Hanasaku Iroha


Hanasaku Iroha: Blossoms for Tomorrow

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Hanasaku Iroha: Blossoms for Tomorrow
Japanese: 花咲くいろは

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2011 to Sep 25, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.941 (scored by 106962106,962 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #6072
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #556
Members: 275,500
Favorites: 2,439
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 20, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
"Like father, like son. Like mother, like daughter"

There's an age old belief that certain traits are passed down from parents to children, and like most ancient convictions, there's an element of truth to this one. It's a well known fact that much of a person's future behaviour is learned during their formative years, and while it's true that children will instinctively copy the mannerisms and behaviours of the role models closest to them (which in most cases means their parents), even trained professionals and researchers can't fully explain the "inheritance" of less tangible traits like stubbornness, temper, perspicacity, etc.

But what does all that have to read more
Oct 23, 2011
Raffinate (All reviews)
I enjoy slice of life. I really do. The problem I have with them is that it’s incredibly difficult to find one that isn’t terrible. The two biggest pitfalls I find with the genre are the lack of compelling plots and the lack of depth as the episodes get drowned in clichés. They often end up simply being boring as the episodes drag on to the formulaic beach/school festival/holiday routine in an attempt to entertain. Needless to say, I’m usually turned off by the introduction to a slice of life anime before I can even get into the series.

I watched Hanasku Iroha with massive heaps read more
Jun 13, 2011
Bringerof_D (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hanasaku Iroha was in my eyes the best show of the season.

The Art is simply beautiful and the animation is definitely good for a TV series. At no point is any of the character art off model or deformed even for distant shots. Generic background people in high population scenes tend to be done in the crappy 3d which has become popular in most recent shows, however the models are properly textured to blend with the environment and main characters, though their walk animations feel a little off. This is of course only a small problem since most of the show takes place where there read more
Dec 19, 2013
wumbmasta (All reviews)
Hanasaku Iroha Review:

Everybody knows that "void" feeling you get when you finish a really great show. The feeling of emptiness that you feel when you finish a show that really connected with you or entertained you on a higher level. Only a few shows give you a feeling like this, and for each person the type of shows that can produce this feeling differ. For me, Clannad is the golden case of a show that gave me a void, because for months on end after finishing it, all I wanted to do was rewatch it.
Hanasaku Iroha is an anime that gave me my first "void" read more
Jul 8, 2013
Satire (All reviews)
It's been a long time since I've seen a Slice of Life done well. I'm not sure what it is about Hanasaku Iroha, but it is one of the calmest anime I have seen in a long while. There's something about the series that is just very relaxing.

The story essentially revolves around Ohana, a young teenage girl, and her experiences as she works as a waitress in an inn. As the show progresses, you are able to see the blooming relationships that develop as she begins to understand herself and the people around her. The show focuses on the challenges of being a teenage girl read more
Sep 27, 2011
5camp (All reviews)
So hey, let's talk Hanasaku Iroha.

Hanasaku Iroha is a 26 episode s'life drama about a bunch of teenage girls with incredibly poor listening abilities working in an inn as waitresses while trying to overcome their crippling urge to yell at everything that they don't immediately understand. Well, OK. This is a touch unfair. It's only Ohana and Minko who do this, Minko doing the yelling of the angry variety while Ohana covers the obscenely unaware side of the yelling spectrum, but most of the show is focused on these two. The thing with Hanasaku Iroha is that, asides from the drama side of things, it's read more
Jul 28, 2011
movoning (All reviews)
Preliminary
This series truly went downhill. At first I was really excited about the art and music, and quite pleased by the plot. But it got progressively more boring. It seems by the end of the first several episodes, everything from friendship to conflicts is set in place. The story afterward enfolds in an episodic way, with no noteworthy character development or meaningful plot twists. And sadly the cuteness factor in the main character turned into annoyance. I hoped Ohana would use her perseverance to her advantage and gain some maturity, but that didn't happen.
Then all the other characters stay 2-D throughout.

So even though I read more
Apr 16, 2011
Cornholio77 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Relying on people is something we must do in life and will eventually.

*UPDATED* 12 episodes watched
I hope you get a good idea what this is about, since it's a really unique and exiting series I can tell is worth watching!

Story, 9
"Do never rely on others" was the words Ohana Matsumae have lived by since she was a small child. As her live took a turn and she started working, she realises this does not work.
Ohana has lived with her mother all her life and her mother is carefree and selfish. Ohana learned by her mother by words and self-experience that relying others never works. At read more
Sep 28, 2011
Confucius (All reviews)
Let's cut to the chase, Hanasaku Iroha has its moments, but ultimately it lost its direction midway.

The story can be summarized as a group of cute girls working in an inn doing a bunch of things that normally wouldn't be interesting in real life. However this is Anime, so something like wiping the floor becomes extraordinary exciting all of a sudden and there are plenty more real life boring activities the show will make it incredibly exciting.

The other component of Hanasucku 's story are the romantic dramas. There are romantic dramas that are fun to watch, but if you have seen any romance Anime, read more
Sep 25, 2011
Reckoner (All reviews)
Like other PA works animes in the past, Hanasaku Iroha has managed to provide quite the unique experience, but this is not necessarily a good thing. If I were to sum up the idea of this anime, it could be put quite simply as learning to love your work. It is a fairly down to earth idea, and I would have been hard pressed to imagine that I would be coming into a show with such an identity crisis as this one.

