fact that this show is directed by Shinbou Akiyuki. You might recognize him for directing great shows such as Bakemonomgatari, Arakawa Under the Bridge, and Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, which all have a similar formula going on: a male character surrounded by a harem of weird quirky females. Considering how much of this read more
Apr 9, 2012
Erina-chan (All reviews)
An anime with a normal, ordinary boy couldn’t be anything but an ordinary slice-of-life comedy right? Well, hate to break it to you, but it’s not. It’s much more complex, intricate, and amazing than a run-of-the-mill standard anime. Even though the plot may seem a bit bewildering at first, the series proves itself worthy of an amazingly high score.

The basics? A high school boy named Niws Makoto recently moves to his Aunt’s house and becomes a Transfer Student. There he meets his mysterious cousin, Touwa Erio. She walks around every day wrapped around a futon and believes that there are aliens and tries to stop read more
Jan 19, 2013
Perisher (All reviews)
Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko (English: Ground Control to Psychoelectric Girl) is an excellent series that can be counted as a unique and hidden gem among more popular titles. The story follows the daily life of high schooler Niwa Makoto who has recently transferred to a new school and a new neighbourhood. Makoto is a fairly normal guy, but the characters that soon surround him are an eccentric bunch to say the least. He quickly finds out he is one of the few people in this new town who does not belive in aliens, is a fan of dressing up as an eggplant (among other read more
Jul 9, 2011
Nasty001 (All reviews)
A few weeks ago, as I’ve watch the last episode of this anime, I kinda felt a bit disgusted with the genre of this anime, but the weird slice of life and mystery does made up for it, so my rating for this anime are the following:

Story – good 7.

So, this anime is not exactly sci-fi even thought there mentioned of extraterrestrial aliens and espers in it, but the story is not focus on Erio, rather it is Makoto who is the story here, co’z every episode is on him and his struggle to cope up within the weird world of the people around him. read more
Jul 4, 2011
WildNeptune (All reviews)
Denpa Onna is a slow paced, light hearted anime. Quite the contrast from Shaft's Madoka Magica which aired the previous season. The show benefits from strong and likable characters, good art, and a feel good type atmosphere.

There is less of a plot and more of a tale personal growth and change for each character, especially our protagonists, Niwa and Erio. Not only how they grow, but how their actions, beliefs, and personalities effect those around them.

As stated above, Denpa does not have a super deep plot, or a really anything out of the ordinary as far as the genre goes, but the charm the show read more
Apr 4, 2013
KaiserLos24 (All reviews)
I just had to write a review for this because I really enjoyed this anime.

And for a change of pace, I'll break down this review to its components: Story, Art and animation, Sound and Overall enjoyment. (I don't do this normally and wanted to try it out)

Story= 8

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko deals on the mysterious and the unexplained. We have Touwa, Erio who has been missing for half a year and claims to have been abducted by aliens. But really, what actually happened while she was missing? What caused her to have amnesia? And then there's Niwa, Makoto, whose line of thinking depends on read more
Jan 6, 2012
BasicallyTNG (All reviews)
First, before I jump right into the review of Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko, there are some things to be said. Let me level with you for a sec:

Characters in the anime:

Niwa Makoto: A dumbass going through puberty, but is probably the most normal person around.

Touwa Erio: As intelligent as a puppy.

Mifune Ryuuko: As smart as a six year old.

Maekawa: Wear cosplay to work and evening walks.

Touwa Meme: Mentality of a sixth-grader despite being 40 years old.

Hoshimiya Yashiro: Dresses up as an astronaut to play baseball.

Tamura (the old coot): Pretty senile. Obsessed with cattle mutilation.

And they are involved in a comedy.

When read more
Feb 29, 2012
TofuZz (All reviews)
Note: This is one of my works from Sekijitsu

Art

What pulled me into this series was the art. There was something about it that appealed to me and I don’t regret being pulled in because Denpa Onna has some great art. Sure Erio might sparkle a bit too often but those sparkles add effect and I really don’t mind it. There were times when Shaft decided to degrade the art during those not-so-special scenes which was fine by me. Although, during a certain episode, the art was so deformed it looked half-assed. Overall Shaft sure does some good close up shots and we’re talking about the read more
Jul 27, 2011
helur (All reviews)
Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko manages to slowly drag you into the story only to give up on you by the end. Providing a constant stream of comedy each episode is enjoyable, but after soaring to great heights the plot falls into a river. No, literally. I never questioned dropping it, but I felt like the focus switched from a comedy of a young girl who thinks she is an alien and the events conspiring around that to a slice of life.

Niwa Makoto, our male lead, moves into his aunt's house who was apparently living alone. To his surprise he finds a girl his age read more
Aug 8, 2014
Red_Tuesday (All reviews)
I'll be the first to admit that the only reason I watched this anime is Buriki, the original character designer. Ever since watching Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai and the sequel, I've been a huge fan of his.

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko unfortunately has quite a few ingredients that I hate. First, the protagonist is the 'hobby psychologist' type, who thinks his viewpoint on others is absolutely correct, and won't back down from his arrogance unless punted in the head with absolute proof. Granted, we are talking about a girl who thinks she's an alien here, but the whole 'I am going to fix you' read more
Nov 13, 2013
nspireing (All reviews)
I have really come to love and appreciate the work that SHAFT does when it comes to anime and this show really continues to win me over!

I think that hidden in this cutesy show about a a small town boy learning to find his voice in the big city is a deeper story about mental health and how it effects a family and in this case the community. Something happened to Erio something so bad she lost half a year of her life and can only find solace in hiding wrapped in a futon. She is shown in flash backs lashing out at her read more
Feb 17, 2018
KingHarkinian (All reviews)
I'm still not really quite sure what to think of Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko.

On the one hand, you have a generally thoughtful and depth-seeking piece that tries to provide meaning to one's adolescent life through alien and superpower metaphors.

On the other, you have a not particularly interesting, if weird, harem anime comprised of 1 guy, 3 girls + 1 annoying perverse aunt.

The thing with Denpa Onna is that it managed to keep my interest, but provided nearly no fun. It had a lot of attitude and style to its characters, but I didn't really like any of them much. It is, overall, an interesting read more
Aug 17, 2015
fades (All reviews)
"Why are you chasing me!!"
"Because you're running away!"
"I'm not running away, I'm on a journey to find my true self!"


I'd like to view ET: the moe version as an experiment in storytelling.
However, there is not much of a story to speak of.
Guy meets girls and his life changes.
Ok, so what is done differently this time around?

1. Characters

There's the eccentric 40 year old mum who is seemingly happy and carefree. In reality though, she has no idea how to approach her daughter who seems to have some loose screws in her head and is unable to tie her shoe or cut a paper read more