Naruto Movie 2: Dai Gekitotsu! Maboroshi no Chiteiiseki Dattebayo!


Naruto the Movie 2: Legend of the Stone of Gelel

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Naruto the Movie 2: Legend of the Stone of Gelel
Synonyms: Naruto THE Movie vol.2, Naruto Movie 2, Gekijouban Naruto
Japanese: 劇場版 NARUTO 大激突!幻の地底遺跡だってばよ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 6, 2005
Producers: Bandai
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, SupernaturalSupernatural
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 1 hr. 37 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.871 (scored by 115693115,693 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #42602
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #901
Members: 195,859
Favorites: 132

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 20, 2010
Iriinteinn (All reviews)
By definition, “Utopia” is simple in context, but every individual has their own take on what their Promised Land truly is. How far must we reach to obtain tranquility, and what must we sacrifice to reach that goal?

In a land where despair and hope are in constant conflict, Naruto, along with Sakura and Shikamaru, are thrown into a power struggle between a hypocritical faction creating their own path to peace and the world around them. By showcasing pleasing animation and a handful of new, plausible characters, we are once again served a modest helping of a series that has marked its place in anime history.

Complexity read more
Feb 28, 2016
CobaltSigma (All reviews)
**THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN A FEW SPOILERS**

I came into Naruto Movie 2: Dai Gekitotsu! Maboroshi no Chiteiiseki Dattebayo! with low expectations due to how much the first movie sucked but it turned out a little better than I have expected.

Story: (4/10)

The story of Naruto movie 2 begins with a big battle with Gaara, Kankuro, and the sand village people fighting against mysterious armored soldiers. It then cuts to Naruto, Shikamaru, and Sakura on a mission to catch a ferret but are soon interrupted by the mysterious armored soldiers. In terms of story, this movie beats the first movie's story but not by much. I found read more
Aug 15, 2014
AyoooCee (All reviews)
As some of you know the Naruto movies aren't anything special but that's not to say you can't enjoy them right?

First off i'll say i did enjoy this a bit more than the first movie, the action was a bit better and the story wasn't predictable compared to the first. That doesn't mean the story is anything that special but it worked and i was somewhat interested and overall i enjoyed watching it. The plot is nothing crazy, it didn't have any plot twists or unexpected events but it was a thorough and solid story without any plot holes.

The animation looked better this time around read more
Feb 22, 2013
explicit707 (All reviews)
Naruto: Movie 2 - Daigekitotsu! Maboroshi no Chiteiiseki Dattebayo! starts out better than the first movie. In fact, I thought the beginning really showed promise. Narutos first encounter with Temujin was really exciting and a really cool idea. That's really where the fun ended for me, and then the choice of story and characters lost me through the middle of the movie. I found this particular movie had a lot of potential compared to the first one, but I feel it fell flat and was a little bit of a let down. Even though I went in expecting a bad movie, it found a way read more
Apr 10, 2016
MTheSestrim (All reviews)
This movie was... meh. The second Naruto movie is worse than the first, in my opinion.

Let's start with the art and sound. The art was definetely better than the anime but... it wasn't as good as the first movie, at least that's the way I feel like. I liked the soundtrack more than the first movie, that I can say. It's still not as good as the anime but then again, the anime's soundtrack is just amazing. The action is decent.

Now we get to the story. Mediocre. It has some interesting philosophical thought but it fails to deliver it properly. The story's pacing is read more
Nov 9, 2010
batonik (All reviews)
This is a second movie of Naruto series.It's about a royal family member in search for stones,which have to be used to create utopia.In story he crosses Naruto and his friends.Then the battle begins...

For Me Naruto: Movie 2 - Daigekitotsu! Maboroshi no Chiteiiseki Dattebayo! was a great thing.It was far better from firt movie and the story was really enjoyable so those 2hours did not went to trash.We have here ninja fighting with new kind of power,hope,dreams etc.If you are Naruto fan it is obligation to see it!
Oct 22, 2018
Yung_Warrior (All reviews)
I really enjoy these first three Naruto films. In many ways, they encapsulate what I personally wish the series was and emphasize the qualities of Naruto that I enjoy while downplaying that which turned me away from the series in the end. The way these films expand the universe while giving side characters a lot to do is just great!

The plot is fairly similar to the other two Naruto films - Naruto, Sakura, and a third team member (Shikamaru in this case) find themselves ensnared in a conflict that existed before they came along, and now Naruto must address this conflict due to his heroic/idealistic read more
Jan 30, 2021
CorsairFrosty (All reviews)
*Spoiler warning.*


Right off the bat, when I started the movie, I noticed really weird animation. It was sorta like OG Naruto but something was like hella off. Later on in the movie, there was CGI and I hated it! The character designs later in the movie was alright, but it was still really weird for the first like 20-30 minutes of the movie. The story was alright and there wasn't really anything wrong with it. It was pretty mediocre I will say but it was enjoyable enough. The characters personalities didn't really change and that was good. But with that really weird CGI early on read more
Jul 27, 2016
Kayayay (All reviews)
The only problem I had with this movie were the characters and the plotline. I'll try to explain without any spoilers. (Keep in mind that a review is the reviewer's opinion and that you should make your own decision.)