The story begins with the main character Ohana being forced by her mother to move in with her Grandmother who happens to be the read more
Apr 27, 2014
Shinichi-Kun (All reviews)
Out of all the slice of life's I've seen i have to say this is one of the best, and its an all time favorite of mine. It's a pretty relaxing anime to watch, and it is defiantly one of those anime that is going to leave a empty hole in your heart once you finish it, because its just that amazing.

Story 10- The story overall was really good, its like any typical slice of life. Its about a girl sent to her grandmas inn because her mother runs off with her boyfriend. Like most slices of life the story doesn't follow a set order read more
Apr 4, 2011
coderlan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review is based off only from EPISODE ONE. Remember, as this is my first review of my first interest, but I hope you appreciate.

Ohana, the lead female, has unique, an unusual attitude you won't see easily in any girl--pretty much instead resemble a guy's nature but that's just me. I like Ohana, she resembles me wholly if not partly--being expectant all the time, that is.

The characters, you won't see any cliche there, as they were supposed to be made unique and dramatic--according to the lead. We'll see a lot of dramas and changes overtime.

The plot, rather rare, and is exciting, especially if the number read more
Mar 24, 2012
kagomeyuki89 (All reviews)
I have to say I loved this anime! Beautifully done in so many ways. They made a slice of life drama and turned it into an anime series that I personally have trouble not watching again! I enjoyed every part of it all the way down to the romance and the really funny comedy in this show. I found the story about Ohana Matsumae to be very enjoyable to hear about. I got to see every bump in the road of a 16 year old girl's life that has a mother who she thinks doesn't care about her and focuses more on her job and read more
Apr 4, 2011
dreiak (All reviews)
Preliminary
So I am writing this as more of a pre-review then a full one since this is based only on the first episode, that being said I get the impression that this will be one of my favorite shows this season.

I like the fact that there is a more live action feel to this series then you usually find in anime. The main character is whimsical and has a childlike sense of the world, but is somewhat forced to confront the realities of what becoming an adult is like when she is forced to work at an inn. this show also refreshingly doesn't fall into read more
Jun 25, 2013
Growler (All reviews)
Life is like a rose, it can be beautiful and it can give a very pleasant scent or it can be very sharp and painful as I am sure you know.

The Story spins around a teenage girl Matsumae Ohana that is forced to live with her grandmother at a traditional japanese inn with her grandmother because of her mother's decision to run away with her boyfriend.
At first Ohana thinks everything will work out just fine and that she will enjoy the services of the inn. That is when life slaps her in the face in the form of her grandmother telling her she has to read more
Jul 4, 2011
diianiih (All reviews)
Preliminary
Average. That is how I rate this serie

The story seemed to promise but as the series progressed, I could see how this was going to nowhere. Yeah she used to live in the city and now she lives in a hotel...

The characters, some of them have a defined personality, but none of them develope it completely, Ohana is just an annoying brat, she doesn't know what the limits are. I know that that's the point in her, that she's persistent, but she is in a great extreme.

The art is good, not great but not bad. I like how are some details added.

The opening, I completely read more
Apr 21, 2011
Mei-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first time writing an anime review. The fact that the CV of the main character is Kanae Itou caught my attention instantly since she was also the CV of another main character of a long-run anime, Shugo Chara. I jumped into a conclusion that this anime would be good enough with just the cast but then I find many good things about this anime that makes it worthwhile to watch and even better may be one of the most interesting anime I'lll ever watch.

Story: 7
Since there are only 3 episodes so far, I can say that this will surely change as I read more
May 21, 2012
oohjam (All reviews)
A wonderful, beautiful, rose colored slice of life anime. Hanasaku Iroha is the pinnacle of showing how no matter what happens, things will work out. Daily life, feeling alive, just being alive is amazing.

Story - 8/10
There was not much of a complete, general conflict as a whole. Hanasaku Iroha follows a naive yet energetic girl named Ohana as her setting changes drastically. Series of conflicts arise, but by her just being her, everything turns out okay.

Art - 10/10
Characters are drawn without flaw, outfits are accurate, but most of all the scenery is very pleasing to the eyes, along with fitting ambient and environmental sound. It read more
Sep 21, 2015
Kecchan (All reviews)
Okay, I'm going to keep this as objective as possible, and deter myself from breaking into an angry rant. Because I feel very strongly about this anime, and it isn't pretty.
Let's begin with the good points of the anime.

**PROS**
--Art: 7/10--
A 5/10 would be considered average, and the art is slightly above average. The scenery can be very beautiful- the train tracks, village, rain, and mountains are done beautifully. The characters have nice art, but outside from the occasional scenery, there was nothing particularly extraordinary. It was nice, that's all. The characters have nice highlights. The colors are beautiful- not too bright, and not too read more
Dec 10, 2014
lemayo (All reviews)
"I'm a bud that's trying to bloom!" - Ohana

Growing up has never been easy for anyone, and Ohana is no exception. Hanasaku Iroha, or Blossoms for Tomorrow, depicts the adventures of the young and energetic Ohana Matsumae, after she is sent grudgingly to her grandmother's hot spring inn.

While the underlying story may not appear to be the flashiest of concepts, I cannot stress how much I unconsciously became drawn into it. And while Ohana is introduced as the main character, a rather large cast of characters all seem to get just about the same amount of screentime as her. While an overly sized character pool read more