Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mobile Suit Gundam SEED


Alternative Titles

English: Mobile Suit Gundam SEED
Synonyms: Kidou Senshi Gundam SEED
Japanese: 機動戦士ガンダムSEED

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2002 to Sep 27, 2003
Premiered: Fall 2002
Broadcast: Saturdays at 18:00 (JST)
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.861 (scored by 70,744 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8082
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #876
Members: 124,726
Favorites: 3,429

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 6, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
Gundam SEED started off as just another Gundam series for me. I watched it because it was airing and convenient... I didn't expect it to become my favorite Gundam series of all time.

STORY - At this point, you'd have to stretch pretty far to find a Gundam series with a mindblowingly different premise, so there's no point in really focusing on the fact that yes, this is another series about teenagers in giant robots fighting a war that's pretty pointless. There is nothing new about Gundam SEED, but then, it deserves points for being able to stand out despite that very fact. For me, one read more
Aug 6, 2008
Islaya (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm going to be 100% brutally honest with this review, so if you don't like or want to hear my opinion, you should probably stop reading at this point.

I honestly don't see what the appeal of this series is, and this is coming from a die hard Gundam fan that has seen most Gundam series that have ever been made. I was excited about this series when I first heard it would be coming out, but after only getting roughly 10 episodes into it, I was sick to my stomach and couldn't take anymore. If you like the series, good for you, I have nothing read more
Jul 20, 2010
2Daggers (All reviews)
Gundam Seed was my first taste into the Gudam universe. At first I was really hesitant to start watching this series because I thought the show was for children because of the mecha. However once I started watching the series, I couldn't stop without finishing it.

Story: 9/10
The whole series is basically about an ongoing war between the Natural human race and the genetically superior Coordinators. This may seem like a straightforward plotline, however several things push the plot so it is not as simple as it seems. Throughout the series you are left wondering which side is truly the right side to be on. Throughout read more
Jan 10, 2008
Zealous (All reviews)
Story: I thought the plot was outstanding. The story-line is usually one of the biggest things in an anime for me, and is a big deciding factor in whether I choose to watch it through to the end or not. I've only dropped an anime if the plot really starts to bother me, but this one kept me wanting more. There were many things that unfolded and the conflicts seemed very real.

Art: What can I say here. I thought the character designs were very interesting and I noticed a lot of the style uniqueness in the hair and eyes of the characters especially. These read more
Jun 18, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
I’m not really into mecha anime, so when I decided to watch Gundam SEED (GS) I was a bit reluctant. I was primarily expecting lots of action and very little on story and characters. However, considering the positive reviews I decided to give it a chance. Anyway, before I start I would like to say that I watched several universal century Gundams (0079, Zeta, and Char’s Counterattack) and even did reviews for them. So I may make several references and comparisons.

GS was considered to be an updated version of the original Mobile Suit Gundam (MSG) read more
Nov 16, 2007
lacus_clyne08 (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam SEED---an excellent combination of science fiction, mecha, action, drama and romance. This is, indeed, the best gundam series and the best anime I've watched in my life!

There are a variety of reasons why I like this anime. The plot (or the story itself) is well-organized. There are a lot of twists and other shocking revelations in the story, making this a must-seen anime. The role of each character is relevant to the story---each character is connected to one another, making the story more interesting. And besides, the personality of the characters are those in which you can relate to.

Aside from the wonderful read more
Aug 29, 2013
Bombolz (All reviews)
This is my first review so I will keep it simple. Gundam seed was the first anime I have seen so I felt it was appropriate that my first review should be about it. Also, please keep in mind that 7 is a good score, as I use 5 as my average.

STORY: 7/10
The story of Gundam Seed explores in depth the racial issues between genetically enhanced humans (referred to as Co-ordinators) and normal humans. The story itself revolves around Kira Yamato, who is a co-ordinator living as a student in neutral territory. The war between the Earth Alliance and ZAFT (Zodiac Alliance of Freedom Treaty), read more
Dec 16, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
Out of all the Alternative Gundam Timelines, the Cosmic Era is seemed to the one to get the most hate from hardcore Gundam fans. The negative feedback was so strong that many people especially hardcore Gundam fans call this the joke timeline. When I just finished the Build Fighters series as well Wing I decided to check out Gundam Seed and I originally watched it just to see how bad it was however once I was done with Gundam Seed and Gundam Seed Destiny I quickly came to a conclusion that while the Cosmic Era is indeed a pretty bad compared to the other read more
Jun 1, 2010
dotHackSol (All reviews)
Preliminary
I began the series with high hopes; so many have recommended me the series, giving it high marks that I was compelled to watch the series. Once I had the time and was able to borrow the whole series from a friend, I finally sat down and watched it from beginning to end throughout the week. I was surprised to find that this critically acclaimed series could be so disappointing.

What I find ironic is that the series was meant to be a reboot to bring non-gundam fans or fans that found it difficult to enter the franchise to enjoy this new update to the original read more
Dec 10, 2009
sylvanelite (All reviews)
SEED had the makings to be a gundam classic, instead it became the epitome of why people dislike the gundam series.

From a personal viewpoint, I am a huge gundam fan, I've seen every series, and usually enjoy them. This was not the case with SEED.

To fans of SEED, I apologise for writing a mostly negative review. To people who may be thinking about converting to the Mecha genre, or to people who have grown up watching gundam, take SEED with a grain of salt, you may want to shop around before setting your sights on this series.