While the new characters ones were okay, there were a few times in the movie when their actions either didn't make much sense or were at odds with what was happening around them.

However, most of the strange behavior seemed to be intertwined the plot holes. By plot holes, I refer to the numerable questions raised by the actions of the characters and the environment around them. Particularly read more
Nov 4, 2019
mouthpiece (All reviews)
This is the second Naruto movie, made around the time the dreaded fillers began. You can clearly see how the franchise is starting to saturate by now and just rehashes the same old stuff just for the sake of making them and keeping up with a dying trend. As far as movies go, you can of course expect far better production values and flashier battles than the main series, along with much less effort to tell a story or have interesting characters. Other than that, it is just another passable filler mission.

The basic plot is about our heroes trying to stop the members of a read more
Apr 15, 2018
onizuka_anime (All reviews)
Naruto the Movie 2: Legend of the Stone of Gelel (2005)
Directed by: Hirotsugu Kawasaki

Story (7/10):

Naruto, Sakura, and Shikamaru are assigned a mission to return a ferret named Nerugui to an old man. They have tough encounters along the way and are faced against a man named Temujin who believes and trusts in Master Haido, a man who aims for a Utopia, a world with peace and no wars at all. However, this is nothing but to lure Temujin into his plans of catching the Stones of Gelel and using them for evil. Once he realizes this, he teams up with Naruto and defeats read more
Aug 27, 2013
animehost (All reviews)
So I watched the second Naruto film having watched the anime series.

The beginning was very slow and very like a Naruto filler. However as the film continued it did begin to attract my attention. The story has some meaning, suprisingly so, it's about utopia and if war/sacrifices are necessary to achieve it, which is a quite a philosophical theme. It actually made me think on my own thoughts about good and bad which is something I never expected in a Naruto film would make me do! I thought it was good this topic was addressed, especially considering a large majority of the audience are read more
Nov 21, 2020
SageToad (All reviews)
I liked this movie a tiny bit better than the first Naruto film.

For the first half, I was interested in the new characters, who they were, and later how they planned on creating a utopia. The antagonist had an interesting motive, but I was disappointed when they turned out to be hypocritical and the same boring, generic, power-hungry type. That may be the point though, that power corrupts and that the means don't always justify the end or something like that.

The feature guest character was reminiscent of Sasuke. A strong silent type who suffered a tragic event and warms up to Naruto.

I sensed a little read more
Feb 8, 2021
WOWDood (All reviews)
Here I am, writing another review for another Naruto movie after over a decade since it has been released because why not. Anyways, back to the review, this movie was a step down from the first movie in my opinion because of it's poor writing and even as someone who doesn't care about how plot are planned and executed as long as I enjoy it, this movie sticks out like a sore thumb and even I can say I wasn't really intrigued by it.

[Story 3/10]
Ah, this is the worst writing rating I'll give on any anime I have watched for now. As I said, read more
Aug 29, 2020
Tank13 (All reviews)
This is my personal favorite of the first 4 movies, the music they use in the battles meshes perfectly and the battles are awesome throughout the movie. It is cool that Shikamaru is in this movie he as always beings his cool head and sharp battle skills also Gaara but this is one of my gripes with the movie I feel that he should have had a some more lines and a bigger role since they open the movie with him and his brother same goes for his brother too both could have had better roles in the movie. The story is filled with twists read more
Aug 4, 2021
MadOne (All reviews)
While probably the best of the three films that coincide with the original Naruto anime, "Legend of the Stone of Gelel" is still rather mediocre. I'd even say, I like "Ninja Clash in the Land of Snow" better, though a lot of that probably comes down to nostalgia and the fact it helps strengthen the feeling Sasuke had grown a real bond with Team 7 before the editorial mandates led to rather rushed rift that formed between him and his team. I won't lie, the second film has some really fun moments and cool aspects like starring Shikamaru, the design of Temujin, an antagonist who read more
May 13, 2020
Hudsonwt (All reviews)
Watched it while I was animating. These films have some good moments, but overall they're mediocre at best. In this one especially, there was hardly any set up and the story just rushed forward with hardly anything to ground or invest you in what was going on. There were multiple characters, Gaara and Kankuro especially, who were drastically underused and really had no purpose in being in this movie. I really love those characters, so it was disappointing to see them not do much. Also, a bunch of the fight scenes took place in dark or dimly lit settings which sort of made it difficult read more
Oct 20, 2020
miposky (All reviews)
Both the plot and theme are tired retreads, and the new characters are also nothing we haven’t seen before. Because of this, the story plays out very predictably and at no point was I surprised. But the movie does have its moments. It was fun seeing the team dynamics of Naruto, Shikamaru, and Sakura, and I always love seeing what new team combinations the anime gives us. It also includes one of my favorite characters, Gaara, and Kankuro, and these two give us what I think are the best fight scenes in the movie.

Overall, while there’s nothing particularly engaging about the film, it does have read more