Story:
The story of SEED is almost identical to read more
Apr 3, 2008
BornIn1142 (All reviews)
Story: The story isn't bad. It's certainly quite interesting, with the occasional decent plot twist thrown in. However, even a cursory comparison to the first Gundam series will reveal that it's far from original. SEED plays it safe - by treading ground already visited by its predecessors. Does it do it better? I can't say, I've never seen the original Mobile Suit Gundam. All I know is that I considered SEED's tensely plotted, fast-paced storyline to be the best thing about it (no matter what my score says). It drums up excitement and suspense, and (like the whole Gundam franchise) isn't afraid to show the read more
Mar 20, 2008
danceljoy (All reviews)
I never had an interest in Gundam before "Mecha! Ewwww! Robots! Yuck!" but this series made me correct myself. And honestly, for me this is one of the best drama animes I have ever watched.

Story (9/10)

No other mecha captivated my heart other that this one. It is very exciting and suspenseful-- characters are forced into difficult situations where any decision they made will always include sacrifices.

The drama is excellent; characters meeting, fighting and dying in a very sad and surprising way. Another thing is that it focuses on the effect of war and death and its causes to young people who are fighting for read more
May 2, 2010
Xiaolang8 (All reviews)
Gundam SEED definitely is one of my favorite animes of all time. Like all the other Gundam series out there, Gundam SEED has a very intricate plot filled with lots of action. The one thing that makes Gundam SEED stand out is the balance it finds between story, character development, and the blend of genres.

I found this universe to be the most interesting and appealing: a world where genetic engineering has gone to the point of allowing people to choose the genes of their children, resulting in a race called the Coordinators. But because of their abilities, they are heavily read more
Oct 15, 2013
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
My thoughts haven't changed much since last year after watching SEED in its entirety and I had dropped this last year after seeing 9 episodes. Like Gundam Wing, this series got a great deal of hype and praise from fans in the early to mid 2000s among Gundam fans. At the same time, there are folks that accuse SEED of being a poor-man's Gundam 0079 with its blatant rip-off of story elements and structure from the original 1970s series and its nice load of angst and melodrama that are regularly pushed throughout the course of the series. Between my original watch of SEED from last read more
Jan 25, 2007
ivorykeys (All reviews)
If you love Gundam Wing, you'll love Gundam Seed. It's full of exciting twists and turns and each episode has you at the edge of your seat wanting to see more. The characters are amazing! It's really hard to put in words how awesome this anime series is but it's defintely worth seeing over and over again. WATCH IT!!! lol
Jul 6, 2008
Keyira (All reviews)
Gundam seed is one of my All time fav anime :) it was very enjoyable watching this anime.

Story: the story of gundam seed is about a cordinator, named Kira yamoto, who somehow pilots the so-called ''gundam''. it is a battle between ZAFT and Earth alliance, and Kira was forced to join Earth alliance to fight ZAFT even though Kira is a cordinator, Kira and the rest of the crew in Archangel, later figures the Earth alliance's evil deeds and are unclear of what they are fighting for. it is very intresting how Kira find out many things happened to and related to him, read more
Mar 24, 2010
CCZilla (All reviews)
On February 14th, Anime News Network added all 50 episodes of the 2002 entry of Sunrise's long-running Gundam franchise to watch for free on their website. As part of my crusade to watch all of the Gundam TV shows before I die, I picked up Mobile Suit Gundam Seed. One month and nine days later, I've seen all 50 episodes and it's an experience I don't regret, although the show could've been stronger in several areas.

The story can easily be divided into two parts. The first part is a loose remake of the original Mobile Suit Gundam and arguably the weaker part of the series. read more
Jun 12, 2016
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
I thought SEEDs gave you trees and flowers, not politics and robots!

*SPOILERS FOR GUNDAM SEED. I WILL BE REVIEWING THE 2011 HD REMASTER. TO ANY DIEHARDS OUT THERE, PLEASE DO NOT BE DISPLEASED WITH THE FACT THIS GOT A SCORE LESS THAN 9 OR 10? ALSO, PLEASE WARD OFF SEED HATERS FROM ATTACKING ME DUE TO ME ONLY GIVING IT A DECENT SCORE?*

Ah, Gundam SEED. One of the more vocally divisive Gundam shows out there despite having a higher MAL score than most Gundam shows. I have a weird experience with this show, and honestly, the tone of this review will likely flop between positive read more
Feb 3, 2007
OtakuFreak (All reviews)
Hey there. I give this anime a lot of good points but don't be fooled. For any anime fan this would be a good show, but to the true Hardcore Gundam fan, it's a complete upset.

It seems our guys in Japan are runing out of new Gundam ideas, ever since they started to over do it on the Gundams (thanks alot G Gundam!!). What I mean is, they placed too many Gundams in one series, that's one of many defalts. In Mobile Suit Gundam, there should only be one (or two, depends on the story), like the Highlander. The Gundam is to be seen as read more
Jul 21, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
Energetic and pacey, the first opening theme of "Gundam Seed" captures the feel of the anime perfectly. With so much action, drama and tragedy, it doesn't take a genius to see why this is such a highly regarded show in the mecha genre.

With an aggressive opening sequence of events, the tone is set from the very first episodes when two close friends Kira and Athrun find themselves caught up on opposite sides of an outbreaking war. And it's one hell of a war, one that is both epic and tragic, where there are no "right" sides, and where people are forced to choose between conflicting read more